We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Waterfront views...but average customer service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domotel Xenia Volos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Domotel Xenia Volos to your Saves list
Domotel Xenia Volos
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Plastira Street, Volos 38222, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Volos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Waterfront views...but average customer service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I travel across the world frequently and found the Xenia hotel to be a good place to stay. My balcony had breathtaking views of the water, sunset, and mountains surrounding Volos. The fitness center, although free, was small with odd hours. I only ate lunch at the hotel once and it was nice being on the water but the portion was extremely small and rather expensive. The breakfast was nice with a variety of breads, cheeses, coffee, pastries, and warm selections. The customer service at the hotel was average. Our needs were adequately taken care of; however, I never felt that the hotel staff went out of their way to be friendly or accommodate our needs immediately. Every request took 3 or more tries. The hotel is within walking distance to several eateries and the city center. Overall, the views from this hotel alone would be enough for me to stay again. However, an area of improvement for this hotel could be in the customer service arena and making the customer and their needs seem more important.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas D, General Manager at Domotel Xenia Volos, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Domotel Xenia Volou for your stay and for taking time to share your kind comments.
We are constantly all working for your smile! Providing you exquisite hospitality experiences and tailor made services is a primary concern to our team and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Domotel Xenia Volou.

Kind Regards

Andreas Diakodimitris
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    71
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
76
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I visit Volos every year.
I usualy fly to Athens or to Thessaloniki and from there i use a taxi to get to Volos.
I always stay at Domotel Xenia Volou Hotel http://www.domotelxeniavolouhotel.com/ , which is the only five star hotel in the city. The staff is frienldy enough and the service is really great. The chef is a good one and the pool is fantastic.
For my transfers I always use TaxiInVolos www.taxiinvolos.gr , they can speak english at an excellent level and the total experience is a great one. Mr Adamakis is an expert in suggesting the perfect location for any kind of activity.
I usually visit Makrynitsa village for a coffee and in order to try some of the local sweets, which are delicious. Makrynitsa is a small amphithetrical traditional greek village, called by the locals "the balcony of Pelion" the panoramic view is one you never get bored of.
Also visit Milies and use the traditional train mountzouris http://www.trainose.gr/thematikatrena/pilio
Pelion is famous for its wonderful beaches. You can visit Agios Ioannis , Milopotamos, Trikeri and many others
Don't forget to visit local tsipouradika of Volos. Iolcos is my favorite.
Every year I love visiting this city. It is really relaxing and refreshing.
The locals are really friendly and willing to share any information you are going to ask them. The prices are really low , regarding what this place is offering you. Volos is a modern city that combines the sea with the mountain, nice food, plenty of places to hang out. The perfect place to relax. It is also a good starting point to go to Sporades Islands of course.

useful links also :
http://www.ktelvolou.gr/
http://www.trainose.gr/

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas D, General Manager at Domotel Xenia Volos, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Domotel Xenia Volou for your stay and for taking time to share your kind comments.
We are constantly all working for your smile! Providing you exquisite hospitality experiences and tailor made services is a primary concern to our team and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Domotel Xenia Volou.

Kind Regards

Andreas Diakodimitris
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I enjoyed the sea view and the serenity of its spot by the seaside. Its redecoration has been successful and the grounds well kept. My room (206) was spacious (not a sea view) and well equipped. Had the gala I attended one night had been richer in dishes and quantity, I would have been very well satisfied. I understand that this incident may have to do with its organisers too.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view in the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas D, General Manager at Domotel Xenia Volos, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Domotel Xenia Volou for your stay and for taking time to share your kind comments.
We are constantly all working for your smile! Providing you exquisite hospitality experiences and tailor made services is a primary concern to our team and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Domotel Xenia Volou.

Kind Regards

Andreas Diakodimitris
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We like very much this hotel. We have been visiting it every year.
A very good location, just by the sea, not very far (ten minutes walk) from the city centre of the beautiful city of Volos. We prefer the rooms facing the sea, excelent view, day and night.
The rooms are rather small but very comfortably and elegantly decorated, with balconies.
There is an interesting, not very big, spa, and a nice, large outdoor pool.
Excellent food in the restaurant and a very rich and sophisticated buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas D, Manager at Domotel Xenia Volos, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Domotel Xenia Volou for your stay and for taking time to share your kind comments.
We are constantly all working for your smile! Providing you exquisite hospitality experiences and tailor made services is a primary concern to our team and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Domotel Xenia Volou.

Kind Regards

Andreas Diakodimitris
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We found this hotel by accident....quite literally. My family and I were staying up in Pelion Greece at San Stefanos thru a timeshare we own( a completely different review) , we were heading to Volos to jump on a ferry to go to a nearby Island, dropped off the family and headed for parking...well, as I make a left turn, BAMM, I get nailed by a local. The absolute best thing that happened looking back at it now. We had to get the car fixed which would take 24 hours minimum, long story short...we were referred here by Budget rent a car....AWESOME place. Fresh water pool, beach outside the rear of the hotel, a roof top lounge that mimics a cruise line deck, gorgeous spa area, drinks are reasonable, rooms are a bit small but really we only slept in it. We ended up spending the rest of our vacation here instead of our timeshare. Staff was great, you will have absolutely no issues with this resort. Great place, will for sure stay again if we ever head back to Greece.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas D, Manager at Domotel Xenia Volos, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Domotel Xenia Volou for your stay and for taking time to share your kind comments.
We are constantly all working for your smile! Providing you exquisite hospitality experiences and tailor made services is a primary concern to our team and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Domotel Xenia Volou.

Kind Regards

Andreas Diakodimitris
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed at the hotel from 23/7/2012 until 26/7/2012 on a business trip. The hotel was about 10 minutes (walking distance) from the center and waterfront (with many taverns) of Volos town. My room was modern and comfortable. Also, very clean every day, just like the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was rich and tasty and it included a good selection of food. Amazing sea view from the breakfast room of the Volos Bay and Pagasetic Gulf. The hotel has a nice size swimming pool and an amazing spa area with all modern rooms and equipment (make sure you use the hydromassage pool if you are there!! It's awesome!!). The personnel was very friendly and always willing to help and answer any questions in a very pleasant way. Overall, is a great hotel and I would definately stay there again as well as reccomend it to others!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas D, Manager at Domotel Xenia Volos, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Domotel Xenia Volou for your stay and for taking time to share your kind comments.
We are constantly all working for your smile! Providing you exquisite hospitality experiences and tailor made services is a primary concern to our team and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Domotel Xenia Volou.

Kind Regards

Andreas Diakodimitris
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This well modernised hotel is just in the town at the far end from the port. It has an excellent location going down to the beach, though we weren't there in swimming season. Rooms were not particularly big but comfortable. Breakfast was good and service was friendly and helpful. The spa was very lavish with jaccuzi, hamam, sauna and lots of treatments, though a bigger swimming pool would have been good. Some nice tavernas nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas D, Manager at Domotel Xenia Volos, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Domotel Xenia Volou for your stay and for taking time to share your kind comments.
We are constantly all working for your smile! Providing you exquisite hospitality experiences and tailor made services is a primary concern to our team and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Domotel Xenia Volou.

Kind Regards

Andreas Diakodimitris
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domotel Xenia Volos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domotel Xenia Volos

Address: 1 Plastira Street, Volos 38222, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Volos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Domotel Xenia Volos 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domotel Xenia Volos is an elegant city and conventions resort in Volos. It offers fine dining and stylish rooms with free Wi-Fi and PAY TV.Use of the Dreamway Spa is free of charge. The wellness centre includes a hot tub, solarium and fully equipped gym, 2 saunas and 2 steam baths. Guests can also swim in the indoor pool or have a massage treatment.The stylish rooms and suites of Xenia Volos Domotel offer balcony with city views. In-room features include satellite TV, air conditioning, minibar, safe, hairdryer, bathrobes and slippers. Room service is available 24 hours a day.The a la carte restaurant, with a breathtaking view to the sea, an open kitchen and relaxed atmosphere, serves Mediterranean cuisine combined with local specialties. In the Coffee Corner guests can enjoy all kinds of beverages and light snacks.Xenia Volos Domotel offers 2 multifunctional meeting rooms complemented by audiovisual equipment, open-air parking, ISDN phone lines and Wi-Fi.Situated at the centre of the city of Volos, right by the sea, the hotel serves as the perfect starting point for short trips and excursions to Sporades islands or to the picturesque villages of Pelio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Domotel Xenia Volos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domotel Xenia Volou Hotel Volos
Xenia Hotel vólos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domotel Xenia Volos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.