We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Suprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ionia Hotel - Skopelos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ionia Hotel - Skopelos to your Saves list
Ionia Hotel - Skopelos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hora (Skopelos main village), 370 03, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Skopelos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Suprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Booked this hotel knowing it was a 2 star so didn't expect too much. Although the rooms were a little tired, they were kept spotlessly clean each day. .The towels and bedding were changed every other day.
The lovely, friendly staff kept the communal areas to a very high presentation, the pool area was lovely with plenty of loungers and chairs.

Breakfast consisted of the most delicious fresh fruits, honey and yoghurt and plenty of tea and coffee.

The pool bar was very expensive so we gave this a miss and bought our beers from the local shop at a fraction of the price!

Would we go back. Absolutely!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have addition communal terraces with views of the harbour, mountains or sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks in the island of Skopelos. When I arrived at the Ionia my wife and I were met by a very friendly and cheerful manager, Alexandra. The rooms are situated on 3 levels throughout and as there are no lifts it can be difficult for less able people. Assistance is available if needed. My room was adequate having a double and single bed. Air conditioning is available at no extra cost. There is a small bathroom. The room is also equiped with a fridge and tv. The pool area is clean with a variety of sun loungers and chairs. It is overlooked by a pool bar. The hotel is located near to the harbour and on an incline which may not be suitable for persons with severe walking problems. I took a walking pole with me which was a great help. Breakfasts were repetative but there was a good variety of fresh fruit and other breakfast items available. The staff were brilliant throughout the hotel. They were helpful and always cheery. The hotel was kept very clean at all times. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis. Free wi-fi access is available in the lounge area. I hope to return here next year. Visitors an expect an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

What can I say. Everything was perfect. I've seen some complaints on here about the beds not being comfortable but mine was fine. Yes it was not as soft as mine at home but at the end of the day I slept perfectly fine and you're on holiday remember not looking to move in! Room was fab - lovely balcony with views of the town and a table and two chairs which were perfect for putting my feet up on to listen to the crickets singing and read my book after getting in from a night of cocktails. While I'm on the subject make sure you visit cafe bar Thalassa. The cocktails were the best priced in town at 6 euros a time and it is run by a mother and her daughter Aphroditi. Head along the sea front to the end of the port in the opposite direction to the taxi rank and where the ferry drops you off and then climb the flight of steps to the top. The views are breathtaking and the service perfect. I've never been made to feel so welcome and the drinks were divine. Say you read a review written by 'Welsh Owen' and Aphroditi will be able to share the Welsh phrase I taught her which is 'Croeso' - welcome. The staff at the hotel were so so helpful - they helped me organise a trip to see the Mamma Mia arch by taxi and made the calls for me to check prices and times etc. They even went out of their way to arrange for the cleaner to change my towels after I'd been in the shower when she wanted to get into my room (like I said the cocktails were good...!) :P pool was spotless as was the poolside and the plants along the pool side were stunning particularly the seating area under the grape vine which was perfect to shelter from the blazing sun. Hotel is perfect location for walking into town and yes it is up a bit of a hill but embrace the culture and character of the town and don't moan about how diffucult it is to ferry your suitcase along. The winding streets were a feast for the eyes as were the little shops along the way. Book this hotel and you will not be disappointed. I will be going back to the same place next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We received the usual warm welcome from the staff. They are friendly and very helpful, and we had a relaxing and comfortable stay. The hotel is ideally situated for walking down to the harbour for supper in a taverna or exploring the interesting old streets of Skopelos.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. Convenient location, nice view and a good buffet breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We ended our staff in Skopelos at the Ionia. Rooms are standard Skopelos twin beds etc. Bathroom a little larger then others. Room right on the pool with nice patio. Staff very very accommadating. Very nice price. Great location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I think my wife summed The Ionia up perfectly. "It's just like being in someone's home".
We went in May 2010 for the first time to The Ionia, we returned last month. Just the same, the welcoming staff, the quiet pool area and the brilliant bar.
Breakfast is fine for us, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, bread, wonderful, wonderful Greek yoghurt with Skopelos honey, plenty of fresh fruit, biscuits and cake. I know it's not everyone's idea of a fine breakfast, but if you want a full English, stay in England! Or go to Benidorm!
Moving on to the room's. Last year the bed seemed too soft with a rock hard pillow, this year it seemed the opposite, which was good.
The pool was very quiet both this year and last, which is great. The pool bar is great, beer served by the wonderful, Ildi. I doubt you will find a nicer person in the whole of Skopelos.

Eating out is great. Perivoli, which is just up from Platanos Square, is an amazing place to eat. Platanos Square itself is a good place to go for your gyros pitta, which you have to do, at least once. Alexander and Codi are also great places to eat and down on the port front, well you have a fine choice. If you can find Anna's up various back streets, you will enjoy good food in a lovely setting.

Further afield, Agnanti in Glossa has the best view on the whole island, with food to die for.
Lunch on Panormos beach is heavenly.

I recommend The Ionia and the island of Skopelos, even if we did miss the ferry on our arrival. Very Shirley Valentine type journey to Agnodas instead of the port.

Great holiday, great Island, great hotel. GREAT!!!

Room Tip: third floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ionia Hotel - Skopelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionia Hotel - Skopelos

Address: Hora (Skopelos main village), 370 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Skopelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ionia Hotel - Skopelos 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ionia Hotel - Skopelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionia Hotel Skopelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ionia Hotel - Skopelos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.