We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, clean hotel with spectacular views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Denise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Denise to your Saves list
Hotel Denise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 003 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Skopelos
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very friendly, clean hotel with spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were picked up at the port and driven up to the hotel where Mary gave us a very warm welcome. The room was spotlessly clean, with spectacular views from the balcony over the town and port. We found the walk down to the town and back up was no problem, even our four year old granddaughter did it without complaint (mostly). Mary really looks after her guests and will answer all your questions enthusiastically and with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

A warm welcome, spotlessly clean rooms, a spellbinding view and great value are all in the plus column. Maria and her staff will make you feel at home and provide valuable insights into this lovely town and very pretty island.

The amenities are fair for a 2 star standard, but most of us would happily pay a few more Euros for better coffee and juice. Kudos for some fresh fruit at breakfast.

Main deficit,hopefully a temporary one,little or no hot water for the shower.

It is a pleasant and dramatic walk down to the town. If you are not up to the steep return, a 5 Euro cab ride brings you back.

Skopelos has great character. We would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Basic hotel with a fantastic view located on the upper outskirts of the old traditional village of Skopelos.
The location means that, if you want to go to a restaurant near the harbor in the evening, you have a considerable amount of steps to climb to get back to the hotel (if you don't take a taxi). But you probably need the exercise after all the nice Greek food :-)
The hotel is well kept and clean, our room was cleaned and towels changed daily. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is more or less a standard Greek breakfast, and OK in our opinion - except their coffee, which we found awful!
There is also a small pool, which we didn’t use … who wants to use a pool when you are on an island surrounded by the most fantastic sea? :-)
If you rent a car or an ATV, you have to park on the roadside outside the hotel. It can be a bit of a challenge because there can be a little cramped, but was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for seven nights as part of a Ramblers walking group holiday. Our room overlooking the harbour was reasonably spacious with air conditioning and a good sized balcony giving an incredible view over Skopelos town down to the harbour. However, many rooms have different aspects and not all have air conditioning. On the downside, the shower was very small and was hand held only which made washing a little difficult! However,the rooms were kept spotless by the housekeeping staff and nothing was too much bother for Maria and her brother who own and run the hotel. I must disagree with the comments of another Rambler on an earlier visit who complained about the breakfast which we found to be perfectly adequate and typical of a family run hotel on the Geek Islands - orange cordial is not at all unusual ! However, the breakfast room was a little cramped and could barely cope with all the guests.
The location at the top of the town would not suit everybody unless you are fit or have a car. However, the views make it all worthwhile.

Room Tip: Try our room - no.103 or ask to see the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel for one night whilst visiting from Skiathos and I'm so glad we booked it.
We only paid 34 Euros via Booking.com and were given the pleasure of the best room in the house with a panoramic balcony and the most amazing views over Skopelos. The hotel sits right at the top of Skopelos town so the views are to die for.
The room itself was spotless and the bed was massive, we had a fab night's sleep!!! We were given complimentary toiletries and slippers which was an added bonus.
The entire hotel is spotless and the pool are is lovely, again with stunning views over the town.
What makes this hotel so special though is the staff. I've never quite met people so friendly and welcoming (I know Greeks are really lovely anyway but these people were something else). Nothing was too much trouble and they made you feel like you were someone special. At the end of our stay, we were given a complimentary fridge magnet and a hug from the lady who wished we could stay longer.
I would just like to thank them for our amazing stay and I can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have spent 5 great days in this hotel enjoying from morning till evening being there. The view was just perfect. You should give an effort climbing the stairs but otherwise you can’t see this beauty. Definitely, we will never forget Maria. She is a nice, smiled and very helpful manager-woman surprised us positively since the first contact (arrange a car to pick us from the ferry).

The rooms are clean, the breakfast is good, and the hotel has a good location. We had always a wifi, however you don’t need it in Skopelos.

We would come again one day! Thank you, Maria!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a most incredible time we spent at this Hotel.From our arrival fetched at ferry with their vehicle to the warm greeting and intro to the island from Mary.She is the best hostess we have ever met and all was sad when we left.Thank you for making our stay such an uplifting experience!the view,the service,the rooms all made for our best stay in line with the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Denise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denise

Address: 37 003 , Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Skopelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denise 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Denise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Denise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.