We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greece - always a journey, never a destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 39Steps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skopelos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
39Steps
Save
You added 39Steps to your Saves list
37 003, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 55 Skopelos B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Greece - always a journey, never a destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

All of the reviews are right. and the accommodation at Sofia's 39 Steps will always be excellent, the terraces and courtyards always evocative, and the sunset beers always relaxing. But for however long you are there you will eventually realise that Sofia's warm welcome off the night ferry was the beginning of your journey, not the end.

Travellers looking for "the Greek experience" may miss the mark if they stay stuck on beaches, Zorba, moussaka and beers at sunset. Greece tends to deal out great disappointments and great miracles, often in the same event, and hanging around at Sofia's, especially if Sofia has anything to do with it, will start to throw up those little epiphanies that nobody can plan. It's to do with community, and the kind of passion you will miss dearly when you get back to South Woodford, or Mosman, or West Van, BC. It's not the donkey collecting the garbage or the old ladies shredding mounds of artichokes, it's more the resigned but polite boredom of the young garbo, and the focus of the shredders as they look up to smile and say good morning. It's not the visual spectacle of the Mamma Mia wedding chapel, Agios Ioannis, (although it is spectacular), but it might be the oil lamp burning inside when you get up to it, or the icons, or even the piles of garbage thrown over the back of the cliff behind it.

Of course modern Greek history is more than donkeys and artichokes, and it doesn't take many days staying in the one place in Greece to become a little more aware of local politics and the many layers of history that have swept across these islands.

Sofia tends to offer her guests a passage to this miraculous underworld just by being herself, but in a more everyday sense for a modest fee she will offer a surface passage in her car to anybody who wants to see the island and learn a little about it.

So - a visit to Sofia Palasini at 39 Steps - thoughtful, attentive, mindful of each of her guests, and something of an expert at intuiting what it is they expect of their visit. This journey within a journey is one that will stay with me for a long time, and hopefully the same is the case for all of Sofia's guests.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I don't know why it has taken me this long to get around to writing this review. Shame on me.

We stayed with the lovely Sofia for 3 nights (too short) in late July. From the moment she picked us up at the ferry we knew this would be a good trip. Sofia's house is truly beautiful, we were lucky enough to have the top apartment and we really didn't want to leave - it was our little bit of luxury in Greece. We have been to 13 Greek islands and this was by far the best place we have stayed. I was ill on the first night and Sofia very kindly gave me tablets and offered to cook for me. She was a true host.

The apartment is in a great location just minutes walk from the harbour, albeit up those steps...... We rented a car from Magic cars and really got to see lots of the Island. The scenery is spectacular and the beaches have the most amazing clear water. Our favourite was Milia.

Because of the apartments location in a residential area, you really get a feel for true Greek Life. Waking up to the church bells ringing and loud Greek voices!

There was a thunder and lightning storm on our last night and the next morning so our ferry back to Skiathos was moved up the coast to Agnondas. Sofia, ever the host, kindly drove us to the new port.

I would definitely recommend the 39 steps to other travellers and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Just back from a fabulous week in the spectacular island of Skopelos, focusing on walking, swimming and eating (there's not a lot more to do there!). Our hostess, Sofia, speaks perfect Greek, English, Czech (and many more besides) and plans to add Italian for next year. Her traditional house in the old town of Skopelos is divided into three flats - we had the top one which is cool, airy and spacious, simply and tastefully furnished - ideal for lolling about reading in the afternoon. You have to be prepared to walk 5-10 minutes up the narrow stepped streets from the harbour after your evening meal of freshly caught fish so it's not ideal for young kids or elderly people. The reward is a perfectly quiet night's sleep to be woken by the church bells and the mules coming to collect the rubbish (no motorised traffic allowed). Sofia, who lives on the ground floor, is a fount of knowledge about the island, a great personality and a charming yet discrete hostess.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed in this delightful apartment in Skopelos town for 6 nights and wish we had stayed longer! It is excellent value for money and the owner Sofia can’t do enough to help. Sofia picked us up from the ferry late on Friday night which was a great help. We also had the pleasure of having the top apartment which provided a beautiful view of the harbour of Skopelos town. The apartment has a very rustic classic feel to it with whitewashed walls, ceramics and wooden features. There is also a beautiful courtyard where you can sit and relax or make use of the Wifi access.

We hired a car from Magic Cars for 7 days (E105) which proved very worthwhile because it enabled us to explore many of the beaches on the island, many of which had no one on them. But be warned – do not drive through the Delphi mountains unless you have a 4x4!

Stafilos beach is only a short drive (about 10 min) from Skopelos and has sunbeds and parasols to hire for E5. It wasn’t very busy when we were there and it is good for swimming. For more a secluded beach we loved Hovolo, Ekatopenintari, and Kastani which were all beautiful. Hondroyiorgis beach is in the north of the island and is quite a drive but it is a lovely shingle beach with crystal clear water, and we saw lots of small fish swimming at the sea shore.

Restaurants in Skopelos which we would highly recommend are Alexanders, Rodi’s, Perivoli, and Anna’s Restaurant. None of these restaurants are on the waterfront but are worth finding. Beautiful leafy courtyard settings with delicious food at a reasonable price.

This was our first time in Skopelos and I don’t think it will be our last.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I had the good fortune to secure Sofia's top floor unit in her beautiful home in Skopelos town. The apartment, the house, the beautiful garden and terrace, and Sofia herself were all second to none. Fabulous.

The top floor unit is spacious for a single person or a couple - stone or whitewashed walls, hardwood floors, a bedroom with great bed, a small bathroom, and large living space/kitchen with all sorts of traditional ceramics, old photographs, and windows on three sides overlooking the beautiful town and harbor. It has an old-fashioned, 'country' feel to it. I was convinced by the photos Sofia sent beforehand, and loved it the minute I walked in.

The large terrace is covered in caper vines and is a great place to share a meal or to use your laptop if you bring one. Sofia takes wonderful care of her garden, flowers and plants, and it's a great place to hang out after a day at the beach and before dinner. It's just beautiful, and exactly what you think of when you imagine being in Greece.

Sofia is the most intelligent, kind, helpful host you can imagine. She picked me up at the ferry, insisted on carrying my luggage, gave directions, offered suggestions, answered any question I might have had, and even did my laundry. On Sunday, she offered to take me on a two hour driving tour of the island because I didn't have a car and because I came on my own. This kind of attention you will never get in a hotel or a rented condominium. Ever.

Skopelos town is utterly charming and very pretty. The island has several great beaches that were very quiet at this time in early June. Gorgeous weather and not so many people. Perfect.

I am extremely happy with my choice to stay at 39 Steps, would recommend it without hesitation to anyone, and would certainly come back myself if I'm ever in Greece again.

Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Had a lovely stay at 39 steps - it's a lovely classic old house in the lanes of Skopelos old town. Particularly nice to sit on the shared terrace area with vines running overhead having a beer as its getting dark and watching the lights coming up over the harbour - beatiful and chilled.

We liked Sophia (who runs it) very much - very friendly, very funny and we felt went the extra mile to be helpful. She knows everything about the island and took us on a short trip to a lookout point high up on the other side of the harbour - amazing view - and gave us lots of ideas of what to get up to. She also saved us on the last morning when we had to rush over to the other side of the isalnd early morning to get our boat to Skiathos airport.

Skopelos is a very nice island - I visited it quite a few years ago and whilst its now a touch busier it has definitely kept its charm. I especially recommend the tavernas at Agnondas for drink and dinner - beautiful in the early evening - and a boat trip to Glysteri beach which you can do from the harbour. Also boat trip to Alonisos was a good day out.

Would definitely recommend 39 Steps AND Skopelos - lovely!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We loved Skopelos for it's peaceful & relaxed lifestyle. The 39 Steps is in a quiet neighbourhood only 5 mins walk from the harbour. A great place for strolling to the local cafes & tavernas.
From the moment we saw Sophie's smiling face greeting us at the harbour, we knew that this was to be a special stay. Sophie grabbed my wife's bag and lead us off to her 'limousine'. Stacked all our luggage in the front seat and wisked us off to The 39 Steps. Anything that she could do she was happy to do. We hired a car for 3 days (only 50euro) from Magic Cars. The bus service was good, but the car gave us the chance to visit a few out of the way places. We enjoyed walking back to Skopelos Town from Stafylos Beach along the back road.
We stayed in the top flat and were pleased with the accommodation, the views over the harbour and the chance to watch the local mule doing its garbage collection each day. This was our first trip to a Greek Island and Skopelos and The 39 Steps lived up to all of our expectations at a price much less than we thought we would have to pay.
We highly recommend The 39 Steps.
Judy & Ken
Australia

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 39Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 39Steps

Address: 37 003, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skopelos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Skopelos
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 39Steps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.