We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Sporades hotel on peaceful Skyros” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nefeli Hotel Skyros

Save Saved
You added Nefeli Hotel Skyros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nefeli Hotel Skyros
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hora Skyros, 34007, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Skyros
Hampshire and Cardiff, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great Sporades hotel on peaceful Skyros”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having stayed in 4 star hotels on Skiathos, Skopelos and Skyros in the last fortnight, our best hotel by far was the Nefeli on Skyros. The family suite in the new wing was a modern, cleverly designed cycladic style room with an upstairs mezzanine with a second doube bed. The view from the balcony looked up towards the town and derelict Skyros castro. The breakfasts were superb with home cooked little cakes such as chocolate biscuit and small home made omelettes. Unlike most Aegean islands, Skyros was little changed from when we went there in the mid 70s and the friendly, quiet local atmosphere predominates. The only problem is the shortage of restaurants close by; most of the time we needed the car to drive the 10 minutes to the few restaurants down from the town. Compared with the package tourism take-over of Skiathos, Skyros and the Nefeli were what we go on holiday for. If you have problems trying to book the Nefeli online, as we did, then you can book it through a Greek travel agent.

Room Tip: All/most rooms looked up towards the town and as the hotel has developed the stone cottages and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our trip was in last week of August for 10 days. I can only speak for the rooms of the new section of the hotel complex. My aesthetics are more towards the minimal furniture and decor so I did not choose the traditional style rooms, which for others may suit best. Our room was very spacious, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom big and modern. There are imperfections, but all the basics are really good. The hotel is close to the town and it takes a 10 minute uphill walk to get there. . Was really windy and unsuitable for the beach but we used the pool a lot. It's really big and nice. Breakfast was good - not great. The people are really friendly and unspoiled by the tourism industry. There are other choices very close to the beach, yet i feel it was a really good experience and would go back again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 5 nights in this luxury small hotel at a walking distance from Skyros town. We decided to choose the most expensive room with the jacuzzi and the hydromassage shower because it was the end of our holiday and had spent very little in the other islands. It was absolutely worth it: the room is just beautiful, with a mezzanine, very quiet and onw of the two balconies has a stunning view on Skyros town. Apart from the room, we really enjoyed the breakfast served by the pool and the hotel staff were always kind and helpful. We ate at the hotel's restaurant twice and althought it was slightly more expensive than other places in the island, the food was great and it was a good choice. If you take the aegean flight back to athens, the one leaving at 7 in the morning, there is a bus picking you up right in front of the hotel, which was very good news when we found out. It is unfortunate it is so far away from home, because it is just the perfect place for a long weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very clean rooms ,good breakfast,in a good location near city of Skyros .People in the reception are very polite and do the best to have a pleasant holiday .Big swimming pool where also can do your breakfast ! Do not rent a car from mr Aggelis who is about 100 klm away from the hotel ad he is going to give you a very dirty car and will steel you in tha gaz !! You can go to the island also by air it's only a flight of 35 minutes with very cheap air ticket cost of rent a car 25 euros but as I told you NOT from Aggelis

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in a family maisonette in this fine hotel early August 2012 with our 3 children and have been completely thrilled. First of all the arrangement of our transport from the airport and the car rental where executed perfectly. Due to the fact that we would be leaving very early after our second night, we had been allowed to take our breakfast right after arrival in the morning we checked in. And what a breakfast selection that was... The hotel has a very specific charm... It is a representing a mixture of architectural styles as it has been build again and again over a period of years, however the "main course" is the cycladic style despite the fact that the island belongs to the Northern Sporades. The pool area is outstanding and the views from many of the rooms to the hill and the ancient castle of Skyros is unique. The people of the hotel are elegant, polite and available on he spot whenever needed while being discrete. Exactly the way you want it to happen. It is located within walking distance of the old town of Skyros and is definetely the place to stay if you want to be in Skyros Town

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

the hotel is situated in the town of the island,called Hora, so you have everything you want near by.The hotel has an excellent view,having your coffee you gaze at the mountain and some houses on it,the centre of the island is amfitheatric. the service of the hotel is so professional.loved the fine decorated rooms,that follow the architectural style of the island. Skiros is famous for its furnishing and the interior design of the houses.
never believed that this island has so many beauties to show me. i loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The location is good, the hotel is situated a few minute walk from the Chora of Skyros. The rooms are decorated mixed modern and traditional. The room was clean. The staff was very friendly. A very good greek breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nefeli Hotel Skyros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefeli Hotel Skyros

Address: Hora Skyros, 34007, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skyros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Skyros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nefeli Hotel Skyros 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nefeli is the quality choice for vacations in Skyros island.Recently renovated,with decoration based on eco friendly materials, has created a model of high level hospitalit, with perfect service and distinctive luxury.There are a lot of references for this boutique hotel at the magazines Alpha guide, National Geographic, Lonely Planet, Voyager etc.It is situated at the entrance of Skyros town .Nearby, you can find the main square of Skyros and a lot of shops, restaurant, cafe. It consists of three buildings each one with a distinct decorative style.There is a range of rooms, standard, executive, suite, studios, traditional and antique, separated to smoking or not smoking. The facilities are spacious and comfortable with a feeling of escape from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Nefeli Hotel Skyros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nefeli Hotel Skyros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.