We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time at the Marialena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marialena Village Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marialena Village Apartments to your Saves list
Marialena Village Apartments
near Agia Paraskevi beach | Platanias, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 101 Skiathos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3rd time at the Marialena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Ok, this is our 3rd time at the Marialena, and this 2 week holiday was just as good as the first. George runs a tight ship but this shows in the standards of the apartments, food and pool area. It would be fair to say that some of the fixtures and fittings are slightly showing their age and some of the sunbeds were broken, but there was plenty to go round. Please do not be put off by the negative comments, George will do anything to help you. We only ate a the Marialena at lunchtimes and the quality of the food is great and not that expensive. Georges prices are slightly higher than surrounding restaurants but all his food is freshly prepared, also George has a Happy Hour now where his beer is 2.50 Euros for 0.5Litre.
The cleaner works very hard, yes 1 cleaner ! and she did a wonderful job at cleaning the apartments and there were fresh towels and sheets at regular intervals.
We were in Room 11 to start which is the furthest and highest apartment. The children struggled with the hill and steps, but the view from room 11 was lovely. George kindly offered to move us to one of the bungalows (room 3) when it was vacated, which was greatfully accepted

If you can, hire a car. its good to see the island and visit some very nice beaches, not forgetting to visit the Dog Sanctuary. There is hardly any traffic on the road(s) but you will need a 4x4 to get to some of the harder to reach beaches.

Would I go back ? Yes, we will probably be going back for visit number 4

Room Tip: Room 11 has great views but is up stairs and hill. Room 1 is a solitary apartment at the front near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    3
    3
    10
See reviews for
35
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago, my wife and I loved it. George does keep his finger on the button and works extremely hard to keep the standard and quality of these apartments so high. Ignore all previous unjustified negative comments from people who obviously have nothing better to do, the ole whinging Brit syndrome, George and Maria were the perfect hosts. George could teach alot of hoteliers a thing or two how to run a top class operation. Its spacious, spotlessly clean, beautiful grounds and lives up to its Thomsons Gold Award.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just had a great week at these apartments. You must ignor any negative comments you may have seen. The apartments are very clean, with good equipment, very nice beds and are in a lovely setting. The pool is spotless with lots of sunbeds. George, Maria and Lena are perfect hosts, very friendly and very Greek. The snacks/food are of very high standard, can strongly recommend the club sandwich, the prices are about the same as other restuarant,and we found the food to be better here. Rooms are cleaned every day, with the cleaner taking great care. Because the apartments are about 900m from the main road it peacefull, the only sounds you will hear are the chickens and crickets. If you want a relaxing holiday and like the Greek way of life this is a great base with good transport links if you want to dicover the island. We have stayed all over Greece and this is by far the best accomadation and location we have stayed in. George and his family made our holiday. Its a real gem, cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: All apartments are great, we had a ground floor apartment with pool view, lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Skiathos is a beautiful island and my wife and I would go back like shot on one condition which would be, that on no account would we have to stop at the Marialena apartments.

There is little wrong with the apartments themselves which are clean although the equipment and furnishings are starting to show there age and look a little run down.

The problem is that the place has absolutely no ambiance or atmosphere which is down to the demeanor of George and his wife Maria who take any decision to go to another bar or restaurant as a personal affront and cannot understand why you do not want to eat and drink alone in their glorified plastic tent and pay exorbitant prices for the privilege.

We did have one very indifferent meal there and one or two drinks to try and show willing but the place was always empty.

I think a lot of the problems are caused by Thomsons who allegedly don't pay for the accommodation for ninety days which may be the reason why the owners are so desperate for their guests to use their facilities which in turn of course drives people away.

I don't think it would be fair to tell you all about Georges "rules" but believe me there are plenty of them and whatever you do, do not leave a light on unless you want to become acquainted with a Greek version of the air raid warden Hodges from "Dads Army".

So finally my advice would be definitely visit Skiathos but give the Marialena Apartments and Thomsons a miss.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have recently returned from a wonderful week at these apartments. We stayed in the first week of June and the weather was fantastic. I want to dispel all the negative comments I read prior to beginning our holiday. The place is amazing and George and Maria are a lovely couple who work really hard to make your stay as peaceful and relaxing as possible. The apartments are some of the best we have stayed in when visiting Greece, which we have done over many years. They are kept really clean by Roza and she leaves little gifts, such as flowers, in your room also.
Overall a wonderful time and we will certainly be returning to this beautiful island and these wonderful apartments.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have just returned from these apartments and had a lovely time, we stayed in apartment 1 right at the gate, we had a lovely balancy. There is a bar and pool area for drinks and snacks, also has WiFi you need to ask George for the code, with other apartments in the gardens and up the slight hill at the back overlooking the pool area. Our apartment was very clean, had a full size fridge and a 2 ring hob and small oven. I think the sofa in the lounge area was a sofa bed, but cannot be sure. We had a lovely big bed, loads of wardrobe space, loads of plug sockets and mirrors. The shower room was small but adequate, loads of hot water. Our error every time we do self catering is we forget to take washing up liquid! This complex is situated about 900 metres from the main road, with plenty of restaurants and bars along the road to break the journey. We liked the local area, eating is the well known Green Park, which was nice although you need to starve youselves before hand as the portions are huge! There are a lot of other restaurants in the area to choose from. We didn't visit the local beach becuase we had a quad bike for the week so explored the island, our favourite beach was Elenis just at the end near Banana, nice laid back, two places for food and drink and nice and shallow.

George is a charactor, we found him to be very nice and would do anything for you, his wife Maria is also nice. He gave us a lift to the airport for a small charge which was good.

I would definetely visit these apartments again, and would recommend them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Having read the previous reviews we were a bit wary about George the owner. However we found him helpful and friendly. His manner can come over as abrupt at times but he certainly made us feel welcome, he even gave us a lift into Skiathos town one day as he was taking one of his staff to the doctors! We ate at the Village on about three occasions and the food was very good although the barbeque was a bit dissapointing; there was lots of meat but it could have been hotter. The accomodation was first class one of the best we have stayed in. The location is right out of the way, very quiet which suited us fine. There is a bit of a walk to the main road and excellent beach but it is a nice walk and there are restaurants and a small supermarket close by. We definitely plan to return which we normally never do.

Room Tip: We had one of the appartments at the back of the complex which was one of the highest giving us bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marialena Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marialena Village Apartments

Address: near Agia Paraskevi beach | Platanias, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Marialena Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marialena Village Apartments Hotel Skiathos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marialena Village Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.