We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL SETTING, LOVELY PEOPLE A MUST!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanthi Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Xanthi Studios
Save
You added Xanthi Studios to your Saves list
Kolios, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Skiathos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wales, uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL SETTING, LOVELY PEOPLE A MUST!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We arrived on Friday the 13th May for 1 week in Skiathos.... This was not long enough!! :)

We Did not stay at Xanthi although we did stay in the Manos Apartments opposite which were also 'Olympic Travel' this meaning you can use any other Olympic hotel/apartments facilities, which we did every day. Bonus!

We did not have a pool at Manos (Although there is a coop supermarket, which was very handy) so went to Xanthi every day to use the pool and bar. Martina and Bill the owners very extremely nice. Their daughter is Lovely, although she does have you on edge when she runs wild around the pool....
They are so Very helpful and just really really lovely. They speak very good English and are just happy to be of service to you. Martina makes a mean ' Sex on the beach' and Bill a very good B.L.T.

There is happy hour from 6.30-8pm every night, we were there every night drinking 1.5pint glasses served straight from the freezer filed with Mythos, Local lager, Beautiful! And cocktails even more delicious... alot of the guests at Xanthi and other Manos customers who joined us day and night. It was lovely to have everyone so happy and chatting altogether. I had a look around a room at zanthi, it was very nice, clean and spacious for a self catering apartment. All you needed.

The Apartments are located about 10-15mins MAX from Skiathos Town. Buses are every hour, evey half hour after 6pm. But every time we stopped for a bus, a taxi would arrive and we would barter to get into town for 5 Euros. Bus cost 3.20.

For us the Apartments both Manos and Xanthi were amazing. It was just far enough out of town to be quiet but ever so beautiful. Views over the sea and of the trees, flowers, grape vines, fields beyond. Truely magnificent. There is a very private beach opposite about 50m walk. When we arrived there were 5 huts only on the beach it was magical. There are shops, pubs, bars, restaurants all along the main road ( which the apartments are up a very short walk up the track) so you are not stuck for breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a walk around.

If you are after a bit of peace and quiet, gorgeous scenery and a friendly atmosphere then we do reccomend Manos and Xanthi.

The rooms were clean and had superb views. The maid came once a day to clean around if you wish. The kitchen equip was basic but all that you needed to prepare a breakfast or lunch to take with you to the beach.

If you do go here you should definately try Green park restaurant which is down the road and also in Skiathos town a MUST , MUST is Amfiliki opposite the medical centre in the town. You will not be dissapointed. The views are amazing and the food, mmmmmm!

To round off, this was a fabulous holiday for me and my Man, We loved it!!! It was early season so it was especially quiet, which it may not be as quiet in the upcoming months. Unlucky if this is so. The people were lovely, very friendly and helpful. Food was gorgeous, and the place was just beautiful.

I hope if you do go you have as much of a wonderful time as we did. I defo recommend it early may before the season really gets going. We Shall be going for sure again next year, much to see and do.

Good Luck and Enjoy your Holiday.

Room Tip: Just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    10
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

we returned last night from a week in Xanthi studios, Kilios, skiathos. A truly memorable holiday. we had room 10 at the end on the upper floor. The room is basic, (but hey, who goes on holiday to cook!) comfortable and spotlessly clean. The view from our balcony was breathtaking of the valley, not a sound, just birds singing and the occasional laugh of neighbours. We have visited 22 greek islands now, and of them all, this has to be in the top 2, if not the very top. We shall be returning in September, to the same apartments we hope. Can recommend this accommodation to anyone. The pool area is lovely, with shower and toilet facilities, and a comfortable bar area. The owners are so incredibly helpful, we got back to manchester, leaving our keys behind us, I rang them and she had already taken them to the rep and asked me for our address to return them. Xanthi studios are recommended to you by us and all the other reviewees on trip advisor, need I say more??! ENJOY!!!

Room Tip: room 10, best view to the sea and valley
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Booked a last minute deal to Skiathos with my partner. We compared a few hotels before going and came across Xanthi Studios. Our budget was not too high so our expectations were automatically low to start off with. However, this perspective changed once we arrived at Xanthi Studios. We were greeted by Matina and later her husband Bill who were very welcoming. The apartment was clean, had a kitchen to whip up a quick lunch or snack, balcony which faces the green hillside, and in general need satisfying.

The studios had a pool bar which was open throughout the day and at night. It became a tradition to sit there, have a quick bite, pint of Mythos, whether before going to dinner or just hanging by the pool. The Greek salad is simple, delicious, and refreshing on a warm afternoon.

The area of Kolios is nice and quiet and also gives off some of that local spirit. We made some good holiday friends, but more importantly, we felt at home away from home. Perfect all around.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Stayed at the Xanthi Studios for 1 week from the 3rd of September to the 10th September and I trully enjoyed my holiday with my father here the accomodation is basic to what I have experienced in my last 2 stays on the Island but the accomodation was clean and tidy.The room was large and had all the normal facilties such as a private bathroom and kitchen area.The view from my balcony was superb and I often sat there reading and admiring the views of kolios. The owners of the Xanthi were very friendly and made me and my father feel very welcome. The accomodation is handy for catching the bus into skiathos town and is also very close walking distance to Agia Paraskevi beach and resort. I would reccomend this accomodation to anyone wanting to stay in a quiet location.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

These apartments are fantastic... clean, great location, welcoming hosts, great views, lovely pool and more!.
apartments are a decent size with a large balcony or terrace. only 10 apts on two floors all offering fabulous views to the valley. to the right the ocean and to the left the pool. not a noise was heard ie music, road noise only the morning wake up from the cockerill!
The pool bar was open from 10.30 till late usually latest being 1am. fantastic range of cocktails 'Kolios' absolutely gorgeous! had snacks at the bar was a good price and really good for a quick bite.
location perfect 2 mins from a restaurant 'Infinty Blue' (really gorgeous views and food to match) 3 mins from local supermarket which stayed open till 10.30 ish! 5 mins to the lovely beach of kolios. 4 mins to the main road and bus stop 15.
couldnt actually fault this place everything was just perfect. totally relaxing and stunning. matina, bill and katerina really know how to look after you with their Skiathos welcome! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed at Xanthi Studios with my better half for a blissful two weeks of sun and relaxation and that's exactly what we got.

The apartments are typically Greek, painted in their distinct blue and white set against a lush green valley of olive trees - simply breathtaking.

The accommodation is quite basic, but don't be deceived, they are exceptionally clean and more than accommodating with everything that you could need, a small area for cooking, plenty of general space and a balcony facing fantastic rolling hills, however if you like to spend days indoors watching the idiot box...you'll be disappointed...no TV...a god send in our opinion. The only thing that may have been a bonus to our stay would have been the inclusion of a hair dryer.

The Studios are set back off of the main road up a small lane, which really does rid you of the hustle and bustle of the traffic passing by, the pool is a great size and very well maintained and a MUST in July, if that doesn't cool you down a visit to the ever welcoming pool bar may be in order, Bill and Martina welcome you with open arms from morning until night in the way that only Greek people can do, serving a massive range of drinks and great snacks and food.

If you fancy a night in or need some supplies there's a great Supermarket (Manos) 2 mins walk away with all you need at great prices, plus tavernas dotted all around serving all those beautiful Greek specialities, things really couldn't be more convenient. Or if you fancy spreading your wings you can jump on the fantastic local Skiathos bus which runs every 20 mins until 1.30am directly opposite the lane leading to Xanthi Studios and find yourself in Skiathos town which is a joy to explore - and all for just over 1€ what are you waiting for!

Overall I would recommend Xanthi to anyone, maybe not if you're a crazy bunch of 18/20yr olds as everything is very relaxed and chilled, but in general it's got all you need, you'll be greeted with open arms and looked after 24/7 by all of the staff there, more than I can say about the Olympic rep who was as much use as a chocolate teapot, very poor and unapproachable, but anyway that's another story.

Thanks Bill, Martina and Katerina we had a brilliant holiday!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Although I was a single traveller I certainly felt included in the evening at the pool bar.
It is a very friendly environment. I was lucky enough to be there the weeks
that 'return' couples were there and had a good chat and laugh with them when everyone
seemed to meet up after having dinner wherever they chose. The only downside to these
studios is the noise from the road although they are set quite high the road noise is
very noticeable so if you plan on having a 'quiet' day by the pool it won't be but only
because of the traffic noise as the studios are set above the only main road on the island, otherwise it is wonderful - beautiful views of the valley and the pool is good not large enough to swim 'lengths' if you are so inclined but wonderful to have a dip and enjoy a drink at the pool bar after a hot day on the beach!
Having said that Bill and Martina are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to do what
they can to make your stay more comfortable. I travelled with Olympic Holidays and these studios are exclusive to Olympic. Just a word about Kolios beach - I chose these
studios because I wanted to use Kolios beach as it is a lovely quiet beach with a couple
of tavernas BUT these tavernas have been closed down and only one guy who will do
a toasted sandwich and a can of beer or soft drink. That was very disappointing, so made the bus trip to Troulos beach quite a few days which was my favourite - no shortage of tavernas and a beautiful beach. Vromolimnos is also a good beach with a
good beach bar (just walk up the steps on Kolios beach and follow the track - it takes
about 10 minutes!) At Xanthi ask Bill to mix you a B52 cocktail - best I have tasted!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xanthi Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanthi Studios

Address: Kolios, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Skiathos
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Xanthi Studios Hotel Skiathos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanthi Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.