We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Beltsios-Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beltsios Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beltsios Hotel
Save
You added Beltsios Hotel to your Saves list
| Troulos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 101 Skiathos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Herts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved Beltsios-Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Beltsios Apartments, and loved it!! We were victims of the overbooking at Thanos, and were booked into Beltsios. Have to say, after looking at the Thanos whilst we were there, we feel we had a lucky escape! Cosmos' overbooking error was certainly to our advantage. (The pool at Thanos looked manky, closed in, and more like a school swimming pool).
Beltsios apartments were very clean and tidy with lovely garden area and plenty of space around the pool. Well equipped kitchenette with a mini oven and grill. The apartments are family run, and were very friendly and courteous. I managed to break my ankle on the second week, the owners were very kind, supportive and concerned. Tina particularly was extremely helpful. Good location with Troulos beach and Bus Stop 20 at the end of the road. Loads of decent tavernas in Troulous - Green Meadow done special offer menu consisting of Salad, Tzatziki, main course and wine all for 10 euros and very nice too. Ratatoille was wonderful - lemon chicken to die for. Lovely service at Salt and Pepper (recently opened, so every lovely and new). Cheaper to eat in resort than in Skiathos town. Go to Captain Nikos bar - barman very friendly. No problem for anyone who has booked these apartments, they are lovely and no one would be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    38
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
76
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Just back from Beltsios Apartments (June 11) had a weeks stay and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great little place, clean, well maintained, and family run. Everything you need is here. Even get a blow dryer supplied and the toilet rolls replaced which is unusual for Greece, you know what I mean - Greece = basic (which we actually love). Would defo recommend this place to anyone. On the main bus route - a few mins walk to beach, cant say anything bad about it and would defo go again. Fab bar man, so funny. Flts were a good time too. Weather fab. Hired a ped and no worries as not much traffic to worry about. Quite a hilly place but lovely walks and can get around island really well, even on the buses - 2 euros everywhere. All beaches are lovely, so if you havent been yet - get yourselves over there. If u like Greece u will love this place Lovely Lovely!!

Room Tip: rooms are all quite near bar area as small place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

our stay at the Beltsios must have over-lapped with anna and had we returned home a week earlier we may have agreed 100% with her comments, especially since we were in the "block at the back". However the atmosphere changed quite considerably in our second week.
The music was louder, much louder, and if I ever hear Celo Green singing "F*** You" again,it will be too soon.
A younger clientel arrived with Whit week, and some families with children, tho they were very well behaved. The grand-children of the owners also started descending on the pool area every evening and were noisy and quite annoying to us old fogeys who had loved the relaxing and calm atmosphere during our first week.
Tony and his wife are no longer together, so fans of hers will be disappointed this year, tho the new bar-maid during the day, Tina, is gorgeous and very helpful. Snacks are available 10-5, and we had salads a couple of times which were lovely.
Our favourite taverna was Sunrise, left out of the Beltsios, following the road round to the Thanos studios ( bearing right every time u have a choice, take a torch) - we ate there several nights and the food was out-standing, sadly, we learned to our cost, you need to watch your bill, what notes you give, and your change. Their Chicken Risotto is to die for, and Maggie, the waitress will always thank you for any read thrillers you could donate to her.
The Troulos Bay Hotel does excellent food, and Harry the Bar-man makes divine cocktails 6.5 euros, compared to Tonis 8!! and twice as strong.
We used the local buses and found them great fun. Taxis were so desperate for business they would patrol the route and offer huge discounts, if u can "pal up" with other passengers, you can get about by taxi, cheaper than the bus ( max 2 euros bus to Skaithos Town)
Captain Michalis at Koukanaris was my favourite, favourite place. He grows all his own veg, his wife makes the cheese, his mate brings him fresh fish every day, and he's an old salty sea-dog who tells such good tales. We loved him.
Most of our fellow travellers were seasoned "walkers" - we felf quite lazy by comparison, but did do some strolling on the less intensely hot days, and we loved the wild-life.
We will go back to Skiathos, but probably not to the Beltsios, the Astoria next door looked fabulous, and our neighbours said they considered it the best ever Greek holiday.

Room Tip: avoid school holidays, request room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Our weeks stay at the Beltsios was restful and relaxing, with well equipped and spotlessly clean apartments, pool and good sized garden area. The bar was not particularly noisy, and the apartments are perfectly situated in Troulos, close to bus stop 20 and the beach.
We found the music played during the day was not too loud, lots of classic pop. Yes, Toni did turn it was louder in the evening when a football match was on. But this only happened once during the week we stayed, although this could be due to the fact it was the end of the season. Because of previous reviews I requested a room in a quiet location, so we were in the third block that did not overlook the swimming pool and bar, and found it very satisfactory. The bar wasn’t frequented much in the evening so the music was kept fairly quiet. There is a room next to the bar with a pool table which provided some alternative entertainment. The staff, especially Tina who ran the bar during the day were very friendly and helpful.

The apartment has a kitchenette area with an efficient mini-oven and two electric hob rings, kettle, and a better range of cutlery than normally found in greek apartments. We found the beds comfortable, nice new sheets, and the hair dryer worked well. Beds are made, and bins are emptied daily, towels and bed linen change once during our weeks stay.

The apartments are situated within a 3 minute walk of the number 20 bus stop and supermarket. It was only a 5 minute walk to the beach.

We had some very good food in Skiathos town at Asprolithos(not far from bus stop 4) and the Grill House Koziakas. The standard of the meals had Troulos varied more, although the prices were about the same. The best were at the Villa Rosa and the Troulos Bay Hotel. The food at Villa Rosa were home cooked, with different daily specials. We were disappointed at Ratatouille, poor lemon chicken and soggy cold chips. Too much potato and hardly any meat in the lamb klefito at Kavali.

Overall we found that this was one of the best apartments we have stayed in Greece.

Room Tip: Request room away from bar to avoid football noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Good clean apartments, good location, nice pool, pity about the loud football matches and loud music played every night untill late. We agree with previous review, you could not sit on your balcolny without having to endure one or the other, plus people shouting to converse over the racket. We did have a lovely holiday and are not killjoys but, the owners need to get this sorted as we were not the only people who were complaining about this. Also be aware Skiathos starts shutting down big style at end of September ( we were first timers) It was ok for us as we hired a car and explored the top of the island, but we spoke to a lot of people who were not so happy. Skopelos a must to visit while you are there. All in all a good holiday, just turn the volume down Beltsios, and the football.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Have just spent two weeks at the Beltsios.
It has all the right ingredients for a restfull relaxing holiday, spotlessly clean apartments, great pool and garden area, nice bar and perfectly situated for all that Skiathos offers.
Only down side was that the owners did not quite understand what most of the over 50's, all British guests want from a holiday.
We would loved to have spent more time relaxing around the pool area and bar but found this was spoilt due to the non stop Greek pop music played all day from 9.00 am till almost 11.30pm every day.
If music wasn't being played then it was Sky sports football shown with the volume on so loud that we could not sit on our balcony relaxing without having to play our own music to drown out the incessent comemtary, what made it worse was that we never saw any more than 4 people watching it at any time.
On more than one occasion football was shown until 11.30 pm with full volume which made it impossible to sleep even with all doors and windows closed.
Saturdays and Sundays were the worst days with at least 2 English games shown followed by a Greek match - nearly six hours of total ear shattering peace.
Whilst chatting to the owners about their holiday season they did say that they were disappionted with the amount of money that holiday makers were spending at the bar.
It was quite obvious to us that people could not sit and have a drink and a chat at the bar at any time due to the noise coming from the TV.
If only they could have turned down the volume, played relaxing music during the day which most British tourists can associate with, and perhaps during the evening played music to encourage people to sit, drink and chat and maybe even dance too it would have been totally perfect for all concerned.
Would we return to the Betsios again - only if one or two changes were made it would have been perfect - (or maybe are we the only non football fanatics). I don't think so.
Signed - Sadly disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at the Beltsios apartments beginning of September, rooms were a bit dated but typically greek very clean and funtional, the family who run the apartments who make sure the rooms are cleaned and bins emptied every day!! which in my book is excellent. The location is perfect just across the road from troulos beach and the bus stops are along the main road so if you dont hire a car you can hop on the bus into Skiathos town which is postcard perfect we loved it!!! The Greek tavernas which are within walking distance are good value we would recomend Ratatouille which was great value for money and excellent food, if you want pricey visit Varellis up the road in Troulos which was good but exspensive, as was most things in Skiathos as the prices have jumped up due to the economic problems Greece has and also Skiathos is an Island everything is shipped in.
Weather was perfect up until 11/9 as we had flash flood and we were unfortunately caught in, we hired a car few days previously and this day were coming back from town and the water was rushing past us and down the hills, we turned into our track to apartments then whoosh the water took the car sideways!!!! very scary then we were stuck water coming in the car over the bonnet, I was shouting for help out the window , fortunately a car passed and saw me they phoned the fire dept, the rescued me out the car window then my husband!!! I have never been so scared in my life, but my faith in human nature has been restored as we were then help by passers by as we were in shock soaking wet and cold!! a Serbian couple took us to there apartment in Skiathos and gave us dry clothes food and hot drinks, thank you so much to this couple, also Micheal from Parisis house who gave us lift to the taxi rank in Skiathos, I must also pass a big thank you to Clair from Thomas Cook who saw us and it was her who phoned the fire dept, if she hadnt been going past i dread to think what might have been!!
Apart from this we did have a lovely holiday loved Skiathos and would definately go back, the Greek people are respectful and very friendly and the owners of our apartments worked so hard to clean the pool as our pool was full of muddy water and debris from the flood we didnt have a pool for a few days that was no problem with the beach across the road, but some people did complain to Thomas cook.
Please also visit Skiathos dog sanctuary and give some dog food or blankets or cat food etc, this will greatly help the sanctuary survive and they can help more dogs, we went 3 times and took the dogs for a walk which you can do, my husband rescued a 10 week old kitten which we took there and they looked after, a truly worthwhile cause!!
Car Hire, is exspensive £100 for 5 days for small car and £180 for a 4x4 for a week, we hired off of Mustang car hire with the weather incident in mind the car we hired from them was damaged and we ended up paying the 500 euros CDW!!! which is alot of money, I must say Magda who owns the company was very helpful over the whole thing and did try to help us get police report for our travel insurance company.
Trips we did , excellent trip round the island for 10 euros each good day out and excellent swimming beaches, we also took the ferry to Scopelos to see the Mama Mia sites, we went to Kastani beach which was lovely and went as far as we could ( I dont like the sharp bends) so I took pictures from a distance, you would need a car in Scopelos as everything is well out of the way and is not as populated as Skiathos it looked to me very isolated and alot of the tavernas were closed and some of the tiny resorts looked very deserted!! Beautiful though. The ferry cost 42 euros for the car and 2 people return, I dont know how much just for foot passengers.
All in all loved Skiathos and the people and the food, will post pictures soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beltsios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beltsios Hotel

Address: | Troulos, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Skiathos
Number of rooms: 34

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beltsios Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.