We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in every aspect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kanapitsa | Kalamaki, 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 91 Hotels in Skiathos
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exceptional in every aspect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Hotel lies on a superb location, which provides absolutely stunning views!
The spacious rooms are decorated in a modern classical style and are very clean, fresh and provide all necessary comforts for a pleasant stay.
The bathroom was a real piece of art, huge and decorated with greek marbles.
This goes also for the pool area, where breakfast is served, the scenery is breathtaking!
The personnel was eager to help, pleasant and professional.
The hotel location is also one of the major plus, very close to the picturesque Chora, and above the two beautiful beaches, named Kanapitsa and Kalamaki.
I will surely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It means a lot to us, seeing our continuous efforts for excellence, resulting in our guests being happy and relaxed during their stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
25
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Cape Kanapitsa Hotel and Suites is perched on the edge of a east facing cliff. Daily cleaning and a very friendly bar. Limited menu, but 400m, walking distance down the road are a selection of restaurants, with reasonably priced menus.

From the beach 400m away there is a boat which does regular trips in to Skiathos town.

Room Tip: All face the sea as far as we know
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear guest,
Happy New Year from all of us at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and hope that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This was the first week of our honeymmon after getting married in Santorini and we was looking for something special... and we found it!! Without a doubt the week was made even more special by Ledi and Cedo... These two guys are without doubt one of the hotels best assests!! Ledi will will be there to help at breakfast and then all day at the pool bar where the food is great... ask Ledi to make one of his pizzas, awesome!! If you don't go out or when you get back to the hotel after a night out go to the bar and see Cedo, the guy is a legend! How a previous reviewer can say the place isn't friendly, he must have been staying at a different place, we met lots of people that came back every year... and loved it!

We stayed in a deluxe room which was quite big with a seperate sofa/day area which led on to a balcony with a view towards Skiathos town.... room service was every other day and the hotel was always clean and tidy...

You can get a taxi boat from the beach below which will take you to Skiathos Town for 3 euros each, normal taxi is about 8 euros

Try the Kanapitsa Taverna next to the hotel for an unforgetable meal by the sea!

Would we go back... YES!!

Room Tip: get a deluxe room, its worth the little extra for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear guests,
There is not much we can say!
Just a great thank you for choosing our hotel for your special time. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and hope that we will be seeing you again soon with us for another great vacation!
PS: Great tip about Ledi and the pizza! In regards to Cedo, you did meet a "living legend"!!

Take care and best of wishes for Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We spent a week near the end of the season in this hotel which is rightly prized for its views, proximity to two highly regarded beaches. Access by regular bus to Skiathos twown and other beaches is the best we have experienced. The hotel has however some downsides. Despite an engaging and clean pool area, it is an architectural catastrophe (bits have been added at various times). There are parts of the hotel where children would need hands on supervision at all times (some room balconies look on to to a shelf with no guard rail). The de luxe rooms are OK but immensely impersonal, as is the hotel generally. The breakfast was, during our stay, very poor indeed, and an individual glass of wine comes out of a bag rather than a bottle. In some de luxe rooms, there are poor quality television sets with Greek only channels. This is only an observation in the context that a wider choice of channels is available elsewhere in the hotel (an English language news channel is now the norm in most places). The cleanliness of the hotel was however of a high standard. The hotel is essentially a room with a pool.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear HenryMP,
On behalf of the management and staff of the Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, it makes us sad to see guests leaving the hotel with such impressions as "the hotel is a room with a pool".
In terms of the points that you have expressed:

1. Architecture:
One wonders about the merit of your point; when you booked your holiday, didn't you see the hotel? Pictures portray clearly the hotel, along with the "catastrophe". If the hotel was such "an architectural catastrophe", why did you book it? I am sure there are many other hotels that would meet up to your standards in Skiathos

2. Children under a certain age, ALWAYS need supervision, especially if booked at a hotel that is in a location like Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites.

3. You are welcome to have your own opinion about the character of the rooms-hotel, namely "impersonal"; 35 years of successful presence in the travel & truism industry of Skiathos speak about the "character" of the hotel and the level of services that are offered.

4. In terms of the breakfast, i am sorry that it did not meet up to your standards, but let me remind you that the hotel is 2-stars and NOT a 5-star.

5. Glass of wine: I can understand your confusion about the wine coming out of a "bag", BUT I would like to inform you that in Greece, the wine comes both in glass bottles, as well as paper bottle-boxes("bags") which are easier to store and carry.

6. TV: If your TV set did not have any english channels and other rooms did have them, why did you not notify the reception to have maintenance come and sort the problem out (in many instances, guests press wrong buttons on the remote and erase channels)? That is why the staff is there throughout the day; to help guests have a great vacation and sort any problems they may be faced with.


As I said many times, when guests come to our hotel to enjoy a relaxing vacation, the staff and the management team is there service any and all needs of the guests, to assure that they have a unique vacation experience in Skiathos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Trying to get away from family, we arrived in Skiathos with no room reservations and after an afternoon of searching, we tried our luck at Cape Kanapitsa and the result was quite positive. We had a misstep looking at the first two rooms we were showed, but after politely inquiring with reception as to any other offerings, we were shown a deluxe room, complete with a balcony and stellar view overlooking the sea and the beach. Quiet, low key and very relaxing!

The room was extremely large, modern and comfortable by Greek standards. For me, bathroom is a big thing. We had double sinks, a separate shower (yes, a shower), a jacuzzi tub (albeit non-working, but I got over it), and a separate commode area. Large and comfy bed, small loveseat/sitting area, A/C fully functional for the warm weather we experienced. Clean...it was clean!

Now, I will say, while there were some negative comments on the breakfast, we found the breakfast buffet to be a very decent effort by the hotel, again, by Greek standards. This isn't Kansas and they do things differently in Europe and Greece. Plenty of juice (the "tang" version), coffees, teas, fruits, breads, cereals, typical continental offerings and an attempt at American style eggs and bacon. All in all, if you went away hungry, you had the issue. Nothing like sitting poolside, overlooking the Aegean, having your coffee and coissant...the view was to die for and we enjoyed it immensely!

We found the hotel/bar/pool/breakfast staff to be very attentive and friendly (it does help that my husband speaks Greek) when we interacted. I think the hotel genuinely tries to make the guest experience a pleasant one.

We only had a few days away from the family, so this was a quiet and very pleasant retreat. All in all, we left feeling like we could've stayed longer. We would go back without any hesitation and at $115 Euros a night, this was a bargain!!

Room Tip: With any car travel in Skiathos, do drive slowly, as noted...many pedestrians walking on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Lovetorun62,
We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites. The staff and management of the hotel strive daily to offer a memorable vacation experience to all guests, within a friendly and warm environment.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel for another relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic 11 night stay at this hotel. This was our 4th visit to Skiathos, 2nd visit to the Kanapitsa area and 1st visit to the Cape Kanapitsa Hotel. What an excellent choice we made!

Having previously stayed in the Kanapitsa area, we had an idea of the location of this particular hotel and knew that the view would be pretty good as described in other travel reviews. However, we were unprepared for just how amazing it actually is!!

We had pre-booked direct with the hotel for a 'superior deluxe double room' particularly for the use of a jacuzzi bath and the added little extras. However, we began to get a little apprehensive about our booking having read some of the negative reviews posted.

We need not have worried. Upon our arrival we received a warm and welcome reception and had a quick check in to our allocated room. We then had a few minor complaints such as our door fob didn't work, no robes left in our room etc. as described but these issues were resolved within minutes.

We were more than pleased with our room until we discovered that our jacuzzi bath (main reason for booking this particular room) didn't work. We reported this to reception and an engineer was sent but was unable to resolve the fault. We were then offered an alternative room which was actually a two bedroomed apartment with even better views and from three different balconies! The apartment was of the same standard if not better than our original room and had 2 bathrooms one which had a jacuzzi bath as per our original request and one with a very large and powerful shower. The apartment also had a very spacious lounge which was furnished to a high standard.

As previous comments, the breakfast can become a little mundane but was always fresh serving soft breads, boiled eggs, cereals, fresh fruits, preservatives, yoghurt, hams, cheeses, rolled omelette's, bacon and small continental sausages. At all times the breakfast was extremely well presented and there was plenty. It was a pleasant surprise to have a variety of jams and marmalades in sealed individual pots rather than the typical large glass bowls that are often re-served day in and day out (attracting wasps, flies etc.) as in many hotels. Also to have butter rather than the usual margarine!

Whilst we didn't tend to use the pool as we like to be on the beach, what we saw of the pool did meet our expectations, it looked extremely inviting and was well maintained. I personally witnessed it being cleaned every morning.

The exterior public areas of the hotel were also cleaned daily and extremely well maintained. The cleaners were always visible, smartly dressed, extremely polite and friendly and always had a welcome smile. In terms of room cleanliness, we had no complaints, our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels and fresh sheets. If we had to be really fastidious in respect of cleaning, the only thing we could pick up on would be that the floors could possibly be mopped a little more often but that would be being really picky.

The beds were large and extremely comfortable by Greek standards. Both of the rooms that we stayed in were also equiped with very efficient air conditioning. We are aware that there are a variety of room standards to choose from at the hotel and unable to comment in regards to the standard rooms but certainly with respect to both the deluxe rooms and the apartment we stayed in, we considered that a lot of effort and expense has been put in to make these of high standard.

Our regards to all the management and staff for a truly wonderful and memorable holiday. Our stay at the Cape Kanapitsa is definately the best holiday we've had in Skiathos and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Flo20450,
It was a pleasure meeting you and we are happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us.
On behalf of the management and staff of Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay in one of the hotel's 2 bed / 2 bath apartments with views which simply took my breath away..

This was our first visit to Skiathos and with an overwhelming choice of hotels to choose we were happy to take the recommendation from Visons of Greece..thanks to all there for making our trip so straightforward! I travel widely for work and stay in many well known (and expensive !) hotels but this hidden gem was indeed a fabulous find. Good honest value for money with superb levels of service and warmth from all the staff with 'nothing being a problem..' Of course there are always aspects which could be improved and it was exciting to speak with the owners, Ilias and Leni and hear their plans for the future.. with their passion and energy I believe that anything is possible!
Skiathos is a mere 8 miles long and if you want the buzz of the port with its clubs, bars, flashy yachts and numerous restaurants then it is all there for the taking within a 10 minute (sometimes hairy!) taxi ride..our preferred option was the 7.30 pm water taxi from the jetty beneath the hotel .. the chilled option! We did the Skiathos town experience on a couple of evenings but were more than happy to eat locally and enjoy the vibe of the Blu Bar in the very capable hands of Cedo and Ledi.. .the bar commonly stays open until 3am but is considerate of other residents so noise was never an issue. On our last evening which happened to coincide with a full moon we decided to stay locally and were wonderfully looked after by the team..a simple but perfect meal on the terrace overlooking the sea by candlelight with sea beneath and the moon above..the pictures say it all..

Thanks once again to all at Cape Kanapitsa and we hope to see you again! Best wishes Helen, David, Greg & Jess

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear Helen, David, Greg & Jess
Thank you for choosing our hotel; we are glad that you had a good time. We also look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel for another great vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites

Address: Kanapitsa | Kalamaki, 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire waters, emerald pine trees and topaz blue skies surround Hotel Suites Cape Kanapitsa of Skiathos. Placed on a private peninsula of 8-acre property overlooking the Aegean and the magnificent Bay of Kanapitsa, Hotel-Suites Cape Kanapitsa occupies what is undoubtedly one of the best positions on the island. Built high on a headland between two wide bays in the grounds of the pretty Hotel Suites Cape Kanapitsa, they are set in abundant semi-tropical gardens with an attractive seawater swimming pool and bar overlooking the Aegean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel And Suites
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel Skiathos
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.