We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tzaneria Skiathos | PO Box155, 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 91 Hotels in Skiathos
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We came to the Kanapitsa Mare at the very end of the season and quite enjoyed the feeling that everybody was getting a bit more relaxed and looking forward to their own holiday after a summer of work. The best thing about the hotel is the stunning view and location. It really is only a short walk (though hilly) to some lovely beaches, and the poolside view is fantastic. We thought the communal areas of the hotel were attractive, and the little pool bar was friendly. The hotel is in a good location in Skiathos, halfway along the bus route so it's easy to get to town in one direction and to Koukounaries, Banana and lots of other beaches in the other. The water taxi was nearby too, We found all the staff reasonably friendly and helpful - we asked for extra pillows and they were delivered while we were at the beach. Breakfast was fairly basic and got a bit boring but seemed ok for a 3 star hotel. The room was clean, and cleaned every day. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. The only thing that would put me off returning is the hardness of the beds, which others have mentioned. I definitely don't like a soft and squishy bed, but these were really at the hard end of the spectrum and gave us some restless and uncomfortable nights. If you're happy with a very firm bed, the hotel is very scenic, smart and a good base for enjoying all of Skiathos.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have a balcony with a sea view - this was the best thing about the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guests
I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for choosing our hotel for your summer vacation. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay; the staff and management of Kanapitsa Mare hotel & Spa work hard to offer high quality vacation services.
Regarding the hard mattresses at the beds, I apologize if this made your sleep uncomfortable but not all rooms at the hotel have hard mattresses.
I would like to invite you next year to see for your self the available "softer options", while joining us at the 40 years anniversary festivities of the Group.
Thank you for your choice once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    70
    22
    22
    19
See reviews for
34
116
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The rooms we had were old and 'tired'; they lacked cleanliness and were quite basic. The beds I can honestly say were the most uncomfortable I have ever experienced - and I've travelled a lot! I was unable to hang anything longer than a blouse in the wardrobe - there was no hanging space for dresses, which I had to hang on the doorframe. Communal areas of the hotel again looked tired and lacked facilities, such as very few chairs being placed around outside tables. Breakfasts were adequate apart from the fruit juice and lack of choice of fruit juice; the breakfast staff were courteous and pleasant. The pool bar waiter was also very pleasant but was a seasonal worker. However, some of the reception staff were rude and very unpleasant. Although the manager appeared to be interested in the guests, he needs to spend time addressing the many problems in the hotel; an over- zealous explanation, excuse or justification for shortcomings in both the hotel and it's staff is not necessary, as the time spent could be more productively spent addressing problems. I would not recommend his hotel- there are better ones on Skiathos in the same price range.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,
Reading through your review it is obvious that you did not enjoy your stay with us for which I apologise but your comments would have been much more useful if they were passed on to the management of the hotel during your stay in order to be able and address accordingly the "many problems" seems to have according to your saying.
All standard room shave the same closet space throughout the hotel; I was a little surprised reading your comments about the communal areas for which we have received "top marks" from numerous guests and visitors (then again your personal opinion is respected, but not agreed with).
As far as the staff is concerned, I would advise to read the comments throughout the reviews of the summer; it is the most objective way for readers to see if our staff was actually rude, when throughout the day the staff tries hard to help each and every guest with their questions and/or concerns.
As for myself (manager), if during your stay you informed me about the "many problems" of the hotelI would have made any and all efforts to solve them. It is very unfortunate that you choose to hide behind anonymity and claim that the hotel had all these "problems".
As for the hard beds I apologise and have it noted as note all rooms have hard mattresses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We last visited the Kanapitsa Mare in 2007 and can honestly say our return in September 2012 was equally good. Before the holiday I made several requests by email...all of which were promptly answered by Lena and satisfied on our arrival.
We were fortunate to be given a room on the 6th floor with a beautiful balcony view across the bay. A slight problem with our door lock/ key was quickly rectified..and this was typical response to any request through the front desk. The room was very clean and tidy, rooms made up daily and towels/linen changed as often as necessary
The pool area is very good with sufficient sun beds to keep the average number of users satisfied.
OK...so the breakfasts could be more varied and exciting but visitors should be aware that (as far as I know) the hotel does not really cater for half/full board so the breakfasts are in keeping with this situation.
Bed mattress's were a little hard but we got used to them pretty quickly
Good tavernas are very close at hand, particularly the Kanapitsa Taverna on the beach (5 minute walk) who make a delicious fresh Mousaka each lunch time. Transport is easy by local bus or ferry from the beach. Visitors must try the Windmill Restuarant in Skiathos town for a special treat. We have been to Skiathos 7 times now and would happily go back to the Kanapitsa Mare.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guests,
It was a great pleasure having you back again with us. Since your last stay we have made various improvements and advances in the services we offer, with the sole purpose of offering the highest level of services.
Regarding the breakfast, your thoughts are right on the point!
On behalf of the management and staff of Kanapitsa Hotels Group I want to thank you once more for returning to our hotel and we look forward to seeing next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We travel to Greece every year and try to experience different islands. This was our first trip to Skiathos and Kanapitsa Mar Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel really welcome and was shown all the facilities on offer.The staff could not do enough for us, but at the same time were not intrusive if you approached them they were really friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were lovely and the staff again really friendly, with nothing too much bother for them. The manager was also really friendly and gave some great tips on where to eat on the island.There is a boat that leaves to go to Skiathos every hour from a pier on the local beach which is a three minute walk from the hotel, again all crew really friendly and helpful.You will have to try Jonny's Bar just opposite the hotel, Jonny and his staff are a great laugh and the menu is great. Don't expect to get out of there without a few drinks he insists. i wouldn't say its a great place to take children but for us that was good because we wanted the quiet, but never the less a wonderful holiday. Thank you to all that looked after us.

Bob Summers

Room Tip: Ask for 312 you get a great view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guests,
When reading your review on can only smile and feel very happy that our efforts produce the desired results; our guests enjoying their stay and keeping great memories of their Skiathos 2012 vacation.
I wish to say Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay during your vacation; it was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Hotel is not what is was in the past.

'Trip Advisor Award of Excellence' say the hotel cards posted in all the rooms...Really??

Smiling but Robotic front desk and hinted requests to submit reviews, have left me disenchanted with this hotel.

Im sure I will receive a reply from the Management in an attempt to redeem themselves but the holiday is over. They have our money.

Only now will they be concerned with potential holiday makers reviewing for future bookings.

They had time to correct the problems. They did nothing. One In and One Out. Tourists seen as nothing but Cash Cows.

No attempt was made to make our stay more comfortable during our only holiday of the year by Management staff. I have to say the catering staff were charming though.

I'm very sad to post this and it is a great shame to see a previously good hotel fail like this.

I am completely dissatisfied with the service.

Avoid

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear guest,
It makes us very sad to read such reviews from guests that have stayed with us. What is even more disappointing is having repeat guests writing such reviews just because they did not get a FREE upgrade to a higher class room (bearing in mind that during their first visit to the hotel they stayed in the same category room). You mention about not correcting the problems; dear guest it would be very helpful if during your stay (like any guest) you reported any problems that you may have experienced with your accommodation, in order for us to rectify.
If the reception staff and the management are not advised by yourself about any "difficulty" that you may be experiencing how do you expect us to be able and rectify it? We need to know about it!
As I have previously said, it is easy, hidden behind anonymity to just claim that everything is so bad, you are unhappy with the "service".....is is helpful though for one to remember that blackmailing for a FREE room upgrade "or else we will receive a bad review" is never helpful and adds no value to the critique of a holiday, that will help future visitors to decide about their vacation.
And regarding the "hidden requests about reviews" you seem to misunderstand something dear guest; we strongly encourage reviews from our guests because constructive criticism is a very important tool for us that helps us improve our offered services.
Have a good winter time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Skiathos has a nice blend of relaxing beaches, greta places to eat and a main town with a great buzz. The beach near Kanapitsa which has a great taverna and from where you can get the water taxi into Skiathos Town was great. We were 20mins by water taxi at 3euros each, or 10mins back by car taxi at 10eruos. There were some great places to eat near Kanapitsa like Johnnys (great service and atmosphere) and the Kanapitsa Taverna on the beach (great for lunch and evening meals). In Skiathos Town there are a number of great places but our favourite was Selina's just up the hill via the old steps to the left of where the water taxi dropp you off in the port. This had great views over the harbour/sea.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guests,
I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for choosing our hotel for your summer vacation in Skiathos. It gives us great pleasure to see our guests discovering all that Skiathos has to offer and enjoying it.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon for another relaxing Skiathos vacation at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a lovely hotel and I have to say that we found it to be spotlessly clean. It is a 3 star hotel (not 4 star) and I think if you review it according to 3 star criteria it really is excellent.We had contacted the hotel ahead of our visit with some special room requests which were fully met.

The rooms were fairly basic, but modern and well equipped. The air con (free) and WiFi (free) both worked very well and the inclusion of a fridge (with glasses already chilled) was a great help. We enjoyed a chilled glass of wine (easily purchased from the mini market next door) whilst enjoying the fantastic views. We had a couple of minor niggles (needed more pillows etc) but these were dealt with quickly by the hotel. The beds were very hard (but mattress clean and new) and whilst others have complained about the comfort it did do wonders for my bad back!

The pool area was lovely and the pool of a good size (and clean!). It was lovely to have sun loungers with mattresses (yes you have to put them out yourself - but this is 3 star!) and most particuarly there was always lots available. I hate the stupid routine of getting up earlier and earlier each day to secure a sun lounger, but no need here. People really did only use them when they needed to. The only disappointment for me was that you do hear the traffic on the main road - but thats just a minor niggle (and solved by an ipod!)

Breakfast was fairly basic - but all fresh and tasty - and typical of a Greek breakfast. A bit more variety is all thats needed to improve it (change the fruit, offer a different bread etc).

We chose this hotel as we wanted a relaxing place to stay, and it certainly delivered. It has no restaurant and just a bar by the pool, Neither of these are a problem as there are other excellent restaurants close by - but it did mean that the hotel lacked any real 'atmosphere'. We could tell there were quite a few guests there - but never really saw anyone! However, if you want a peaceful place to stay in a nice location this delivers.Also, if you enjoy peace and quiet I would stick to the local beaches (or head to those on the West coast if you have transport) as we were very disappointed with the beaches further south as not only is most of the beach occupied by sunloungers you also have to put up with booming club music from the beach bars. I think maybe I'm getting too old!

Best day out - Catamaran trip with George - book with him direct in the New Port.

Room Tip: High rooms have great views - as long as you are prepared to make the effort to take lots of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skiathosjsi, Manager at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear guests,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your summer vacation in Skiathos. All of us at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; we try hard to be next to our guests and service any and all their needs to make their vacation a pleasant and relaxing experience.
We hope to have you again with us soon, to enjoy another relaxing Skiathos vacation at Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa

Address: Tzaneria Skiathos | PO Box155, 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 91 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel And Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel Skiathos
Kanapitsa Mare Skiathos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.