We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Apartments
Save
You added Marina Apartments to your Saves list
Aghia Paraskevi, 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Skiathos
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We spent a fantastic relaxing week at the Marina apartments in May this year. The Marina apartments is a lovely, friendly, family run business where the owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. We stayed with our 6 month old baby and we couldn't have asked for more. Yes, I guess there was a little road noise, but that never bothered us at all (and we live in the country over here in England!), and there was the noise from the cockrels and the donkey over the road but that was all just part of the experience!!

The surroundings of the hotel in particular were really well kept. The grass and flower borders were always kept tidy, and there were the lovely roses by the side of the swimming pool.

If you're looking for places to eat there there are loads of options within an easy 5-10 min walking distance. Ask at the bar for recommendations (they'll even phone to make you a reservation) - we tried most of them and they were all faultless, we never had a bad meal.

We were very happy with the location of the apartments, within easy reach of the bus stop so it was easy to go to either end of the island, and there is a great little supermarket next door that is reasonably priced and fab for bread first thing on a morning.

All in all, a fantastic first holiday with our 6mth old, enhanced by the hospitality of the folk at the Marina apartments. Would we go back? Well we do like to try different places but if I was looking for a relaxing week in the sun then I'd certainly be looking to go back to the Marina apartments and I'd definitely recommend it to friends.

Thanks for a great week!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Just spent a great fortnight at the Marina Apartments. The rooms are very clean and spacious and well situated but there is a lot of noise from the main road and from the local cockerels which seem to crow all night (pack some earplugs). Stelios and Marina are both very friendly and helpful. They put on a Greek Night every Sunday and it was entertaining and a laugh and the food was very good. The prices of the drinks are very reasonable, just wish that they had a better choice of meals available from the bar, although the pizzas were very nice. There are lots of tavernas in the area offering good choices of food, try the Avli restaurant situated behind the big supermarket by bus stop 16. The supermarket opposite the apartment sells most products and their prices are good and the staff there are very nice. They have fresh bread every morning at 8.
One word of advice, do not take decent luggage with you as the bags and cases are transported to and from the apartments by a "luggage truck" and your luggage is thrown on and off the truck. My case was brand new and when I collected from the drop off point at the airport it was badly damaged and looked about 10 years old.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We went to Skathos for the first time and loved it the marina hotel was just right for us , a short walk to the resteraunts and we tryed them all> Stelios and Marina were brilliant and nothing was to much for them the appartments were very clean and every one worked very hard. Stelios has a very dry sence of humour and had every one laughing
and although we are not pitza fans Marina's special is to die for.We
didn't want to leave and would love to go back again. we met some smashing people and all the locals were very friendly ,it was like stepping back in time Ann Ebner

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

My partner and I really enjoyed staying at the Marina Apartments, if you are looking for a quiet relaxed holiday with the chance to meet wonderfully friendly people, than this is the place for you. The people running the apartments were friendly, courteous and professional and helped enchance our stay. Just across the road is a lovely supermarket and a bar showing sport. This would be a wonderful place for a family or older couple to enjoy. I wouldn't return which is no slur on the accomodation, rather that I enjoy experiencing a variety of holidays so wouldn't restrict myself to this Island!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

The Marina Apartments are extremely well run & extremely clean. We stayed in room 10, a one bedroomed apartment closest to the main road. There was some road noise however this did not overly bother us. There is a small supermarket straight accross the road which stocks everything you might need at reasonable prices. The apartment was large and by far exceeded our expectations for a 'greek' apartment.
Stellios, Marina & family are very welcoming and will do anything to ensure you have a comfortable, enjoyable stay. When we stayed at the Marina there were a lot of guests who return year on year, and I can understand why.
The resort of Kolios is small and quiet but very nice. There are two lovely beaches nearby, our favourite being the one at Agia Paraveski which has a nice beach bar and watersports. There are lots of restaurants and tavernas within walking distance - we tried Green Park (excellent food, large portions, lovely setting, reasonable prices - our fave!), Infinity Blue (beautiful views, exceptional food, slightly more expensive but worth it), Jimmy's (good traditional greek food & a childrens menu) and one accross the road from Jimmys-not sure of name (also good food). We never had a bad meal.
We only discovered on our next to last day that there are also tavernas and restaurants along some side streets (carry on the road past Infinity Blue and theres a few tavernas and also behind the bar/restaurant & supermarket oposite the Skiathos Princess Hotel - about 5 tavernas/restaurants - these aren't well signposted but are worth a look).
The bus service is good - every 15 mins - but the buses can get very full. It is 1.40 per adult with kids under 12 free. A taxi to Skiathos Town is around 9 or 10 euros. Skiathos Town is well worth a night out. We also got the bus to Koukanaries where we watched the sun set in a regae bar on Ag. Eleni beach - beautiful!!
Overall, anyone who is after a peaceful, relaxing holiday with good food will love the Marina Apartments

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We arrived at the Marina Hotel and was greeted by Stelios who immediately made us feel welcome. We were shown to our room (which was very clean and pleasant) and was invited to the Bar for a drink by Stelios and met his lovely wife Marina. The pool area was very inviting with sunbeds, umbrellas and lovely flowers. Stelios and Marina work hard keeping the whole area tidy and clean. The Greek night was very good with great food and entertainment by two local Greek Dancers. Stelios and his assistant also entertained us with some magic tricks!! Kolios has a good variety of Bars and Taverners, although the walk along the main road could be a little tricky. There is an excellent choice of Beaches with a local bus which stops at most of them along the coast. Skiathos Town is very beautiful with lots of Restaurants, Shops and Bars to choose from. We particulary enjoyed wondering around the back streets to find a small taverna overlooking the sea. We met some guests who have been back year after year and its obvious why!! Stelios is excellent, great fun and a very good host.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Just back from the Marina Apartments in Kolios, Skiathos. I cannot recommend this place high enough. It is well run, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Stellios and Marina the owners are really nice people who do not stop all day and nothing is too much trouble. The nearby beaches in Kolios are lovely with sand and clear warm water (two loungers and umbrella are 8 euros). There are a few good tavernas within easy walking distance, the best of which is probably Infinity Blue only 100 metres away but a little more expensive than others (the great view more than compensates for this). The Marina bar has reasonably priced drinks and snacks but the latter are quite basic. The pool is small but very deep at one end. The apartments are really nice and probably the best I have stayed at in any of the Greel islands - they are large, very well equipped and kept spotless by the excellent staff.
My only reservation would be about taking young children or elderly couples. The pool is very deep (over 8 feet) at one end, there are no ramps but quite a few steps to all areas and the road outside which you need to use to access the beach has no pavement and several bends which means the traffic can pass quite closely (I would think twice about pushing a pushchair along this). The road does pass quite close to the apartments and there is inevitable noise although my partner and I did not find this too disturbing and we were very close to it.
All in all we found Skiathos one of the nicest Greel islands we have stayed on and felt that the Marina apartments were very good value for money and we would struggle to find any worthwhile criticism of them. Many people do seem to come back time and time again and this speaks for itself. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Apartments

Address: Aghia Paraskevi, 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Skiathos
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Marina Apartments Skiathos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.