We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esperides

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Esperides to your Saves list
Hotel Esperides
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Achladies bay | Achladies Bay, 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 91 Hotels in Skiathos
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 11 nights at end of June/beginning of July 2014. Have to say this is a great hotel and kept immaculately clean. Food is good but can be repetitive. Staff helpful and friendly. Maids excellent. Pool is nice. Beach is brilliant and restaurants on beach very good too. The only downside to this hotel is that the rooms are now a bit dated but I wouldn't let that put you off. Water taxi is an added benefit to this hotel. Nothing really for kids here as seems to be an older crowd and lots of people that come back each year. I for one will now be one of those people. Skiathos is absolutely beautiful and not over commercialised. We went for a wedding which was held at the Princess hotel - it is a beautiful venue to get married here if that is what you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    138
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
85
172
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strood, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Rather than add to the very many reviews on here regarding the Hotel Esperides by just singing it's praises, of which there are many, I will try and keep it short and sweet.
Quick transfers from one of the smallest airports we have been to :-) as Island is only 44 km long you are not on the coach for long. Hotel is immaculate. Cool in bar and reception area.
Wonderful staff. Lovely food, I am a veggie and had a huge selection every night and my hubby was very happy with the choice of meats. Fabulous location and the water taxi was a great way to pop to Skiathos Town. We don't agree with the design of the hotel being "dated" it is in the style it was built, just because it hasn't been modernised doesn't mean it is dated, it is, like me, a bit 80's but not too old to hold it's own :-)
We sat one night and tried to be really picky, as we found everything to be just as the positive comments had described, so found it hard but here is what I came up with (not hubby as he didn't think it mattered) There is no where on the balconies to hang any wet swim wear, towels or any smalls you may rinse out so if you look at the hotel from the beach in the evening, there are balconies covered with clothes and towels, it looks a bit messy but there is no alternative so we had to do the same. There is room on each balcony for a wall airer, so I don't know why they haven't fixed some up really. My second minor criticism, it the lack of sun beds around the pool (we don't use the pools at any hotel when there is a beautiful blue sea on the doorstep) but the arguments it caused in the mornings! It surprised me to see ALL the sun beds being "reserved" by Brits at silly O'Clock in the morning with the ubiquitous towels! The beach sun beds are a bit low on numbers too.
I used to go to to the far left of the beach about 9am with my book and had no trouble getting beds but if you left it past 11, there were none to be had. They desperately need more. But these are my only teeny gripes and as none bothered me, I can't complain but if you like to stay by the (deep, no shallow) pool be prepared to get there at 4am :-) and if you want a day reading and swimming by the sea, get to the beds by 9-10am.
I have recommended the is hotel to a few friends who like nothing better than reading and relaxing as this hotel offers an ideal location and ambiance. We did the Mamma Mia trip which was a lovely day out but book with the locals on the front in the Old Town. We went on Posideon and paid 20 euros each for the whole day, TUI charge 32! As previously stated this hotel is for older people who want a quite time but we did see a few children having a traditional bucket and spade holiday and a couple of teenagers on their iPads :-) but as there is nothing around the hotel, they may struggle for longer than a week.
This is our 18 or 19th Greek Island and we were not disappointed. If you want peace and quiet, to read and think or just sit, take a trip here and it will make you smile.

Room Tip: We were in room 124 on the 2 floor and had a lovely view of the sea. The higher you go the better, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Good aspects included the friendly and helpful staff, the choice on offer at the breakfast and evening meal buffets and the general quality of the food, the convenient water taxi which runs regularly from the jetty next to the hotel. Everywhere within the hotel and grounds was very clean; the maids work exceptionally hard.
Aspects which could be improved: the beds were punishingly hard and uncomfortable and the room was very small and basic indeed for a supposedly four star hotel, although the request for extra pillows was dealt with politely and promptly. There was no entertainment aside from a Greek Night. If you wanted any variety you would need to travel into Skiathos town itself. Next to impossible to get any sunbeds by the pool, as has been stated in many other reviews.

A relaxing week, but we would probably not return to this hotel as we like to explore different places and there are still many parts of Greece we'd like to see.

Room Tip: Ask for a good sea view by emailing the hotel before you arrive. We were given a room on the fourth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIRRAL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We return to Skiathos year after year for a fix of 'magic' We visited in May and found all to be lovely. However, we were early in the season all the buses were every hour instead of every 15 minutes or so. Some places werent fully open, so a little bit of atmosphere not there. Also a bit chilly at night. That said......................we still love Skiathos and the Esperides hotel was fab. The staff kind and attentive and the meals superb. I do prefer to eat out in the evening and this stay on half board basis was due to the weather perhaps being a bit too chilly to sit out in restaurants, which it was. May I mentioned a special thanks, once again, to Nikos at the Sports Bar in Archladies. He is the mostly lovely, funny man we have met (well amongst a few really) All Greek!! We would head to Nikos`s Sports Bar each night for a 'fix' of laughter. I will put a special thanks on his trip advisor because he deserves it and tries so hard, however, feel it is natural to him. Be back soon Skiathos. We have just book for Lesbos in September for one week, as feel we must try another Greek vacation and are hooked on Skiathos..........self treatment....yet another venture. Enjoy all. You cannot go wrong with Skiathos and most accommodations I have stayed in. I would keep away from the Club Strip by the airport and any accommodation there. We stayed at Kostas and Mary one year and although a lovely hotel, we kept windows open at night (dont like air con) The discos noise would start at 1am and finish at 5 am. The Club strip starts from approximately June until September and it really is a NO NO, unless you keep your windows closed, then not so much of a problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel was unexpectectly the best experience I had recently. Perfect location, very good prices, a polite and ready to serve, at any time, personel. A chef that made us unable to try all the food selection he was able to provide. I cannot choose what to like most, the salads , the main dish selections, the fruits, sweets, ice creams etc etc. Unbelievable experience. All places in the hotel and especially the rooms were all very clean. Beautiful gardens, large pool, next to the sea bar, all astonishing. I will definitely visit again in the future. Highly recommended for everybody

Room Tip: Middle of the building and at higher floors so as to avoid possible noise from surrounding restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very good location with very good service. The rooms are bit old but very clean. The food is quite good as well. Water taxi service from hotel is brilliant, you have to try it. There is a good bus service going to various beaches a few away from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have just returned home from a 14 day trip to this lovely hotel. Brilliant location, 15 minutes by water taxi at 2.50 euros was well worth it as a method of travel to the main town. Try and stand up at the top at the front if you can, views both day and night are amazing.
The staff at this hotel CANNOT do enough for you, nothing it seems was too much trouble for them, especially all the restaurant staff and Emily who gets a special mention for being an absolute gem all the time.
If you can, try and get a room in the 800's, best by a mile with amazing views of the beach and sea as well as the stupid behaviour by the pool of some of the other guests (will get to that later)
Some people have said that this place is dated, I would say its typically Greek in its appearance, granted it could probably do with updating but I think it might lose some of its character then.


Good points :-
Location
Staff
Beach
Food
Drink prices
Cleanliness
Main service impeccable
800 rooms (as above)

Not so good points:-
Apart from the beach bar, not enough outdoor setting areas.
Pool area, far to small with only 30 sun beds for 180 rooms is just not enough.
Food quality good but nothing a huge choice, didn't worry us that much, as we intended to eat out anyway most nights. However watching people claim a table at 6.30 for a 7.30 eating time was comical, when we did go to eat there, at 8.30 you could always get a table and fresh food was always being brought out.
Other guests, now in order to get a subbed by the pool, you have to queue up at 7.30 for the gate to open at 8 to actually get a sun bed, this was despite it clearly saying on the Thomson notice board that the pool area was open for 7!!! Having a view of the pool, I have to say that grown up really do need to actually grow up. One particular family, were so desperate to get the same 4 beds each day that they just had to first in the queue, clearly sun worshippers but really this was quite embarrassing to watch. I'm sure you know who you are and by the way the Morrison's carrier bag you used as a beach bag was very classy....

In summary, lovely holiday and would definitely consider going back. Skiathos is a lovely island and just seems to get better each time we go.

Room Tip: 800 room range
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Esperides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperides

Address: Achladies bay | Achladies Bay, 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Skiathos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esperides 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Esperides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperides Hotel Skiathos
Hotel Esperides Skiathos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esperides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.