We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esperides

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Esperides to your Saves list
Hotel Esperides
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Achladies bay | Achladies Bay, 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 91 Hotels in Skiathos
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

It was our first trip to Skiathos and first time stayig at the Hotel Esperides. Although initially our luggage was lost, but later retrieved by the hotel staff, our overall experience was brilliant. The hotel was more than we were expecting, it was huge, and spacious, bright and extremely clean. The reception staff were lovely and helpful; the restourant/bar staff were very friendly and warm, expecially Nicos, Costos and Miltos. The houskeeping staff kept our rooms very clean and tidy and were friendly.
The food was wonderful! The were so many delicous choices, with a brilliant kitchen chef.
Skiathos Island truly felt like paradise on earth; we've travelled many places around Europe, however this has given us the best experience with amazing weather, brilliant sea and very relaxing, fun beaches. We hope to come back next year, as the Skiathos Island is truly an outstanding holiday resort.
Thank you again,
Rasa and Arturas/Lithuania

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    138
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
87
172
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is lovely, staff - especially the waiters fantastic, food was lovely with loads of choice sometimes not always hot though, nice pool even managed to bag a sunbed one day! location lovely if you want a chilled out holiday, easy enough to get a bus to the town or the boat taxi (much nicer). Really lovely island, I don't usually visit the same place twice but I would return to Skiathos, go on the boat trip to Skopolos/Alonyssis it's a lovely day out.
TIP: There is a lovely bakery next door to the hotel make sure you visit for the nut/honey cake!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have just come back from staying at the Esperides in Skiathos and at first glance walking down the main drive to the hotel we were very pleased with the look of the place.
The room we were given was situated with a good view of the sea and beach and were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness.

Plus points:
The maid service was quick, efficient and well supplied with towels, shampoo etc.
The staff were helpful and polite.
The location to the beach is superb with nice tavernas for alternative places to eat.

Minus points:
You will probably spend half your euro's on the sun beds. These were advertised as free in the brochure but the annoying man in the blue dungarees will charge you 8€ for a couple of beds for the day. This certainly will mount up over the course of your holiday.
Everywhere will charge you the same amount for meals and drinks as if you were to go out in your own town, but with the state of the Greek economy atm you can't blame them really.
The meals in the hotel were okay, the variation is definitely lacking and there are no free drinks in the evening, half a bottle of wine will cost you 9€. The breakfast too is rather boring, just enough coffee for one cup each and the same 'interesting' choice every day.

Even though the hotel had a nice feel about it, we will not be staying there again, but as for the island its self well that's another thing altogether, it is absolutely fantastic and a return journey is definitely going to happen.

Check out the Portobello in the town centre, such a chilled place for a drink or meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Esperides and thoroughly enjoyed it, a very nice clean hotel in a perfect location. Good quality food, puddings a little repetitive but yummy. All staff very friendly. We found it a little too quiet in the evenings but solved that by catching the excellent water taxi from the beach into Skiathos town. By day we used the local bus to visit some of the other wonderful beaches. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the pool and usually managed to find a sunbed when we wanted one. Just a little warning the Mozzies were very hungry!
If you are looking for a chill out holiday you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a week's stay at the Esperides. We have visited Skiathos on numerous occasions but have never stayed at the Esperides before although we have visited the hotel beach. The hotel is clean and the food was very good with a variety of dishes each evening, also the breakfast was adequate compared with a lot of Greek hotels we have stayed in. I would however agree with previous reviews that this hotel needs updating. Also we were extremely annoyed with the situation regarding the lack of sunbeds around the pool, which subsequently forced you onto the beach, which was lovely but I thought the 4 euros per bed was a bit excessive when you consider the money was collected by the Esperides. I have stayed at numerous hotels before located on a beach but never had to pay extra for a sunbed. If there are two of you staying here for two weeks and you needed sunbeds each day it would cost you a further 112 euros. Surely the hotel could make a concession for their guests, i can understand them charging holidaymakers who are just visiting the beach but not the same price as their own guests. To summarise a pleasant holiday and will definitely return to Skiathos but not to the Esperides

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel was great in terms of the reception and dining areas, the rooms a little old fashioned but extremely clean and comfortable, even if beds a little hard.

The staff were amazing and could not be more helpful especially the restaurant team: sakis, Nikos, anestis, miltos and costas - really attentive, hard working and could not be more helpful. Think they make the hotel what it is. Also Nadia on reception, what a star she is, friendly and helpful and went out of her way to help me find a way to get to Castro by road!

This hotel deserves 5. Stars for attentiveness! The food was also excellent, lots of choice and variety for breakfast and evening meals and very good value for money - cant wait to visit again!!!!

Loved the water taxi service too and choice of beachfront bars next to. Hotel too!

THANKS TO ALL AT THE ESPERIDES FOR MAKING IT A BRILLIANT HOLIDAY!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view which is fab, perhaps double check yours does
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Recently returned from this hotel.What fabulous time ihad,hotel is very clean.the food is hot and varied.location is perfect.i met a lot of lovely people and to top it all the staff are kind and helpful.i will be returning this time next year.The paradise taverna (left on beach) is worth a mention,nice lunch and cold mythos.The bonus for this hotel is the water taxi.If your after a relaxing holiday this is the place to go

Room Tip: higher floor for view of pool and sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Esperides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperides

Address: Achladies bay | Achladies Bay, 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Skiathos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esperides 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Esperides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperides Hotel Skiathos
Hotel Esperides Skiathos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esperides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.