We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly horrendous” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caravos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caravos Hotel to your Saves list
Caravos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Koukounaries, Skiathos, 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 91 Hotels in Skiathos
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Truly horrendous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had the unfortunate experience of staying in this resort for one night (too long) when our flight was delayed. On arrival we entered reception and was greater by a foul smell a mixture of damp, sewage and dead bodies. When we entered our room again the smell was beyond foul and I spent the night feeling sick. The carpet in the room was coming away and the socket for the tv was hanging from the wall. The bathroom was disgusting and god knows what germs were lurking. I ended up with a bed bug/flea bite which grew and grew and resulted in a trip to my gp on my return to England and a blister which lasted two weeks and more likely a scar which will take a long time to fade. I would not allow an animal to stay in this place never mind a human being. Do not under any circumstance stay in this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    5
    7
    16
See reviews for
6
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Everything was amazing. I shell definitlly go there again next year. swimming pool is very clean, and enough big and worm to slim. we were there every day (we did not go at see at all) only one time. Restaurant is very good. i take 2 kilos for ten days, and my housbant 5 kilos. you can eat chinesse food and indian food. everything is very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

it is our fifth time in koukounaries area first time in Caravos hotel .... perfect location, nice simple clean rooms with great view, huge pool,the new look in taverna and Chinese restaurant is not just a trick, both chef's are triple A, just the best food in koukounaries area,cocktails at the Stamelos Bar are amazing. Caravos hotel is the place to relax and enjoy your holidays we will be back soon

Room Tip: don't miss the sea food
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHAMPTON
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Caravos Resort (hotel plus apartments) is a 2euro bus ride about 11 k. down the coast road from Skiathos town to Koukounaries beach. Buses run this route about every twenty minutes in either direction.The walk to the long Koukounaries beach takes 15 minutes along a flat road going westwards from bus stop 23 to 26,or slightly longer walking eastwards, uphill to bus stop 22 then down a long flight of steps. Other beaches like Banana beach and Little Banana beach are the same 15 minute walk plus another 12 minutes or so up and down a steep hill-track. The walk to Mandraki or Elias beaches is easier and takes about 25 minutes starting at the side road immediately to the right of the hotel entrance as you face the road, and is a very pretty forest walk, with no hill-climbing, at least not until you reach the descent to the actual beach.Nudists can go to the south end of Banana beach or to Little Banana beach (sunbeds for hire) or to Mandraki or Elias beaches (sunbeds only for the clothed).Thus the hotel is ideally located for beach access and for cheap transport into town. Close by there are a number of restaurants and bars and a very convenient supermarket.The hotel reception and dining areas are spacious and cool. For breakfast the buffet selection gives a choice of Full English (very good omelettes) or continental (excellent Greek yogurt). The only fault here is that the orange juice is so diluted that it struggles to take away the taste of the coffee. The reception lady was especially welcoming and friendly, and had good English, but was only able to offer mild and reassuring excuses to explain the lack of airconditioning in my room. I hope as the temperature rises through the season that the aircon can be made to work.The only other problem was the influx of mosquitos, which seemed to enter the room through the ventilation grills. They could be chased and killed, but there was always one elusive enough to keep me company through the night. The TV had two (Greek) channels and no remote, which TV fans might find rather annoying. The room had a good balcony and a comfortable bed: fresh sheet/s and towels were provided every day. If you don't mind a very warm room and have plenty of insect repellent, staying at the Caravos would be very enjoyable, especially if you enjoy walking forest trails and a choice of beautiful beaches.

Room Tip: Ask politely whether the air conditioning works or not.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Compulsory leaking Greek shower in the wetroom but who cares, this place is clean, comfortable and friendly with a great taverna. Daily maid service. A bit tired but this is Greece, and you will probably only be in to sleep and shower. Lukewarm breakfast but plenty of it and the chef this year is great. Traditional fayre plus specials and the bbq/buffet is excellent. Bar is also very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopelos, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

ive just left skiathos and caravos hotel and i must say that this holiday wase one of my best
great island green a lot on beach to choose from not too loud beeng the beginning of the season koukounaries area the best spot in the island
caravos hotel in the right spot clean, great buffet , helpful staff ,great bar we sorry we did not try the oriental restaurand it will open next week from what we find out but we will be back for shure
we defenetly recomend this hotel and island to any one try mandraki beach the way to it is just out side from the hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

we wore kind of spooked after reading the review here but we had all ready booked our holiday with Olympic we arrived in caravos mid September last year and to our relief it was more than OK
rooms are basic spacious with tv and most important a bath realy stoked full breakfast buffet helpful staff and very clean rooms you must try the Chinese Indian restaurant and definitely a visit to the bar beautiful pool. we think it was a kill for the money we payed for our holiday
and then the spot in koukounaries area me and my wife just loved it 5 to 15 minutes walk to 5-7 beaches with all different character we recommend banana and mandraki .
over all we had a great holiday we will be back if not next summer for sure the summer after that '
ps.. its e family run hotel look for nikos or george the 2 brothers they usaly are at the reception or at the bar they arrange for us to hire a boat for a day and this was the highlite of our holiday you sud try it skiathos is a beutiful island .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravos Hotel

Address: | Koukounaries, Skiathos, 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Caravos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravos Hotel Skiathos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.