We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Belvedere Hotel to your Saves list
Belvedere Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Achladies | Achladies, 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 91 Hotels in Skiathos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This was our second time to Skiathos and the first time with our children. Everything about the hotel worked for us. The location is perfect for the commute into Skiathos town. 5 mins on the bus and about 20 on the water taxi which was our preferred method. €2.50 children under 10 free. We had a family room (19) which had two separate bedrooms, two bathrooms, plenty of storage, free A/c and a fridge. We did have a short walk up the steps, however this was not a problem. The breakfast has to be the best I've seen by Greek standards, lots of choice and replenished constantly by Stella one of the very attentive hotel staff members. The pool was great, perfect for our two children who spent the whole time in there. The beach is a 5 min walk and has the normal tavernas and sun beds with parasols for hire. 3 supermarkets, 1 bakery and a handful of tavernas are within close proximity if you don't fancy a trip into town. Other families we met during our stay had only compliments for this hotel. The new owners have certainly worked hard to turn this hotel around and when we return to this beautiful island in the future the belvedere will be our first choice of accomadation.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
14
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We normally stay at the esprides but after discovering this hotel we will return.the pool is bigger,rooms similar and great location sea view and right next to bus stop no.10.or water taxi at esprides 5 min walk away.staff very friendly and rooms cleaned every day with fresh towels.breakfast was filling and fresh.would have liked more variety with the hot food but there was plenty of breads meats fruit cereal etc.wouldn't hesitate to recomendxthe hotel to others

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at The Belvedere with our 2 boys aged 14 and 10.
Fantastic pool with swim up bar. The pool was larger than some of the bigger hotels that we saw on the Island.
5 minute walk to the nearest beach but you will want to explore other beaches on Skiathos. The bus stop is directly outside the hotel.
Never a problem getting a sun lounger even though the hotel was full.
Lovely staff and owners.
Room kept spotless. Towels were changed daily.
Great breakfast buffet, the food was constantly replenished unlike some other Greek hotels we have stayed at.
A great hotel. We shall return.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

First year this has been on offer through Thomas Cook,so was a little unsure as they had no customer ratings, and some of the online reviews weren't that great a few years ago. Hadn't needed to worry, it's a beautiful hotel with really clean entrance and surrounding areas. Our little Bungalow was just perfect. A double bed one side and a sliding door that opens out to create a large room with two single beds. You have privacy if you want it and also the security of having your children within the same unit. A large balcony runs all the way along the front of the property to give you lots of room. The views are amazing right across the bay, you can watch the passing boats and yatchs. The bathroom is very large with a door either end so at night it's easy to enter with out waking anyone. The rooms are cleaned daily with clean towels and bedding. With this much attention how could you go wrong. Lucky our bungalow was on the first level and the walk wasn't to bad, if your up higher I can see how this may be a bit steep as they are set on a hill side, but you each have a parking area, so if you hire a car you could easily drive down and leave the car to the front of the hotel, which friends did that came with us as there's was a bit further along than ours. All the staff work really hard to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast is buffet style with one or two hot things daily, all looked very fresh but this wasn't to our taste so only went in a couple of times. You have 3 super markets and patisseries who sell amazing pastries just across the road. If you don't want to hire a car there is a bus stop right outside the door. But you can also take the water taxi down at the beach front. As for the pictures of the pool looking green, it is 2.25M at the deeper side so that affects the colour, never dirty or unclean you could always smell chlorine. The bar that wraps around the other side of the pool is great they have all the spirits and various beers and draught Berlin, I really liked the blue island bottled beer with a lemon wedge poked in. The have a small snack menu which is enough to choose from in the day, but they don't do chips they all come with some crisps, which is much better and not to filling as there's great restaurants in the area for later. Would recommend very highly, and would not hesitate to go back.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

As the other reviews state, this is a lovely hotel with spacious rooms that are maintained very well and cleaned every day. The air conditioning unit was awesome and kept us comfortable which, considering the temperatures of 35-38 degrees, was very much needed! The staff were very friendly and helpful and their English was very good so there were no problems with communication. I can definitely recommend the hotel although I would offer some words of advice and caution. Firstly, if you're a bit of a tea-pot then take your own tea bags because the greek ones are awful and the coffee no better! Also, you might want to consider taking a travel kettle with you because the hotel doesn't provide tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The continental breakfast wasn't particularly great, we were there for 2 weeks and the content didn't change at all. Juice was squash and not fresh, I think the milk was UHT, the cereals not overly tasty, sponge cakes rather than pastries, and a continual supply of omlettes and little hot dogs; there was also cheese and a variety of meats but it was not of a particularly high quality. That said, the fresh fruit was lovely and provided some salvation at breakfast time. If you've got a lot of hair and require a decent hair dryer then maybe consider taking your own, the hotel dryer was located in the bathroom which was ok and did the job for me but if you've got a lot of hair or require a dryer with a bit more ooomp then take your own.
The pool at the hotel was excellent and was one of the better pools that I saw on the island. The pool bar was also well stocked although I only used it once, having to pay 3 euros for a can of coke put me off buying anymore from them!
The hotel location is also excellent, a quick 5 minute walk and you're on a lovely beach that never seemed packed so beach days were very nice. It's also very close to some excellent tavernas and restaurants, I can particularly recommend the Rose Garden (80m away) and the Porta Rosa (50m away) and the Paradise taverna (around 150m away) was great for some reasonably priced lunches. There is a supermarket immediately in front of the hotel which was ok but a bit expensive, if you do need to buy anything, it's worth going into town and using the main supermarket there (it's billed as the largest supermarket on the island, but it's not that large by London standards!).
The hotel is on the main road that runs along the southern coast of Skiathos and bus stop 10 is right outside. Don't let this put you off, the double glazed door keeps all unwanted noise out so you're sleep won't be disturbed.
One last niggle and you might not think this important but it states that it has satellite tv but the only channel we could get was BBC World Service (major depressing news content) and one other channel that had american shows with greek sub titles. Now you might not think you're going to watch tv but sometimes it would have been nice to watch a bit of television before bed or whilst waiting to go out. The picture quality was absolutely atrocious so we couldn't watch even those two channels for very long. If you think you might want to watch a film or anything whilst you're there, take a tablet or laptop and use your Sky Go or something similar.
All in all, a lovely hotel in a great location, apart from the breakfast, I really couldn't find fault with it but don't forget to take your travel kettle!

Room Tip: All rooms come with a sea view, absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We've just come back from a week at the Belvedere and we can only repeat what other reviewers have already said. It was our third time that we stayed there and the hotel was excellent. The wonderful family run hotel, the two brothers (Giannis&Giorgos) and all their staff make you feel welcome at all times. A huge amount of attention and effort has been made to ensure guests are relaxed and feel cared for. The room was cleaned beautifully every day, clean towels and bedding, and always smelled so lovely . Also the rooms are air conditioned and have superb beds. The view is stunning and the Pool is fantastic. We had renovated rooms overlooking Achladies beach (to the side of the hotel) and just loved every second of our stay. We booked Bed & Breakfast at the hotel and there was something for everyone from cooked breakfast, cereals, greek yogurt, fruits e.t.c. In addition the hotel is in the centre of the island and you need only 10 minutes to go in all places in the island (town, port, beaches). We’ ll definitely visit Belvedere again!!! 

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have just returned from our 35th yes 35th trip to Skiathos. I now feel I have been thoroughly spoilt by staying at this Hotel. Spotless large rooms with a shower that I have never seen before in Skiathos! Excellent. The room was cleaned every day and clean towels every day, which we have never had before. Air conditioning and safe were free, again we have never had free before. Breakfast was good, even though by the end of two weeks we were going abit stir crazy with it. There were 15 people in our party, four generations, and we all agree this was the best place we have ever stayed in Skiathos

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203 which had an excellent sea view and large balcony. Even though it faces the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Address: Achladies | Achladies, 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Skiathos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvedere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we would like to inform every one that the hotel has changed managment and owner.and now we are doing best for your pleasnt stay and make your vacations beautifull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Skiathos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.