We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Troulos Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Troulos Bay Hotel
Troulos Bay, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 90 hotels in Skiathos
North
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fantastic position right on the beach. Staff brilliant, rooms small but adequate, very clean. Beautiful sea view. The food was very good on an evening, breakfast basic but again adequate, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    37
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
79
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Troulos Bay hotel is situated in an ideal location if you are looking for a relaxing holiday, the beach is right in front of the hotel. We went for 7 night during high season (last week July 2013) and found that it was not busy compared to other locations around skiathos.
The hotel is immaculate and is decorated to a high standard. The staff were very helpful , friendly and professional. we found that the food was great in the restaurant and pool bar area.The hotel pool was clean and the surroundings inc the garden area was well maintained to a high standard. The views from the hotel were brilliant.

Room Tip: upper floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed two weeks at this hotel and had a great time.

Why the high score?
- Great location right next to a beautiful beach
- Restaurant with good food at reasonable prices at the hotel.
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Very clean and nice hotel.
- No noise from traffic at night.
- Wonderful view from our room.

Why not a perfect score?
- The breakfast was a little bit disappointing. We missed dark healthy bread. They only serve white bread. After a week, we went to the local super marked and bought some dark bread there. Fresh jam, some berries for the cereals would also be nice. The scramble eggs and sausages were also a little bit disappointing.
- The A/C was a bit noisy which was a problem during our first few nights until we got used to it.
- If your room is close to the kitchen, you may experience some noise until midnight and in the early morning. Our room at 207 was right next to the kitchen. I think room 205 - 207 is most affected by this.

But all in all, I think we chose the perfect hotel at Skiathos. Can't wait to go there again.

Room Tip: Noise from the kitchen can be heard until midnight and form 7am at room 205 - 207.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Hotel very clean, rooms cleaned every day and spotless, good sized bathrooms though the towels are hard but hey you can dry and exfoliate. management and staff all very helpful and friendly. position of the hotel is perfect situated on the beach which is very clean and sea crystal clear. Lunchtime and evening meals offer a good selection of typical Greek food with good sized portions and good quality. Only negative side to our stay was the very poor breakfast. The sausages, sliced meats were of poor quality ( I work in the meat industry, I know ). bacon was very good though. watered down orange juice and dinky doughy croissants added to the poor show. Other breakfast options were sliced bread, yogurt and honey and cereal. Just a bit more to the breakfast budget would make a huge improvement. Overall had a super time and enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in 308, family room for 4 and had a good breeze from the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to this Hotel and the Island of Skiathos and what a brilliant hotel it is. We went with another family who had been to this hotel twice before and on their recommendation. What a brilliant two weeks we had - did not want to come back. The hotel is a gem - spotlessly clean - to the very highest standard. ALL the staff were very helpful and attentive. The food is brilliant - we ate in quite a few of the local tavernas and all agreed that the food was as good in the hotel as any of them. One night we went to Skiathos town for cocktails - the cocktails in Skiathos town were no where near as good as the hotel cocktails - definitely recommend them especially the Brandy Alexander.
In reply to the previous review -
Breakfasts were adequate for this type of hotel - I have had breakfasts in 5 star hotels which were no better.
My husband or myself were on the beach at 7.30am most mornings - I didn't see any towels down there then so I am not quite sure where the last reviewer got that towels were being put down at 6.00am from!!
My children loved the fact that the pool and beach were so close together.
This hotel is definitely a hidden gem - I hope it remains this way. We spoke to lots of people staying at the hotel - lots were saying it was their 5th, 7th and 10th time of staying there - if this is not proof of what a brilliant hotel it is nothing is.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you are +50 or 30-45 with young children and you want a remote sit on beach and go nowhere holiday, then this place would work.
If, however like us, you are between 30 and 40 and like to experience good local cuisine and are not prepared to put up with:
- appalling breakfasts (worst we have ever experienced - we've been to Greece 10 times)
- rude male reception staff
- restaurant staff that don't make eye contact
- cold evening meals
- poor transport (June - Aug 5:30pm - 8:30pm bus transport is impossible)
- taxi's that wont stop and charge 15-20 euro each way if they do
- beach staff that take back-hand payments to put towels on sun beds at 6am
- Thompson reps that mis-represent trips and blatantly lie to you about transport etc...
Then this is definitely not the place for you.
Would we go back to Skiathos - absolutely! With Thomon - no way.
Would we go back to Troulos Bay - Absolutely - Stay at Hotel Troulos Bay - no - shame, because the location is awesome!
Top Tip - eat at Salt ad Pepper in Troulos (best in Greece!!!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Troulos Bay Hotel early July 2013.Location is ideal straight onto the beach.We stayed in a ground floor room,from the terrace the pool was 20 metres in front of us,with the beach just beyond that another 30 metres away.The rooms were spotless,cleaned thoroughly everyday with one of the best shower rooms we have encountered in Greece.Just up the road is the main road on the island and bus stop number 20 very handy to travel to Town,there are many Tavernas within walking distance and all we tried were more than adequate.The restaurant in the hotel was OK at lunchtime and in the evenings but the breakfast they served was one of the worst we have encountered in Greece,choice was abysmal when so much wonderful food is available in Greece,the only redeeming factor is that you were sat facing the sea eating the meagre rations.The only other downside is the availability of sunbeds by the pool,if you did not book them very early ie 6am you were lucky later on to get one,why are more not provided? there is plenty of grass areas near the pool for this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Troulos Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troulos Bay Hotel

Address: Troulos Bay, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Troulos Bay Skiathos
Hotel Troulos Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troulos Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Troulos Bay Hotel to your Saves list