We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MORE OF A DUNGEON THAN A PALACE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Skiathos Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Skiathos Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Skiathos Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koukounaries Bay, 37002, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 91 Hotels in Skiathos
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“MORE OF A DUNGEON THAN A PALACE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

I would not go back to this hotel.
Don't be fooled by the enhanced expert photos of the superior rooms, you could end up with being allocated the classic room like we were. Totally misled by Olympic Holidays!
The breakfast room is like an old 60/70's school assembly room with breakfast products suited to a 2 star property. The corridors are like the pathway to a dungeon, the staff on reception couldn't care less, neither could Olympic. Watch out for the Brit who works for the hotel...he oozes confidence but is a complete waste of space not interested in you if you are upset with the hotel or room..However if you have been lucky enough to have been given a superior room he is all over you like a cheap coat.
Hotel is far away from the beach, with a climb to and from the hotel geared more towards a experienced mountain climber.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    66
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
45
118
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I thought I had written a review back in 2012 when I was there but it seems I haven't. Well this place was pretty awful, i think only because we felt completely duped by the package company into believing we would have a nice room which we didn't. It was very grotty and nowhere near the quality one should expect of a 4 Star hotel. Be very careful if you get sent here by a package company.

Room Tip: Don't, whatever you do, get given a 'Classic Room' ask to see photos before you book to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Away from the center but the bus stop is outside the entrance of the hotel. Very nice view. Walking distance from the best beaches of the island. Delicious food, very clean rooms (prefer the rennovated part of the hotel). Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rennovated part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

We have been there last summer. The hotel is situated on a hill offering amazing views. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was very helpful at all times. There were plenty of tasteful choices for breakfast. When we talk about beach holidays -believe me- this IS the place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiathos, Greece
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Hi Guys,
This is Tom here (Customer Relations/Concierge) Just to let you know after 5 great years in Skiathos we are heading back to the UK, so you will not be seeing me at the Palace, what I would say regarding the hotel is the staff here are fantastic so give them a chance, the Greek way is a bit different to what we are used to (and this is why we love Greece isn't it?) but the guys here will go out of there way to help you, just speak to them like you would be like to be spoken to! If you have a problem be calm and explain the situation they do not respond well to abuse and why should they, you will have a great time here, just relax and enjoy it and remember you are not in the UK, I would also say do some research before you book a room, the hotel caters for all price ranges from a simple "Classic" room to an Executive suite, IMHO if you can afford it go for a Superior room, these face Koukounaries Bay and are a great room.

So enjoy your holidays, do your research and remember we can not get those fantastic views without getting up a height so if you cant do steps please choose elsewhere (although there is a minibus service) there is no lift as the hotel was built in 1970 and disabled access etc was not a priority then, so any walking difficulties again choose somewhere else but if you want a relaxing freindly hotel with fantastic views, great staff and access to 66 beaches then this is the place. Can I just thank all the guests I have met over the last 5 years it has been a great experience and who knows we will be back on holiday and the Palace will be top of the list.

Room Tip: Do your research and if you can go for a Superior Room, well worth it with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Wonderful hotel, just amaing!!! The renovated rooms are better than suites!!! Very nice hotel with private beach, near koukounaries beach which is the most famous at Skiathos. The breakfast is English style and the food is excellent as well.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Had a really pleasurable stay for 2 weeks in September.
Positives included:
Friendly staff especially Tom who provided a great service and resolved any problems
Very clean rooms and general appearance of hotel
Very nice pool although didn't use it
Great private beach across the road

Issues:
Beds were very uncomfortable although later told we could have requested mattress topper- all Greek beds are hard by nature of preference
There are several steps to the hotel. Our relatively fit mum (60 years old) struggled at times
Avoid the restaraunt on the roof. It was very poor for the price

I would stop there again without doubt.

Thanks again to Tom for being so welcoming!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Skiathos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiathos Palace Hotel

Address: Koukounaries Bay, 37002, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 91 Hotels in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skiathos Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Skiathos Palace Hotel is built on a hillside, overlooking “Maratha” beach and one of the most widely known beaches in Europe, the famous “Koukounaries” beach (both beached are awarded with the “Blue Flag”). Situated only 10kms from Skiathos Town and set in a pine forest at the north-west corner of the island, the hotel's pool and restaurant areas are offering views so spectacular that they will take your breath away!The hotel has 249 rooms and 9 suites, all with air-condition, private bathroom, satellite TV, telephone, 3-channel music, mini-bar and balcony. Skiathos Palace Hotel offers many facilities such as 24-hours reception, safe deposit boxes, currency exchange, swimming pool, tennis court, indoor-lounge bar, poolside snack-bar, room service, mini market, car/motorbike rental office, Wi-Fi access, children's playground, baby sitting, laundry service & parking.At the beautiful beach of Koukounaries under the hotel, all water sports are available. The hotel offers indoors and outdoors dining. The main restaurant serves American breakfast and the best of European and Greek cuisine. At the roof top grill restaurant “The White View” you can enjoy the magnificent panoramic view and taste the famous greek “taverna style”, with delicious barbecue, other local dishes and exceptional sea food. For relaxation and sunbathing, guests may choose between the large outdoor fresh-water pool and the famous “Koukounaries” beach or the peaceful “Maratha” beach, which is organized by the hotel.The hotel's conference and banqueting facilities are ideal for those who want to combine fun and relaxation of a resort with creative, organized conferences. The five conference rooms are located on the premises of the Skiathos Palace Hotel and can be equipped with all technical requirements. The hotel is constantly renewing its services and it was awarded the international certificates ISO 9001:2008 (hotel services), ISO 14001:2004 (System of Environmental Management), ISO 22000:2005 (System of Food Safety Management) and the eco-labels “Green Key” and “Travelife”. You are invited to enjoy the exceptional standards of hospitality and service for which Skiathos Palace Hotel is noted: Management and team of highly trained professionals will be delighted to satisfy your every wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Skiathos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skiathos Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.