We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skiathos Garden Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Skiathos Garden Cottages to your Saves list
Skiathos Garden Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   Megali Ammos, 37002, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just returned from skiathos garden cottages. What an amazing accommodation. The views are fantastic The cottages are cleaned daily the pool area is great. The hospitality is the best I've known. They do several trips into and out of town and the times are perfect. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed at pop cottage which was perfect for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Now sitting on our balcony enjoying the beautiful views across skiathos town. Our third day here and wish we had booked for 2 weeks! Lovely cottages with everything you need and Apostolis is always around for anything you might like. As he says, he just wants to make sure you have a great time! About a mile and a half from the town up in the hills. You do t necessary need a car as Apostolis gives lifts into town morning noon and night but we are going to get one for a couple of days to explore more of the island. Beautiful pool just down from the cottages, need good calf muscles!! Realise how unfit I am just to walk up the steep incline!,for the last couple of days it has been like having our own private pool as no one else there! At the pool is an honesty bar, a nice touch with all sorts of drinks and tea and coffee. Just remember what you had and settle up at the end of the holiday! Will definitely want to come again! Now, back to my views......

Room Tip: All lovely cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Skiathos Garden Cottages undoubtedly made our stay in Greece amazing. We stayed in Tulip Cottage which was beautifully decorated and had the most amazing view over the town. The service we received from Apostolis and the staff at Skiathos Garden Cottages was second to none - thank you for the lifts to and from town! The lifts to and from the airport made arrival and departure so convenient, so thank you again for that.The infinity pool deserves a mention, spotlessly clean with amazing views over Skiathos. Speaking of clean - our apartment was cleaned immaculately daily with fresh towels left frequently (every other day I think).

The hill up to the apartments is fairly steep but we usually walked up and down it once a day on the way to the bus stop or the town. The bus service was great, the easiest way to visit the beaches if you are not wanting to go off the beaten track.

Restaurant recommendations should be taken from Apostolis - the restaurants we ate at on his recommendation were absolutely beautiful.

We travelled late September and so the town was quietening down at the end of season, after a couple of cloudy starts and a pretty heavy rain shower the weather for the rest of our 10 days was hot and clear. Evenings were a bit chilly however so cardigans/jackets are recommended.

Overall a totally fantastic trip - highly recommend Skiathos Garden Cottages!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A big thank you to Apostolis and Litsa for such wonderful hospitality, for making us feel welcome and for doing everything to make our stay so comfortable.

Your Cottages are absolutely lovely, with quirky finishing touches and modern designs.

We stayed in Tulip cottage which was so pretty, with views to die for of the town and the sea. It was enjoyable watching the planes come in, and the ferries sailing out. Having a proper stone BBQ outside was a great idea, we got some delicious meats (chicken, pork chops and kebabs) really cheap too, from the butchers.

It was so peaceful up in the hills, with just the goats bells tinkling in the distance. Although the barking dogs in the night were a bit of a pain.

Litsa very kindly placed a very padded mattress topper on our bed, when we found the bed too hard. Nothing was too much trouble. She even lent us her wifi dongle for our laptop!!!!

The pool was beautiful with breath taking view whilst floating with a beer! On most occasions we had the terrace to ourselves, or just one other couple. There was a honesty bar, and if you didn't want to buy the drinks, you could also take your own down the fridge freezer.

Although Apostolis offered lifts twice a day to and from town ( which is an excellent service) I still would recommend hiring a car or jeep, as the cottages are way up the hill. Ok for walking down to town, but forget walking back!!! Getting a moped is not advisable as the hill from the gateway/pool to the cottages is so very steep.

The best beaches were Kanapitsa, Vromolimos and Eleni. We found Koukinaries too large and commercial. However, all the beaches in Skiathos are beautiful

We enjoyed Lynaris restaurant the most, we went there several times - complimentary garlic bread, shot of Pernod and dessert and the excellent tasty food. Porto Rosso and Windmill are also recommended. Avoid Dinos!!!!

We recommend catching the ferry, taking your car, to Skopolos. We toured around the island,taking in the Mamma Mia sights.

If we were to return to Skiathos then Skiathos Garden Cottages would definitely be our only choice

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just returned from another stay in Jasmine and Bluebell cottages. We can never get tired of the view. Litsa and Apostolis were once again perfect hosts. The " taxi" service to and from town each evening was greatly appreciated as was the airport shuttle service. A nice touch is the "honesty" bar by the infinity pool which meant there was always a cold beer when you needed one,( which was quite often!) . Car hire was arranged for us at competitive rates and it was delivered to our door which was really helpful. Can't wait until the next time!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wow what a setting , what fantastic hosts, beautiful maintained cottages, better than we could have imagined. Best holiday we have had in years. Thank you Apostolis for taking us to the supermarket and regular taxi services to and from town and for always having a smile on your face.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Skiathos Garden cottages is an idyllic spot for a relaxing family holiday. We had our 2 year old with us and the hosts gladly provided a proper cot and mosquito net (not a travel cot)! The cottage was well furnished and provided all self catering amenities required. The BBQ area was well used a few times during our stay and the views overlooking the harbour were fantastic. You can also watch planes arriving onto the island which was a real treat for our son. Lifts into town in the evenings were helpful. Even though we had our own car we appreciated this as the cottages are on a hill on a dark gravel road which would be a bit of a challenge to navigate at night in a normal car, not a 4x4. Infinity pool was lovely but a bit cold in June. Would recommend for families, couples and friends.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skiathos Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiathos Garden Cottages

Address: Megali Ammos, 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 167 Specialty Lodging in Skiathos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skiathos Garden Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Skiathos Garden Cottages. At a glance, receive the warmest welcome and experience the Greek Island hospitality in Skiathos Garden Cottages, a complex of four detached, autonomous buildings amphitheatrically situated on a ever-green hillside above the beautiful sandy beach of Megali Ammos.Lily, Tulip, Rose, Jasmine, Bluebell cottage and Pop compact cottage, our new, luxurious, individually designed suites and rooms, offer the most spectacular panoramic sea-view and meet the needs of the most demanding guests who wish to spend their vacations in comfort, enjoy moments of privacy and relaxation and pay attention to detail.Within a distance of 1, 2km away from the beach Megali Ammos and of 1, 5km away from the center of Skiathos town, Skiathos Garden Cottages is the ideal choice for those who wish to enjoy peace and quite of Greek nature in the outskirts and also be close to restaurants, shopping venues and the nightlife in Skiathos town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Skiathos Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skiathos Garden Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.