We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't even get in but they took our money anyway!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dimitra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dimitra to your Saves list
Hotel Dimitra
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dimitra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poros Port, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Poros
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We couldn't even get in but they took our money anyway!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I made a booking for this hotel for one night (2 adults, 2 kids). We arrived on Poros at around 7pm and went to the hotel. No-one there except a concierge(?) who spoke no English; in sign language she told us we had to go to the "hotel office" to get a room number. After wandering the nearby streets we found a friendly Greek who told us where the office was, a few hundred metres away. We walked there; it was closed; no information either at hotel or office on how to get a room number. We tried the advertised phone numbers; not in use or no answer. We were forced to find another room for the night and left early the next morning for Athens. Now the hotel has charged us a no-show fee. I am furious.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

When we first reach at the hotel, it seemed a good trade value for money. The room was very small but the price we paid was good, we thought it's a small but clean room. The problems appeared in the evening when we sat on the bed and we saw some small bugs. We saw one, we saw 2, and we saw many. In the morning we woke up with bites and all our bodies were itching.

We wanted to have a shower but the shower area was very small and the curtain not clean.

We'll definitely not go there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We were hi-jacked/kidnapped straight off the Seacat by the little old lady who owns Hotel Dimitra. She took us to the building by car and when we saw the room, we weren't that impressed but as we had only just arrived on Poros and it was for only one night, it seemed OK. However, the view from the small balcony was obscured by outside blinds which were permanently drawn, the mini kitchen was very poorly equipped (no kettle and filthy cups/glasses/plates) and the tiny bathroom, particularly the shower area, close to squalid. No way did either of us want the shower curtain anywhere near us! In addition, having been assured how quiet the area was, we were awoken just after 3.00 a.m. by motorcycles revving up outside, followed by the sound of someone being very sick and then a noisy, family row (the old lady and her family lived upstairs) which carried on for around half an hour. The only positive thing I can think of to say is that the bedding was clean. Avoid Hotel Dimitra and old ladies in black who promise you "very good room, very cheap room" like the plague!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

My first time in Poros was way back in 1975. In those days I used to sleep on a flat grassy area (big enough for two) by a rock, down a slope just after the Petros taverna at Neorion (it was run by his brother then ~ it's where we had breakfast & washed!)
Ah .... the wonderful times we had under the beautiful stars ... "Ena Para Me" & Tina Charles "I Love to Love" drifting across the bay from a taverna juke box.
Anyway ~ I have been back to Poros about 12 times since then ~ it has changed little, apart from more (tasteful) buildings in Neo Poro / Canali. I've have stayed at the Dimitra for the last 4 times. Their office was right smack-bang infront of where the boats came in, lucky eh? This year they have moved their office further along & are now responsible for other accommodation too. Zoe is really nice & friendly, as is Dimitra herself.
The Dimitra is in a fantastic location ~ slightly away from the busy tavernas (which, I guess, might be noisy in the evening or night.). It's up a couple of slopes (or steps if you wish) and very quiet.
It looks like Poros is building a new "harbour" for passenger ferries further along the front. It's about time ~ the car congestion around the front tavernas when the ferries come in has been a problem for years. The new harbour will be visible from the Hotel.
The Dimitra is clean, quiet, comfortable & very friendly. I would deffo go back there again or recommend it to friends.
The best rooms I have had have been the ones with a town & sea-view ~ with unbeatable unsurpassed views. Room 9 is great ~ larger than others ~ & apart from a dim light in the bathroom (I'm sure you'll do something about that), it was great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at the Dimitra for 4 nights in August 2008 arrived on Poros on a Sunday at 9am having got the 1st flying Dolphin from Pireaus. After a wonderful breakfast at the Asteria (where else!) we were allowed to drop our cases at the hotel and use a small bathroom and shower there before heading off to Nerion beach and Manos' pool bar for the day. When we returned our luggage had been put in our room which was a double room (room 10) at the very top of the building, lots of stairs, in fact it was the only room on the top floor.

The Dimitra is situated about a 10 minute walk up cobbled streets from the main port and about a 15 minute walk to the nearest beach (Askeli).

The room itself was adequate, (see pics) a double bed tucked into a small space in the corner, a small sofa & wardrobe. A small kitchenette with a fridge and limited utensils, cooking equipment (no Kettle) a tiny bathroom with an OK shower. Small but exactly what we were after.

I would not describe this as a hotel but more like a serviced apartment block. We paid 55 Euros a night for this double room in peak season when other "hotels" wanted upwards of 100 Euros. Yes the facilities are a bit spartan and basic but there were clean towels and the bed was clean, comfortable and made every day and the room was clean. The Air con worked brilliantly but as it was above the bed took a bit of working out to get it right during the night. Brrrrrr.

As room 10 was right at the top we had the benefit of the amazing roof terrace just outside our door and whilst I guess this was open to all, it felt like ours! The views from there are fab and we watched the sun set each night before heading out for dinner.

We are regular Poros visitors and again hit all our favourite haunts such as Manos' pool bar which is independently owned and situated behind the Pavlou Hotel in Nerion bay. Although the beaches are lovely here, we prefer the pool. The Garden Taverna, Poisiden, and the Panorama Taverna at Askeli Beach.

No where is more than a 15 min taxi ride on this island and Taxis seen to cost about 3-5 Euros where ever you go. Poros is beautiful and despite the fact that the big tour boats stop here each day and hundreds get off each time, it has not become over commercialised or very English.

All in all The Dimitra was an excellent base for us and we would definitely stay there again.

Booked via www.greeka.com Where we also booked the Dolphin in advance and saved about 20 euros!

  • Liked — The view, the location and the value for money
  • Disliked — The stairs back to the room after a hard day at the pool.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Dimitra in the middle of July. The weather was quite hot, but the air conditioning in the room worked beautifully and was quite a respite from the unrelentless heat and sun.

The rooms were nice, comfortable, clean and basic. There was a queen? sized bed, a small writing desk, tv on the wall (not the best reception but adequate) , wardrobe, and a small bathroom. There was also a small balcony with table and two chairs. We stayed in a room on the second floor the first two nights and then we needed to transfer to a room on the ground floor. (The room we had, was already reserved by someone else.) The second room was larger--two twins pushed together, a sofa and small kitchen. Had a few cups and plates, but that was about all. Still small bathroom. No table and chairs on the balcony, but the door did open to views of the sea.

It was the people that made the hotel. Ms. Zoe and Ms. Nikki at the travel agency (Mrs. Zoe is the daughter in law of th owner of the Dimitra hotel--Mrs. Dimitra) and Mrs. Dimitra and especially Ms. Sonda at the hotel itself. Upon arrival, Ms. Sonda insisted on helping with our luggage and then brought us (delicious!) iced coffee. That night up on the roof garden (tables and chairs set up), Ms. Sonda also brought us tea (all complimentary). The next day, we had need of clothes being washed. Ms. Sonda washed, dried, pressed, and folded our wash (1 load) for 10 Euros. When we changed rooms, Ms. Sonda moved our luggage to our new room for us so that we could go on a sightseeing tour . And upon leaving, she tried very hard to take our luggage to the main street for us! ( The hotel is up from the main street, I think the third level up. Walk was tiring with luggage!! ) We definitely got the impression that if we needed something, anything, they would go above and beyond to try to accommodate us!

Unless there was a need for additional bedding, the smaller room is very nice and perfectly adequate.

We would most assuredly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

a few days before I was due to arrive at Dimitra hotel in Poros Island, I received an email saying there were problems with electricity and plumbing and that we had been transferred to MammaMariaInn nearby. This place turned out to be inferior to Dimitra, and Dimitra is official class E. We asked to see the room we should have had, but Zoe the owner refused, we would like to make a comparison, as she she said MammaMariaInn was similar in quality. When discussing this with Zoe the owner, 2 persons popped their heads out from 'our' room, so I guess it was overbooked. Anyway, it did not look to good either, so I would not recommend it anyway. There are only 3 rooms that fit the webpage description, the room we were supposed to have, city wiev, had a wiev of a concrete wall.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dimitra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dimitra

Address: Poros Port, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Poros
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Poros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dimitra 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Dimitra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimitra Hotel Poros

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dimitra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.