We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel and Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelica Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Angelica Hotel to your Saves list
Angelica Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Andrea Mialouli 43, 18040, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Hydra
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exceptional Hotel and Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with my husband in June 2013 and had a very good overall impression and experience. The hotel was simply lovely and the owner/manager made it so much better.
We stayed at the Armonia room which was actually a suite and was located on the second floor of the building that was located across the reception and the main building. The room had a sowewhat more classic atmosphere but had exquisite furniture and a lovely balcony where we sat at night and watched people pass by. The room was very spatious, clean and the bed was very comfortable as I have some back issues.
Breakfast was served at the teracce located at the main building and was pretty ok. Although it was a small kitchenette type buffet they served all types of coffee and had a good selection of breakfast items given the fact that the hotel is boutique(mainly cold cuts, eggs, cheese pies, sweet breads, deserts etc).
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Hydra. It is in perfect harmony with the atmosphere of the island, the owner is expectionally professional and polite and I would definetely stay here again despite the fact that it is somewhat pricy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
48
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Splendid little boutique hotel, a truly dreamy old restored two villas in old Hydra.
Lovely details such as bathrobes, slippers, Korres products, wifi and breakfast. All of these make Angelica Hotel a truly gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A real historic villa, a real boutique hotel. Just 5 min. walking from the port (no steps), we arrived in this beautiful hotel. Our room was just as described in internet and the pictures were accurate. Very elegant and stylish furniture, jacuzzi facilities in the stylish bathroom, Korres products, slipers, bathrobe etc. We had a VIP room with a nice balcony facing the real cute street. There are no cars or motorcycles in the island, so even the room was facing the street there was no noise. Hydra is a quiet island mostly for couples. The owners were both very kind and helpful. Always happy to give us information about restaurants, romantic walking, beaches etc. Breakfast was very good in a nice patio. Our staying was like we were guests of a relative living in a historic house of his grandparents. Beautiful, elegant, relaxing!

Room Tip: Rooms have ancient gods names. When you reserve a room, ask which one is yours and you can see pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I liked everything about the hotel. Quite charming, Stelious and his brother are wonderfully attentive to all your needs. I stayed in Hydra and Hotel Angelica for 5 days and fell in love with the place, the pace and the people.

I would highly recommend. Only one small caution. You must walk up a hill (cobblestone street) so if you have trouble with mobility you might want to reconsider although you can get a donkey ride if you struggle with walking. There is also almost no view of the water, so if that is a big requirement of yours you might look elsewhere. It usually is one of mine, but felt the entire atmosphere of the hotel made up for it!!

Will stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent an idyllic 6 days in Hydra and were very well accommodated at Angelica. It is a boutique style hotel about 150 yards from the harbour up a fairly gently sloping, cobbled road. Our rooms were both of a good size, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was included and enjoyed in the shaded courtyard. Hydra is not a cheap island and the rate for this hotel perhaps reflects that fact.
We found the staff to be all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

4 nights in wonderful, serene Hydra and this was the perfect hotel. We have 2 small children and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice and served in a nice location on the shady patio. Our favourite part was the Jacuzzi which was usually about 30 degrees. It was perfect for the kids to have a dip in the afternoon.

When we arrived on Hydra, we had no Idea how to get to the hotel or how far it was. We wound up on some guy's donkeys (one for us, one for our suitcase) taking a very short ride for a very high price. It's really not far from the port and we should have just walked. But the kids got a kick out of the donkeys so I guess it was worth it. My advice... WALK!

Room Tip: We were in Amazon room which is good if you don't want to climb too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is very expensive and we are sure that we were duped into online fraud. We had reserved a room online for our family (myself, my husband and our 6 and 9 year olds). When we were in the process of reserving a room with "three heads", we thought we were clicking on and paying for a family room for three people. No, that was not the case, upon our arrival, we were told that they had a double room for two people reserved for us. How did the family room with three heads mysteriously change into a double room for two people we still do know. I guess it is easy to change things online on one’s website. Therefore, we were told that we will have to pay for two double rooms for four people, hence, pay for twice the amount. We were helpless because our credit card had already gone through and we had arrived there with our two little children, all tired and hungry. Despite the fact that the whole hotel was empty, the owner or the receptionist person refused to accommodate us in a better way and made the best out of us in terms of money.
Additionally, breakfast was not even included and one had to pay extra $15 per person for breakfast. We ended up being stuck there for two nights and then moved to a nicer place and paid only $40 a night for a huge room with an attached bathroom, kitchen and a balcony.
Also, the Jacuzzi never worked, it took one hour to fill it up and by the time it was got full, the hot water had run out and we froze!
Lastly, the hotel is right next to a school, if you do not mind noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelhyd, Owner at Angelica Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
The customers above, who made the reservation through booking.com, reserved a standard double room - non refundable - breakfast excluded (the receipt of the reservation is available).
The 'non refundable room' means that the hotel before registering the booking, should first charge the client's credit card, otherwise the booking cannot be registered.
The 'breakfast excluded' means that the room you chose is without breakfast.
The clients arrived at the hotel as a family (4 persons) and asked me to accommodate them in a standard family room (it is consisted of 2 rooms) because this is what they have seen in the system, but the system deceived them as they told me and they made the reservation. They have seen the standard family room, but they reserved a standard double room.
We, as a hotel, after their own mistake, offered them a better room type, a superior family room with veranda and charged them as a standard family room-non refundable-breakfast excluded and 30 euro less.
Unfortunately for them, the electronic system of booking.com offers you what you request, but if you see something and you want to pay for something else, then the person who makes the reservation doesn't know how to make online reservations for sure.
For that reason you should not blame the hotel.
As for the room they have paid 40 euros, then they should know that it was not a traditional 4 stars hotel like Angelica but rooms to let.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angelica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelica Hotel

Address: Andrea Mialouli 43, 18040, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angelica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angelica Boutique Hotel is constituted of 2 buildings which used to be old mansions. The 2 mansions have been transformed into a traditional hotel with the following capacity, 12 superior VIP double rooms, 3 superior VIP triple rooms and 6 standard VIP double rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Angelica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angelica Hotel Hydra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelica Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.