We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great wee place and owners are great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TAWERNA ZEFIROS

TAWERNA ZEFIROS
Miaouli Street Hydra Grecja, 18040, Greece
+30 22980-52008
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Hydra
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Excellent traditional Greek Food
glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great wee place and owners are great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

lots of places can be pushy to get you to eat but spiros and mario are the best,we made welcome here and had a real laught with them and plenty drinks flowed,had calimari fresh here and it was amazing

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
La Rochelle, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful hosts !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a very nice and authentic taverna in Hydra. I have been a patron for more than 6 years now, everytime I am in Hydra. Zefiros is a family business, with parents and children working together. It offers traditional Greek dishes, and you choose from the day's selection, so you have to be flexible, but you can trust them for giving you excellent food all the time. In my opinion their meatballs and also their "eggplant slippers" (ie: stuffed aubergines) are exceptionally good. But you can also eat good fresh fish if you like. The prices are extremely reasonable, the place is open year round, which is not the case of many other restaurants. This is also a place that equally welcomes solo women travellers, and will give them the same hearty welcome as they give big groups.
Matina ( the lady hostess) is a wonderful person, so cheerful and friendly ! she will also try to teach you Greek ( I know; she tries with me ! ) I am looking forward to my next visit to Hydra ( I have family on the island and go quite often) and I shall rush to Zefiros !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice tipical taverna”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Friendly atmosphere, the owner are really nice. The fish very good, the rest just ok. the inside sala a fantastic shelter from the heat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“what you expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

this taverna is exactly what you think about when you think about greek restaurants, friendly, noisy and very genuine food. the inside room was a relief from the heat of those days.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Best Food We Ate on Hydra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The food at this taverna was the best that we had during our entire stay. Fresh fish, cooked home-style, very enjoable, generous portions, and very friendly people. Their menu is extraordinarily diverse. We had the grilled sardines, cod, horiatiki salad, and the tzatziki- all delicious.

This is where the locals eat, so you know the food is good. Will recommend a hundred times over!!!

A plus is that it is air conditioned inside since the heat can get to extremes in August.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TAWERNA ZEFIROS also viewed

Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 

Been to TAWERNA ZEFIROS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TAWERNA ZEFIROS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.