We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really disappointed. what a pity.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Orloff Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Orloff Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Orloff Boutique Hotel
Odos Rafalia 9, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Hydra
Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“really disappointed. what a pity.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We booked Orloff hotel thinking of a place with great charme and high quality service. The place is wonderful, with a lot of potential, but the management is a disaster.
First of all this is not a hotel, but rather a bed & breakfast, and a very very expensive one for what you get. There is no service at all (no minibar, no room service, no laundry, no nothing).
When we were there, the occupants of rooms close to ours were using the common patio as a place to dry their towells and swimming suite, giving the idea of a camping area rather than a 4 stars hotel. Maybe this was just because of some unpolite guests, but the hotel keeps a drying rack in front of an always open service room door and this is probably why all the guests to the same...
We had a very nice room, with very nice bathroom (it was one of the most expensive rooms) with, as the lady who leads the hotel told us "a private terrace". Indeed we had that terrace, but totally empty. When I asked the lady for some chairs and a table, she said that they didn't have any... Than why would you sell me a room with terrace?
One of the worse thing, being this a bed and breakfast, is that the breakfast is really poor and un-interesting. The so-called orange juice must be the kind of juce you make with powders, the choice of food is poor and every morning EXACTLY the same. If you ask for anything different you feel like you are bothering them (except for fresh orange juce and espresso, which you pay extra).
The only moment I really felt the great efficiency of the staff was when we had to pay!!! From when we asked for the bill to the moment we signed our credit card receipt (10 minutes) we were covered with attentions ;)
In conclusion, don't go. And for the owners/management: this B&B is really too expensive, and they it is managed it's a total waist for such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    13
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
51
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitzbuhel, Austria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stopped by at the Orloff in the middle of beautiful secluded Hydra Town located at a quiet square a few steps next to the still quiet port during my last visit here three or four years ago and liked the location the tiny patio and the pretty lobby filled with antiques, So we decided to stay here for a few days because it was not worth renting a house which I would usually do. The staff and the owner are very friendly but the place has been neglected and is not well managed. We got a room (no.7) with a tiny window however a new bright bathroom .The room was small , no sofa, no desk had a/c but other than that was very basic. The breakfast patio is nice with classical music being played in the morning but the breakfast is very poor. You need to pay extra for espresso or cappucino and I didn´t find the delights other guests had mentionned here. During the day there is no place to stay, no deck chairs anywhere, the garden is only for breakfast. The mini bar is empty, I ordered a glass of red wine before going out for dinner. They didn´t have any. Our room neighbor was drying towels outside his room on a rack (which doesn´t look very appealing). We booked relatively late so they may have better rooms but a simple double room for 160 Euros a night is quite pricey for this island and one would expect a bit more. The place has great potential because it is a charming historic building but the owners seem to not make anything out of it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Stunning boutique hotel, well, better to call this place a historic old mansion built by a Russian Prince diplomat living in Hydra in the 18th century. We stayed in the stunning and sunny very large suite - Room 6 - with its own tiny courtyard and private door to the cobbled street that leads you directly to fabulous tavernas and down to the port, beaches and shops. Breakfast is a relaxing affair taken beneath blueberry trees, lemon groves and consists of freshly baked bread, cake, greek yoghurt, honey and pears. 4 nights/5 days is the ideal get away to allow time for exploring the various coves, beaches, mountain tops and monasteries. Scurry back to Orloff for a refresh then mosey the 3 minutes over to tavernas for a seafood dinner. Orloff is the must-go-to hotel when you arrive at Hydra Island, Saronic Islands, Greece. Enjoy, fellow travellers! Alice & Erroll Hartley, Dubai.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Orloff is a great place to visit and see one of Hydra's historic mansions. The rooms are small-ish, which is understandable given the historic nature of the hotel. The location is good, approx. 5 mins from the waterfront and about 10-15 mins from the ferry dock (could be a bit of a problem if you're carrying large/heavy luggage). The lady who works there was friendly and helpful. Overall it's a nice place to stay, my only concern is that at this price range, one would expect a full 5* service, whereas this is more like a good 3*.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.c. Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

The Hotel Orloff is housed in an old Hydra mansion that has been in the same family for the last hundred years. It is very comfortably furnished in a mixture of antiques and custom-made furniture. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed. Of note, the beds have new and very comfortable Simmons mattresses. In this country where beds often feel as if they are made of marble left over from the ruins, this was a delightful and welcome surprise.
We were booked in for four days, but after the first night decided we wanted to stay longer. We stayed eight days and would have stayed even longer if we could have. Maria and Petros are delightful and helpful hosts. Breakfasts, served in a walled courtyard under orange and pomegranate and olive trees, was abundant and delicious.
The Orloff was by far the best hotel we found in our month in Greece.
After the noise and pollution of Athens this small island with no cars was a blessed relief. Hydra, under the protection of the Ministry of Culture, is an archeologically protected site. It remains a perfect little example of what a Greek island was like, fifty or a hundred years ago. It is the Greek island of everybody's dreams.

  • Liked — The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and staff and the comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Nothing. We loved the place.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

We stayed at this darling hotel and loved it ! We had a very nice room which was clean and comfortable. The hotel and surrounding area is very quiet (as is most of the island). The breakfast was very good and the staff friendly. Christina was really sweet and helpful. Be warned that because this is a remote island, sewer and plumbing is a challenge. No toilet paper is allowed in toilets at this hotel (as well as in most spots in Hydra). A small price to pay for the quaint atmosphere. The best example of quality of service at the Orloff is that we had traveled a great distance and the jet lag knocked us out. Our first day we did not wake until 1:15 pm, missing breakfast and maid service for our room. We assumed we would not have our room cleaned and went about our day on the island, without informing anyone of our late awakening. We returned late in the afternoon to find our room cleaned and with fresh towells as well ! Enough said...

Ps Do not miss sunset at Hydranetta cliff bar which is a short walk around the harbor point just beyond the Sunset restaurant. It is worth the walk and a view beyond belief.

  • Liked — Good location, quiet and great service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Orloff Hotel for eight nights, and we really enjoyed it. The room was spacious and clean, and the bathroom seemed to be newly renovated. Although the room was comfortable, (great bed!) and had all the facilities we expected - what really made us love this hotel was the athmosphere that surrounds it.

The furniture and decorations give the impression that you are not really staying in a hotel, but rather at a friend's house, as it is full of small details that give everything a very personal touch.

The breakfast was excellent, and contained juice, eggs, ham, cheese, feta, olives, delicious tomatoes, cereals, home-made bread, greek yoghurt with honey or fruit (yum!), freshly cut fruit - and to top it all off - homemade sponge cake! On some mornings we woke up to the smell of freshly baked chocolate cake... The breakfast buffet is set up in the bar in the basement, which opens up to the garden - where most guests enjoyed their breakfast while listening to the calming classical music.

The staff and management at the hotel was very warm and welcoming and they were really helpful in giving us tips on what beaches to go to etc.

We strongly recommend this hotel if you want to enjoy peace and quiet, and would like to stay in a place that feels more like a home than a hotel. For us this place was perfect, but if you require a streamlined full-service hotel with room-service and lots of facilities, we would not really recommend going to Hydra at all, as this island is not really a place where you will find that kind of hotel.

  • Liked — The athmosphere of the hotel
  • Disliked — Airconditioning made some noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orloff Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orloff Boutique Hotel

Address: Odos Rafalia 9, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Orloff Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orloff Hotel Hydra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orloff Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.