We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omilos

Omilos
Kostas Achilleas, west of Hydra Port, Greece
(+30) 22980 53800
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 57 Restaurants in Hydra
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good restaurat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A wonderful restaurant located exactly on the rocks, overlooking the sea, just outside the harbor. The food is good, a bit to classy for my stiles, but that's just me. The location is very nice, very romantic, the prices are not that cheap, but the atmosphere is good and relaxing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nicest restaurant with a view on Hydra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

the food here is really quite good...and a notch or two above the usual (but delicious) Greek taverna fare at most other Hydra island eateries. A more filled-out and foodie style menu, with interesting salads, starters, pastas, etc. Contemporary (white, clean, hip) design is the only thing of its kind on the island. This is the only place on Hydra that one would feel the slightest inclination to "dress up," so if you have a special occasion to celebrate on Hydra, this is the spot. The view is unmatched by any other island restaurant. It commands the westernmost tip of the harbor, with a lovely patio and sea views.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is what people come to Greece for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Omilos is a restaurant located right between the harbor and the well-known rocks where people dive off of Hydra. It's setting is, in a few words, breathtaking. It is basically a "balcony" that cantilevers over the water. As you sit, sipping your wine, and eating your meal, the waves splash below you just 30' away. We have been here three times (3 years in a row) and the food and service have never let us down. We would, without a doubt, recommend it as probably one of the best examples of what people come to Greece for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“best restaurant in Hydra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

contrary to too many critics here, we just loved the place, yes it's more expensive than the tavernas, but it offers a great view on the side of the ocean, music lounge-classic perfect for the ambiance, the meals were very good (A1 quality), the server new his menu and the components and even could describe every single bottle of wine (what is so rare even at 5stars hotel) ... it cost us 100euros for almost 3 hrs of delightful pleasures (for the eye, the ears and of course the mouth) .. will definitively go there again... I recommend it for people whom are food lovers and romantic. if you are looking for a 20 euros meal and fast greek service, avoid that restaurant, but if like us you enjoy pleasure, go there, much better than the sunset one...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Best location in Hydra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a beautiful spot, on the cliffs adorning the entrance to the port, our dinner started with the great views and ambience and that set the tone for a really nice experience. The maitre'd was so friendly and helpful and not at all unctious or pushy, in fact when I requested his recommendation for wine, he suggested the cheapest wine on the menu and told me it was local and excellent, the bottle was a 2007 vintage red adorned with medals and awards evidencing just that - and it was indeed excellent, and 20 something euros...most restaurants would have steered me into the 50's bracket but not here, he told me this was a great wine and that we would enjoy it. It was. We did. His food recommendations also were spot on. A wonderful fresh marinated Octopus, and a bowl of white wine steamed fresh mussels. Well presented Fava beans on the side and a salad. The perfect meal after a hot day swimming in these deep cool waters. All extremely well priced and delicious. Not fussy, but "honest". Easy to recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omilos also viewed

Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 

Been to Omilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omilos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.