We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting but food could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omilos

Omilos
Kostas Achilleas, west of Hydra Port, Greece
(+30) 22980 53800
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 59 Restaurants in Hydra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice setting but food could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose Omilos after other peoples recommendation and the absolutely beautiful setting.
The restaurant and terrace do not get much better than this. And we had high expectations!

We ordered the steamed mussles and mille feuille with parmaham, aubergine, tomato and goat cheese. The mussles were nice but the mille feuille was overly dominated by goat cheese (cheese 15 mm high with aubergine and tomato being 3 mm?). I could not taste the veggies and think they should adjust the quantities of the ingredients (as the concept is quite nice of the different flavours wrapped in parma). For mains we ordered a carbonara pasta (nice) and seabass with veggies and a sauce with orange. Nice but not that special. We had high expectations (the best gourmet food in Hydra?) after hearing about the place, but think it was just an OK restaurant experience. The view is great and the service nice, but I am not sure if the bill was worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location , view and decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

It is really a beautiful spot ! The view from the back terrace is unbeatable !
I had a nice dinner there , food and service were good , better than last year , prices are ok .
They have a good lunch and dinner menu during the week .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Has the best location in hydra town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

i have ate here several times over the years i cant resist the location it has great views over a great harbor it has a really nice feel and the Austrian waitress is very nice ok why average i hear you ask , well its just too expensive i mean i get why it is but still twenty percent cheaper i would rave about it and im not that bothered about what i pay on holiday its just value for money the food is good not great the location fantastic the cost just too dear a few glasses of house whine a little food and a couple of beers at over a €100 is a little steep especially for lunch would i go back well despite myself yes

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydra, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“magic moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

if you visit Hydra only long enough to have one meal make sure it is at Omilos. A classy restaurant sentinel to the western entrance of the port that has excellent food at an affordable price; during the day three courses for 14€. The warm welcome into this ambient setting makes for magic - the website says it all..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/Greece
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Right above the water on a great little balcony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This restaurant was a bit of a chic gourmet style restaurant, but still had Greek dishes, and had an outstanding view (see my photo). It was a great place to get away from the sun, have a few drinks and enjoy a leisurely lunch on Hydra Island. The server was from Austria and she was very helpful and caring, and the menu was quite nice. I had the Octopus which had a touch of balsamic vinegar and some diced cold veggies, washed down with a combat size Greek beer. My wife had a kebab, yoghurt sauce (Not tzadziki), pita bread, and wonderful Green salad.

We liked it so much, we came twice for lunch and unfortuantely due the financial crisis in Greece and the time of year, it was mainly just us and a few other diners but that made the experience even more special as it truly was like sitting on your own seaside balcony. This place is located at the far end of the Hydra port toward the old mill tower, and has the best views of the island as far as I'm concerned.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omilos also viewed

Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 

Been to Omilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omilos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.