We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a missed opportunity...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Omilos

Omilos
Kostas Achilleas, west of Hydra Port, Greece
(+30) 22980 53800
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 57 Restaurants in Hydra
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such a missed opportunity...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

(+)
-Great view, quite possibly the restaurant with the best view on the island

(0=Average)
-Service is quick but a bit clueless. The waiters are dressed randomly (trainer shoes in an "upper class" restaurant...??).
-Appetizers and salads are decent but nothing special.

(-)
-Mains are a disaster. The chicken couldn't be drier, the meatballs had an unpleasant smell and when was the last time you saw a dish garnished sloppily with both rice and fries? The 90's? In self-service restaurants? The spaghetti with clams and mussels was average and at 19 euros, a complete robbery.
-The prices are very high for the mediocre quality of the food. 30 euros per person for 2 mains, one salad and a couple of appetizers, without wine.
-And something has to be done with the booking system because it''s just broken the way it works now.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cergy-Pontoise, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't go there ! Overpriced and awful service !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This restaurant is wonderfully located, so we stopped by at the end of an afternoon to book a table with a view.
When we came back, the waiter gave us a random table, so we asked him if we could get a table near the sea, as booked earlier. He replied very drily that it was the only table available, but he would give us another table as soon as possible. So we sat there.
Five minutes later, a table near the sea became available. We thought it would be ours, but he put a new couple that hadn't made any reservation. We ordered two salads. There wasn't much to eat in the plate. Then another table became available. Once again, he gave it to some new people. We decided that the game was over.
We payed 28 € for two ridiculous salads, and went eating somewhere else, hungry and angry.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting beautiful decor but the food doesn't live up to the high expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

In hydra for two days sailing round Greek islands and were really looking forward to trying out the but have to say we were disappointed with most dishes and have eaten much better elsewhere at more reasonable prices. However the setting couldn't be bettered and service was good and friendly. Probably wouldn't return unless invited there!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“MAGNIFICENT VIEW - EXCELLENT FOOD!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The food was excellent and the view : Unbelievable!! Very tastefull the amaretto ice cream..I will visit it again!!..

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Other reviewers have provided the details of the wonderful setting and easy walk from town. We experienced a wonderful meal in a stunning setting with terrific music piped into the outdoor dinning area as we watched the clear blue-green water lap against the wall of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omilos also viewed

Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Hydra, Saronic Gulf Islands
 

Been to Omilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omilos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.