We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portadelmare Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Portadelmare Guest House to your Saves list
Portadelmare Guest House
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hydra Port, 18040, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 Hydra B&B and Inns
Norway
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The room was delicate and clean, the yard was a peaceful hideout with a beautiful view of Hydra port, the owner was helpful and pleasant. The short distance to everything made it a very convenient place to stay. The only minus was that we could hear some sounds from the other rooms. But overall we were very pleased and it is absolutely a place that we would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Location: Within walking distance from everywhere!
Premises: Stylish, comfortable, every single detail is very well thought of! The rooms and common places are just as beautiful as they look on the website.
Yard: Quiet, romantic, with a beautiful view of the harbor!
Peter (the owner): Discreet, helpful, a great host!
This hotel simply added great value to our holidays on the beautiful island of Hydra!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a charming property with terrific views of Hydra harbour and great facilities in the terraced gardens. A particular advantage is its close proximity to the harbour.I It is very clean, modern and well maintained.The rooms however are smaller than they appear on the website which was a little disappointing. It is also misleading to suggest that there is a full kitchen as the one in our apartment consisted of a sink, fridge and one a half electric rings with the smallest work surface.. There was no oven or any equipment with which you might prepare even a basic meal. We had great difficulty in trying to prepare even a simple salad without sharp knives or a tin opener (for the tuna fish!). There were only two wine glasses in a property which was supposed to sleep up to 4 adults. The kettle was also rather temperamental and to plug it in you needed to place it on the electric rings.
However, we had a wonderful stay and loved Hydra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Spend 5 days with family at the beginning of May. Great location, tucked in an old stone house just 30 steps from the port. Calm and comfortable rooms, refurbished and clean. The owner Petros takes good care of everything and he's a real host - ask him for the tips for good, domestic restaurants. Has a nice terraced garden with a breathtaking view of the Hydra town. Make sure you check the view from the jacuzzi on top terrace in the day, but in the evening also.
All in all, Porta del Mare is a great base for exploring and enjoying the beautiful Hydra island. I'd be glad to return there some day....

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We found Peter by accident and weren't we pleased! His apartments were stylish and very comfortable. Located just behind the harbor the steps up to apartment and above to the jacuzzi provided privacy and views. Breakfast looking over the harbor and use of the jacuzzi were just perfect. Peter proved to be a very attentive host;when the weather turned inclement for a couple of days Peter was there to ensure we were warm and comfortable. Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We made reservation for three nights, but stayed nine nights. This new guest house has all advantages: 50m from sea in total silence, rooms are very clean, all was functioning well: TV, DVD player, satellite receiver, kitchen. Beds are comfortable, linen perfect. Bathroom is also excellent with branded Portadelmare towels and daily changed cosmetics. On disposal are also big jacuzzi on terrace, sauna and gym. Owner Petros is always ready to help and to give advice. Probably poor view is compensated with terrace overlooking to port and town of Hydra, where you can relax with excellent view. WIFI is free of charge.

Room Tip: Apartment 1 is best for couple, because there is no attic for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We are a couple with 2 girls, (9 &11). Stayed at Apt 4 for 3 nights. One can immediately notice the effort, time and money Petros (the manager/owner) has put into the place. We had a mezzanine with 2 single beds for the girls and on the ground floor, there was a queen bed with a luxurious bathroom and kitchenette. What I really like is that unlike most pricey hotels, this place had a very comfortable bed, with good quality sheets, comforter and pillow, not the scratchy blankets one finds in hotels.
The Apt was spacious and very tastefully done. There was a beautiful terrace with harbor views, and a jacuzzi. Location is perfect, 2 mins walk from the harbor.
The owner was very helpful, in fact when I left my phone at the place, he was kind enough to arrange for another lodger to bring it to Athens where I was staying.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portadelmare Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portadelmare Guest House

Address: Hydra Port, 18040, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Hydra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portadelmare Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Spilia Beach, Porta Del Mare is close to various cafés, restaurants and bars. It offers self-catered accommodation with free Wi-Fi and a balcony overlooking the harbor, mountain and Saronic golfFitted with stone walls, the suites come with air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchenette with a microwave and cooking hobs. A Lcd satellite TV, CD/DVD player, hairdryer and free toiletries are also included. Some are split level and have a hydromassage shower.The facilities at Porta Del Mare include a hot tub, sauna and steam bath. Guests can enjoy the open-air gym and sun terrace equipped with free umbrellas & sun beds. Porta Del Mare is just 30 metres from the main port of Hydra ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Portadelmare Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portadelmare Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.