We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cecil Sparta

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sparta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cecil Sparta
Save
You added Hotel Cecil Sparta to your Saves list
Palaeologou 125, Sparta, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was surprised to read a negative review.
My mother and I stayed 4 nights in October and our stay at the Cecil was just perfect.
The hotel is charming, clean, and offers the best price on the main street.
The owners are genuinely nice, discreet, and helpful.
We look forward to returning.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The main issue for me was the fact that we woke up to find that the Hotel completely lacked hot water. I went downstairs to request hot water and was offered a very fake "shocked" facial expression. The owner's hand adjusted a switch and I was told to wait 10 minutes and everything would be fine. We waited. After two more visits to the proprietors downstairs, and being told to wait 10 minutes each time, I told them to come upstairs. More faked facial expressions of confusion. Also, during the whole process the owners who were relatively fluent in English the night before, suddenly couldn't communicate!

The hotel was completely empty expect for my girlfriend and I. Now I understand why. We realized they were empty only after we had asked for a room on the top floor. The owner said that they were full upstairs and only had room on the 2nd floor. This I assume was due to their being too lazy to walk up the extra flight to clean the room once we had left.

The room itself had a really grungy bathroom, with holes in the towels and a shower spray handle that was filthy. The bathroom in general needed a cleaning. The hotel itself is pretty characterless. The owners obviously shady people.

I have traveled many places and have slept in many sketchy accommodations. I would never write a bad review about a place that would, on it's face, give me what I paid for. Greece is in a bad economic situation, and I understand people cutting corners as well. What really enrages me, is that the proprietors oozed with dishonesty, as if this has been the way they have lived their whole lives. Also, nothing about the Hotel itself would have left me to believe that there wouldn't be something as essential as hot water. I am happy to warn people away from a Hotel owned by people who don't trust their own hands lingering too long in their own pockets!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel is far under the average of the small, family run hotels we visited in Greece. Clean but without any charme, the room was very small and noisy; the location is very central, but the main street of Sparta is noisy, and many rooms have windows on it. Breakfast is on the average. If you can spend 10 euro more, there are surely more decent choices in town

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Well, even for a budget hotel, this was a bit dingy. And I was not overjoyed by the porn collection in the bedside drawer. But the staff were very helpful and friendly, and breakfast was nice and included in the very reasonable rate. Sparti really isn't my idea of a great holiday destination, and I guess the hotel choices reflect that... but definitely worth staying there to see Mystras. The wi-fi was fast enough, even for skype.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

I particularly appreciated the very warm and welcoming owner. I stayed solo here for 2 days last week. The rate was phenonemenal. And although to be harshly honest the room was neither large nor plush, it was still quite a bit more than I expected for the very good nightly rate. And another huge advantage, especially after a few days in Athens, was that the hotel is very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed here for one night on the way to the Mani area so we could visit Mystra and really enjoyed it. The room was lovely and quaint. The price was good too!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

I arrived a little deranged after nine hours on Greek roads at Easter time and the manager was warm and helpful, getting me into the room (and bed) in no time at all. Lovely room, balcony overlooking main street, but at the quieter end. Big bathroom and all nicely renovated with a bit of 1930's charm about the place too. Slept like a log, no noise problems. Sparti is a great town, some lush little coffee houses and tasteful shops have sprung up recently, people are friendly and I strongly recomend breaking your journey here if you are travelling the long roads of the Peloponnese. If you eat out, cross the road diagonally to the opp corner, there is a great local restaurant there, blue painted interior, really good food and great value.

  • Liked — Touch of olde world charm
  • Disliked — cigarette smoke from downstairs
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cecil Sparta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cecil Sparta

Address: Palaeologou 125, Sparta, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Sparta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sparta
Number of rooms: 302

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cecil Sparta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.