We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, clean and cheap, not enough comfortable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adonis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Adonis to your Saves list
Adonis
Zaimi and Kapsali 9, Patras 26221, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Patras
Athens, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient location, clean and cheap, not enough comfortable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Right next to the bus station, really convenient if you are traveling by bus and very close to the town center( 5 minutes walking). The room was clean but too small for a triple, we could barely move in it. The beds were not comfortable at all and the bathroom was in a bad condition; too small and the shower's water pressure was low. Unfortunately, our room was not one of the renovated. In general, the hotel as a building is old. The staff was helpful and polite, though.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    8
    4
    9
See reviews for
4
14
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Location was superb - 1 minute walk from the bus station & less than 5 to the train station (which runs a shuttle bus to the actual train for Athens). Beautiful views from the huge balcony of our room on the 6th floor. Good & generous buffet breakfast. Staff was very friendly & helpful, & spoke good English. The TV even tuned in to English programmes! My husband was particularly impressed with the electric boot polisher in the lobby :-)

The bathroom was a bit tired; small, with only a handheld shower with moderate water pressure. In fairness, the reception person gave us a choice between a beautiful balcony & a better bathroom in a first-floor room - I think we made the right choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel is right beside the bus station for all the region, so it is noisy. The first two floors are renovated, but the rest are old and somehow dirty. If you ask for a renovated room, the stuff is eager to help you. Breakfast was not so bad, a bit poor, though. The staff is ready to help you anytime of the day or night. If you are on bussiness and you want something cheap, fairly clean and peaople that can help you, this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here for a week whilst on a course in Patras. The location is brilliant - very central - and despite being by the port and bus station, it is quiet at night. The hotel staff are extremely helpul and friendly, and I had a pleasant air-conditioned room on the 6th floor with a huge balcony, and an amazing sea view, especially at sunset. The breakfast is fairly standard but there was always fruit available. The hotel is very good value for money and I shal definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I booked to stay one night only after getting off the ferry late at night. We chose this hotel as it was right opposite the bus station where we needed to catch a bus to Athens early next morning. It was not worth the money we paid to stay there and I really dont know where these photo's have come from as they do not show the hotel as it really is!! The 'lobby' is not as displayed. Is a building site at the moment, a point not made when booking was taken!
The bed was rock hard, a personal point granted. The shower had live electrical wires hanging out the wall directly above our heads, so no stretching whilst washing. There was a mass of wires on the floor by the bed. Sheets were clean, thank god! As for breakfast!! Buffet of usual cheap meat and cheese that we chose not to touch as it looked pretty grim. A basket of hard-boiled eggs that gave nothing to indicate how old they were. We ate toast and jam as a safe bet as we needed to eat before boarding our bus. Whilst eating, another couple came into the dining room and looked at the breakfast for a while before walking out in disgust!!
I am truly surprised at the photos on here as they look nothing like the hotel we stayed in.
We didnt expect 5* anything for the price we paid but we did expect cleanliness and edible food for breakfast. Very disgusted with the safety regarding the protruding wires too!! Will NOT go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

we arrived at carnival weekend when the hotel was full to capacity.the staff were extremely helpful even though we could not speak Greek. following the carnival we were allowed to move to the 6th floor which had a very large balcony and the view of the sea and the ferries was magnificent. we were a large group but the staff accommodated all our needs we had to extend our stay and the owner gave us a very fair rate. breakfast was continental and available for 3hours each morning . we were near laundry services supermarkets and all reasonably priced. we explored many restauraunts would recommend the fish restauraunts and a brasserie type reasonably priced restaurant on the sea front. on the main square we often frequented a newly opened restaurant again serving a selection of grilled meats. staff and the people were very welcoming and offered many appetisers and tasters with no obligation to buy. travel to athens is not a problem bus and train services leave regularly. and to reach other islands the ferries run x2 daily

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Picked for its proximity to the port. A small and comfortable hotel overlooking the bus station.
Great fun sitting on balcony watching organised chaos. A bit difficult to find, and all the one-way streets dont help. Stayed just the one night before catching the Kefalonia ferry,but will use again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adonis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis

Address: Zaimi and Kapsali 9, Patras 26221, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Achaea Region > Patras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Patras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adonis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis Hotel Patras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adonis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.