We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amalia Hotel Olympia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amalia Hotel Olympia to your Saves list
Amalia Hotel Olympia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pyrgou-Olympias Ave, Olympia 270 65, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Olympia
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

To be honest, I didn’t spend much time at this hotel. It was just an overnight stay as part of the Chat Tours itinerary. We got here too late in the evening – just in time for dinner – and left immediately after breakfast; so it was not possible to see the scenery from the room. The room is a bit dated. Clean but not clean enough. I found a dried raisin on the floor; so, I’m not sure when it was cleaned. Bathroom was okay but not in the same class as other hotels I’ve been in and could have been cleaner. There were stains on the bathroom floor probably from removing or trying to remove the paint that fell (why couldn’t they just have lined the floor with newspaper) while painting the ceiling.

Some people on the tour grumbled a lot at dinner about this hotel since we were told we would stay in a 4 star hotel. Definitely not a 4 star one but for an overnight stay, it was not bad. I didn’t feel the bed was uncomfortable but then again, I was dead tired. Also, I don’t look for feather mattresses when I travel – just a clean room and bathroom.

One honeymoon couple said they were given a room with separate beds.

Dinner and breakfast – there was a variety of dishes and I thought it was good. So, I thought the hotel was okay. Not top class but good enough for a stopover. I think if they refurbish it and take care of the little things, they will have more satisfied guests and better reviews.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    30
    29
    13
See reviews for
20
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed one night while touring with a group. We arrived late afternoon, so quickly jumped into the pool to avoid beating closing time. The room is not quite up to what we experienced in other Amalia hotels in Greece, but it was quiet and comfortable. As with other Amalia Hotels, the lobby is huge, as was the dining area. The dinner and breakfast buffet were excellent, with many choices and tasty food.

The chairs in our room were a bit worn, and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while. As with some hotels in Greece, the faucet and showerhead in the tub were on the wide wall, resulting in an awkward body position while taking a shower. The beds were a bit on the hard side, but we slept comfortably.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We atayed there for 1 night of hell. The bed was 30cm off the floor and was hard as a rock. The air conditioning was noisy and stopped sleep unless you opened the door for fresh air - BUT there was no working lock on the screen door. The room stank of mildew and the toilet took a few times to flush. You were miles from anywhere so a stroll was not an option. Bar prices were worse than Athens. This hotel should be demolished.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Olympia hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Lots of room, never feels crowded, friendly staff, quiet location outside village, large pool: nothing to complain about for a "chain" hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed one night with a tour group. Hotel large and spacious, including rooms, dining/breakfast area and lobby.
Beds hard but comfortable. Rooms a bit dated, but still good.
Bathroom ok, but in my room shower curtain too close to shower, so if you had it in the bath it stuck to you (gross) but if you had it out of the bath, the room flooded a bit. Nothing compared to another couple in the group, who after a bath, while letting out the water, found that the water was bubbling up from the drain on the bathroom floor, which completely flooded their bathroom. They were changed to a different room without any further difficulties.
Breakfast was great! Very full spread, lots to choose from.
Lots of bugs in the pool, but made a good show watching swallows (sparrows?), then bats, swoop down to get them.
Location close to the Olympia Archaelogical site and museum.
Major downside was the lack of wifi! There were two computers to access the internet, but one did not work while I was there, and the other had a constant line. These were not free.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night on June 28th, while on a Classical Tour. The hotel is a bit dated, but adequate for basic needs. Comfortable beds, a large bathroom with full bath and shower, and a good air conditionner. Very quiet location, off the main road. Nice pool, very good buffet offering for both breakfast and dinner. The only negative was the bar: service was non-existent unless you asked for it, and rather expensive. This was a common theme while in Greece for two weeks. And no Greek beer! What???!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

First impression was - wow! How much space in the foyer!

Everything was ok (not great) EXCEPT the pool was not squeaky clean (and was the smallest of the 3 Amalia Hotels we stayed in by the end of the trip) but worst of all the beds were the HARDEST BEDS I ever wish to find and the pillows were useless even after we got a second one for each bed - so small and flat.

Please fix the beds! The other Amalias did not suffer the same problem - in fact the one at Delphi was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalia Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Hotel Olympia

Address: Pyrgou-Olympias Ave, Olympia 270 65, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalia Hotel Olympia 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Amalia Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Amalia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalia Hotel Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.