We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay-Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pelops

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pelops to your Saves list
Hotel Pelops
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Varela 2, Olympia 27065, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay-Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Pelops for one night while passing through town to see the sites. It was a pleasant night. The rooms and hotel were nothing special and in line with what I would expect for 50Euro. The beds were softer than other similar places I have stayed in Greece.

There was a fridge in the room and our room#18 had a balcony, which was nice. There is instant coffee and a water heater in the room if you want to make coffee as well as a hair dryer in the bathroom, but no safe in the room The shower was very small and would be challenging for an older person (or large person); and only measures about 24"x24".

The breakfast was fine but limited; breads, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee, cheese/meat, and olives.

I would recommend this hotel for a nice budget stay. I also highly recommend Hotel Europa for dinner (see my review). It is a great value and a great view for sunset (additionally, you can swim at Hotel Europa when staying at Hotel Pelops due to an arrangement they have).

Room Tip: Room #18 has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    90
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
76
149
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Upon arrival, the owner/manager was outside waiting to greet us. He was extremely helpful in getting us settled in and becoming familiar with Olympia. The room was nothing fancy, but was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was adequate and got us ready for a day at the ancient site.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have stayed here before and returned with pleasure. The beautifully furnished lounge and rooms have so many personal touches that make you immediately feel at home. Helpful owners and staff, excellent food, I would not stay anywhere else in Olympia were I to go back. And, something sadly lacking normally in Europe, a kettle in the room for a good cuppa after all that touring!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Hotel Pelops was one of our favorite hotels visited during our 10 day trip to Greece. The rooms were clean with a nice spacious balcony, and quiet, as it is off the main street Ample breakfast and free internet was a nice, but the best thing about this place was the friendly people who own and operate the hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions. I have found the rooms to be quiet, clean and nicely appointed. The hotel's location is perfect for visiting this small town. The staff/owners could not be more accommodating. I highly recommend Hotel Pelops

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Hard to imagine you could do much better in Olympia than this very well located and well managed hotel, particularly for the price. It's a family business and staff members are friendly and helpful. Rooms are modern and clean; coffee and tea making facilties are a bonus. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Hotel Pelops was the best hotel in which we stayed while on our 3 week trip to Greece.. It is situated about a half block off the main street in Olympia, Greece. This gives you easy access on foot to all that Olympia has to offer; a nice shopping area, good restaurants and the ancient ruins and museums.The facilities are recently renovated and pristine with a homey vibe in the public areas. Our room was very spacious and nicely appointed with a large balcony. The bathroom could accommodate 2 people, which was unusual on our trip. The family, who owns and runs the hotel, was gracious, helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend the Hotel Pelops as "the" place to stay on Olympia

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pelops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelops

Address: Varela 2, Olympia 27065, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Olympia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
#5 Family Hotel in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pelops 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pelops was one of the first hotels to open its doors in Ancient Olympia to visitors over 40 years ago. our family’s proud hospitality still remains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Pelops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelops Hotel Olympia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pelops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.