We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just big enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archaeological Museum at Ancient Olympia

Archaeological Museum at Ancient Olympia
Southern end of main road Olympia Greece, Olympia, Greece
30 26240 22529
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$378*
and up
3-Day Classical Greece Tour: Epidaurus, Mycenae...
Ranked #8 of 20 Attractions in Olympia
4.5 of 5 stars 453 Reviews
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Just big enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This museum holds many of the statues excavated at the Olympia site. The marbles from the pediments of Zeus' temple are breathtaking in detail and scale. Equally impressive: Nike and Hermes. Don't forget to look at the painted parts of the facades to see what they looked like back in the day. It would not have been the same without our guide Niki. She gave us the background and oriented us so that we knew the significance of the pieces in the museum. Please take a guide, there is no audio tour available and you really miss the impact without hearing all the stories. Niki, from Olympia Day Tours is inexpensive and worth every penny.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    123
    22
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“More interesting than the ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Much of the most interesting things to be seen are in the museum. The site, while interesting because of it's size was a lot of the same. Ephesus is far more impressive as in the Parthenon. But, there are some beautiful pieces in this museum

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small museum, outstanding exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This museum has the statue of Hermes which is one of the most amazing things I have ever seen in my life. It is a small museum but contains many interesting statues plus the top piece that used to go on the ancient buildings which was carved with statues. I was astonished and the skill of the Greek
workers in marble. Everything they did amazes me and I don't know how they did it. We had an excellent guide named Nicki and I would heartily recommend her for the richness of her presentation.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

One of my favorite Museums in Greece. Quiet but full of things to see. They're obviously adding stuff all the time. More things to see than last time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Didn't expect such a beautiful location. Obviously the site is interesting in itself but wasn't expecting it to also be so peaceful considering the coach loads of tourists each day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archaeological Museum at Ancient Olympia also viewed

 

Been to Archaeological Museum at Ancient Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archaeological Museum at Ancient Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.