We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ancient Olympia

Ancient Olympia
Katakolon, Olympia 27025, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 things to do in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited Olympia and Ancient Olympia whilst we were staying on Zakinthos Island.

We took our hire car on the ferry over to the mainland and drove to Ancient Olympia which took about 1 hour.

The site is amazing, I used to have a fascination when it came to Greek gods etc and this brought it all back.

You do not need to have a guided tour as you are handed a map when you buy your ticket and the ruins all have information boards in Greek, English and German (I think) so you can take your time and walk the grounds.

It made me realised how the Modern Olympic Games are quite similar in certain ways but very different in others

Great day out!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    239
    83
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“OUR BUDGET TOUR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived by ship to Katakolon and took a 10 Euro bus trip to Ancient Olympia which was about 25 miles away. The tour was offered in the main street by a local business. Our guide took us on a long hot walk to where the Olympic flame is lit and sent on its way around the world. We then viewed the site of the original Olympic games from behind a wire fence. We were offered free time to either pay to walk on the grounds of the original Olympic games or see the newly renovated air conditioned Museum. Due to the heat that day we opted to do the air conditioned Museum and it was well worth the tiny 6 Euro cost.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The ruins of the ancient olympics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was a great experience to visit the ancient ruins that were only excavated and restored in the late 19th century. The signs are in both Greek and English, which allows for a self guided tour.
It is best to see it in the morning after breakfast, before all the tour busses arrive and it is still cool. By mid day it was very hot and the site closed around 3 PM, when we were there,
The afternoons are best for having a long outdoor lunch, shopping forTshirts or visiting the museum.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Large site, not much rebuilt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was a large site to visit but there is not much rebuilt. Most of the stones are still on the ground so you don't get a full picture of what the site looks like except for the photos they show you with the descriptions. Most sites around Greece are being rebuilt but this one has not had much done to it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a stunning site. Try to go early morning or late pm - but check opening times carefully before booking. Government cutbacks currently mean shorter hours at weekends.
Wonderful place to wander around and soak it in, in your own time. Oh, and run the length of the stadium, of course.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient Olympia also viewed

 

Been to Ancient Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancient Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.