We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day in Olympia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taxi Katakolon

Taxi Katakolon
Gortinias 87, Olympia 27100, Greece
+306937538084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 attractions in Olympia
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Taxi Private Tours from Katakolon to Olympia and other surrounding areas. The chance to get the most impressive picture of the most important sightseeings of our area with one of most luxurious Mercedes vehicle.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Day in Olympia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

on January 25th, 2013 Andrew picked up my husband, myself, and two other cruisers promptly at 9am and took us all over the Olympia area. When we arrived at Olympia, Andrew helped us avoid a long line by getting our tickets for us. He told us exactly where to meet him and offered umbrellas as it was threatening rain. He then took us to Olympia Land Winery where we had a great tour, fantastic tapas and wine, and warm Greek Hospitality. From there we visited the Virgin Mary Monastery, a baklava bakery (with great samples!), and a charming seaside cafe. Whe he dropped us off at the ship he gave me a bottle of his homemade olive oil. If you are in Kataklon, don't go with anyone but Andrew:-)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    7
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Day in Olympia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Although Andrew was not personally available, he kindly arranged for my wife and I to be taken care of by one of his colleagues. We were able to visit ancient Olympia before the crowds arrived and then had a terrific visit to Olympia Land Winery. Finally, we visited a picturesque hotel on top of a hill in Katakalon that provided great views of the bay. We enjoyed the book that was provided with further information on ancient Olympia and didn't feel like we needed a personal guide since we had this. Our driver was very friendly and was able to provide basic information about the areas we visited. Andrew even met up with us at the winery to confirm what we wanted to do with the rest of our day. Great customer service!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Andrew was an outstanding guide and his tour was our highlight of Greece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife, two sons and I took the tour with Andrew a few days before Christmas. His tour was the highlight of our cruise. He customized our itinerary based on our interests (we skipped the winery and visited a monastery). We were intrigued by all of the Olive groves and Andrew has his own grove and is quite knowledgable. He even made an impromptu stop at a press and we had a short tour and walked away with a bottle of fresh olive oil which is one of our favorite souvenirs from our trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Cruise from Venice to Greek Islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our family of 17 was cruising from Venice to the Greek Islands at the end of July. My sister-in-law found Andrew through Trip Advisor and booked a car for her family of 5. I emailed Andrew to ask if he was able to recommend another tour for my family and my other sister-in-law's family and he was able to secure 2 additional taxis for us and we were all able to tour Olympia together. The service was absolutely amazing and the personal service that we were provided made this port one of our favorites! Andrew kept in touch with us prior to our cruise via email and was there waiting for us right as we exited the ship and even though our tour was only supposed to be for 5 hours it was extended to over 6 hours and he did not ask for any additional money from us; of course we gave a very gracious tip to make up for this additional time he spent with us. We could not have asked for a better way to spend our first time in Olympia! The tour books the drivers provided us of the Olympic ruis were so very helpful and the tour of the Olympia Land winery was just absolutely amazing!! We had a wine connoiseur in our family who was thoroughly impressed with the winery and the wine itself. We all purchased wine to bring back to the ship and States with us and were disappointed to find that we cannot purchase this wine again - unless we travel back to Olympia. I just cannot say enough good things about Andrew, Nick and the other drivers we had for our private tours!! We even recently received an email from Andrew wishing a happy holiday season and it was sent as a response to all of the back & forth emails from our trip planning back in July! Very impressed!!!! I highly recommend Andrew and his tour if you ever are lucky enough to get to Olympia!! Thank you Andrew for making our trip so very memorable!!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Andrew was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We visited Olympia via our ship in the beginning of January. Andrew was great - his English was perfect. When we arrived at the Ancient ruins, he had one of those transparency before and after books for us to view when touring the grounds. Because he is not a guide, he could not come in with us. After the Museum, he took us to a very small family run winery. Then, on to an olive press for a very short visit - but, so cool! After that, we stopped in a lovely spot overlooking the sea for some hot drinks. It was so beautiful and peaceful. We had a great day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taxi Katakolon also viewed

 

Been to Taxi Katakolon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taxi Katakolon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Taxi Katakolon to your Saves list