We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Pool with Bar and Taverna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Europa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Europa Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Europa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drouva 1, Olympia 270 65, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warren, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
804 reviews 804 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 267 cities Reviews in 267 cities
2,316 helpful votes 2,316 helpful votes
“Splendid Pool with Bar and Taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I visited Olympia in mid-September in 100+ degree weather. Upon arrival at the Hotel Europa my group and I were hot and tired. We had spent much of the day at Delphi climbing the ruins on the slopes of Mt. Parnassus. So when we discovered our hotel high on a hillside in a garden setting we were ecstatic. We were assigned our rooms quickly and headed for the hotel's Olympic sized swimming pool with poolside bar and taverna - just what we needed to revive us. This pool is splendid, deep, and altogether refreshing. There are plenty of poolside lounges, tables, and other amenities. The garden surrounding the pool is filled with flowering plants, fruit trees, and inviting plantings.

My room was #203 with a terrace overlooking the garden and pool. The room is split level with the bed and bath on the upper level and the sofa and writing desk three steps down. Lighting in the room was good and included indirect lighting above the wooden joists in the ceiling. The color scheme was refreshing with white painted walls, blond woodwork, and grey floors. Drapes were soft yellow sheer jacquard and bedding all in white. Sheets were ironed. Honestly, this touch made me feel like the Duchess of Windsor. The bath was richly appointed with a black and white marble vanity, slate-like floor, and excellent hot water with strong water pressure.

The room included amenities like refrigerator and mini bar, blow drier, and safe. The public rooms are spacious and comfortable. The main floor included a large reception area and computer stations adjacent. A few steps down to a busy taverna where Constantine made excellent drinks and shared stories with us about his life in Greece.

One floor above reception housed a very large dining room where we enjoyed buffet dinners two evenings. Food was plentiful with a variety of choices including several meat dishes, wonderful salads, and six or eight side dishes that included superb Pastitsio and Moussaka. Breakfast was also served in this room and included scrambled or boiled eggs, very good bacon, mouthwatering croissants and superb fig jam.

The morning of our departure found us sorry to leave this wonderful hotel. This was one of the most enjoyable places we stayed in Greece. The hotel's location is a bit isolated from town. It's not within walking distance, a minor drawback when you consider the pool and other amenities here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    134
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
200
231
19
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I recently visited Olympia and decided to stay in Best Western Hotel - mostly thanks to all reviews I read in TA.
I confirm whatever it has been said: excellent location on top of the hill, nice and spacious rooms all with view to the big swimming pool and I strongly recommend the restaurant ! Do not miss it.
Breakfast full of home made cakes and marmalade .... so ... a good choice overall.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This was the best BW hotel that we stayed in during our three week trip to greece. It is a real gem, too bad it is tucked away in Olympia. The rate was great and the rooms were huge and clean, the resaurant was on the lawn in front of the pool and was very romantic at night. Cannot say enough about this hotel, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Plain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This hotel charged 82 euros per night for a double room. Cheap at the price. The room was luxurious, absolutely clean and well equipped, and with a wonderful view over the plain. Added to this, the 'restaurant' was an open air garden which was beautifully lit - again with a wonderful view - with a good menu of traditional dishes at a reasonable price. Service was prompt and professional. In late September it was still warm enough to eat out. Breakfast was a huge variety of hot and cold food. And there's an excellent full size swimming pool. Finally, of course, it's a short car trip to the site of the Games at Ancient Olympia. We felt truly pampered by the staff at this large hotel in its secluded location. Couldn't be bettered.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

More of a mainstream hotel than we stayed in the rest of Greece (on the grand tour) but really appreciated the soft bed (soft hotel beds are hard to come by in Greece) and the pool bar! Very friendly and helpful staff and the taverna style restaurant had a great outdoor dining and excellent service amongst the olive grove. If we'd known, we'd have stayed two nights! P.S. The ancient site of Olympia was more than worth the trip - we pottered around it for hours.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We ended up here by chance and were glad we did. The Hotel staff and facilities were excellent. The rooms were clean and the Taverna was so good we ate there each night we were in Ancient Olympia. All the fresh produce is grown organically on the property when in season as they press their own olive oil as well, which was a treat to behold!

Room Tip: There are many rooms with a view of the mountains and valley, be sure to ask for one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was a good hotel with good service. Nice views. Average breakfast. Noise from pool area a little disturbing at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Europa Hotel

Address: Drouva 1, Olympia 270 65, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Olympia
#1 Family Hotel in Olympia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Olympia
#1 Business Hotel in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Europa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of the Best Western Group of hotels. The Europa Hotel is set among the enchanting landscape of Ancient Olympia. It is ideally located to visit the important sites of the area and enjoy the natural beauty of the mountain and coast of West Peloponnese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympia
Olympia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Europa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.