We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Greek paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilio Mare Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ilio Mare Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dasillio Prinou, 64010, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 89 hotels in Thasos
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Greek paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We are here right now enjoying an evening, sunset over the sea and mountains of Greece as we see it from the comfortable sofas on the terrasse of the atrium bar of ilio mare. It is just wonderful. The plants around the hotel are exotic and when you leave you are in rural Greece. Very old olive plantations, a little port in walking distance. Zorbas taverna just vis-a-vis the port is most recommendable. The water is clean and just the right temperature to refresh. People are helpful and friendly. At breakfast a full buffet and a taverna directly at the beach. We had fresh fish there. The best of Greece you can imagine. We love it!

Room Tip: All rooms are around the pool. In my opinion there is no good or bad location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    50
    21
    26
    21
See reviews for
69
59
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel looks very nice in the pictures on their webpage, but the actual truth is that it is quite worn. By no means a "luxury hotel". I'm quite surprised it keeps 5 stars. I would rate it 3-4 stars.

The location is quite secluded on the end of a road. This is to our liking as we wanted a quite place. However this was not achieved since there was very load music played on both the beach and at the pool from morning until the night. So there was nowhere on the hotel premises where you could lie outside in just peace and quite and listen to the waves from the ocean.

The food buffet style was ok but not more. I found the food in general to be too salty and greasy, but I am also trying to be a healthy eater. There was never anything that was truly tasty, it was more to eat to kill the hunger.

The beach had pebbles but was quite large and with plenty of sun chairs so you never had to go and put your towels out to "mark a spot German style". The staff on the beach was also very friendly. There was strangely enough no water sports on the beach which would be appreciated such as wind surfing and kayaking.

The clientel when we were there was mostly from Serbia, Romania and Bulgaria.

Would not go back to this hotel nor recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We thank ilio mare friendly and helpful staff for our stay there, truly it offers the luxury and service you pay for. Mind you we've tasted the best kalamari ever. Also enjoyed a relaxing and comfortable beach bar setting a few steps away from the hotel. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larisa, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

After a long year waiting for holidays, we finally found a peaceful and relaxing location. We stayed for 10 days in August, a family with two children. We spent most of the time in the pool and we also went to the beach which is located right across the hotel.
We had breakfast and some meals at the restaurant quite satisfying. The staff and the manager were very helpful after a small incident with my youngest child.
We are most content with our holidays this year and definately we will be back..THANKS GUYS.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were there 3 couples for 4 days rooms and breakfast were good. Beach is amazing but hotel stuff were so rude to everyone. I dont think Ilio Mare is 5 star hotel, 4 star will be more then enough. we had a couple of issue and we called reception and we had to call them again and again, they dont respond as quick as like 5 star hotel. The rooms are not as big as on the picx. manager is rude as well. he has no idea how to talk with the guests so but nice place. The hotel is in very good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larisa, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We are family of four, with two young children. We stayed at Ilio Mare in Thassos for one week in July. It's well located with a lovely sandy beach within 10 meters, also the pool area is gorgeous..... The standard of cleanliness is fantastic The staff in general were pleasant & helpful,
The breakfasts were excellent and the meals also at the restaurant.

Overall a great find and a great stay...highly recommended !! We will definately be back again:))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel for 5 nights with 3 families. Being a Turkish traveller I got very much used to the Turkish hospitality and I have stayed in many places in Europe,US and even in fareast up to now.I have never seen such rude hotel staff and management in my life.
Although the hotel is very nice, because of the hotel staff and even the owner of hotel I met unfortunately, I will never go there again.
I really do not advise this hotel to anyone, but if you would like to be humiliated with your own money you may go...

Room Tip: Do not choose any rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ourania S, Διευθυντής at Ilio Mare Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear customer ,

As per your Trip Advisor comments about Ilio Mare Beach Hotel***** hospitality.
As the hotel manager i was not informed by you about any complains we never met. So, how can i be rude?
If you are reffering about the insident that the hotel refused to offer you a beach towel in order for you to set on a table in order for you to play cards i would like to inform that beach towels are used by the guests for the beach chairs. I would like to inform you also that our beach has been awarding yearly since 1999 with the blue flag and we like to assure you that all rules and regulations are strictly followed .

Our beach notice board is update with all necessary informations that lead our customer to enjoy our crystal clear sea turquoise waters .

We feel sorry that we could not meet your expectations allow you misusing our beach towels as a play cards carpet or table cloth in general.

As our hotel management performance and skills award Ilio Mare among the 100 most wanted hotels around the world by Tui Austria Tour Operator for year 2012 we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel and congratulate you for your choice , among all our customers .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ilio Mare Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilio Mare Beach Hotel

Address: Dasillio Prinou, 64010, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Thasos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Thasos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ilio Mare Beach Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest blue flag beachfront resorts, on the Emerald Greek Island of Thassos, offers the most elegant guest rooms and spacious suites, with gorgeous palm, tropical gardens and small waterfalls frame a stunning view of the Aegean turquoise waters.The hotel’s atmospheric design with it’s broad terraces, marble floors, and skylights, drives you to escape to a luxurious haven on the most gorgeous sandy beach, in an idyllic setting.Three restaurants and Four bars, surrounding this unique destination, ideal for pampering, relaxation, honeymoons & weddings. Water and light are the dominant elements of this fabulous resort, which has continuously awarded by “Conde Nast as a top Greek Hotel“, “Blue Flag”, “Green Keys” etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ilio Mare Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilio Mare Beach Thásos
Hotel Ilio Mare Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilio Mare Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.