We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glaros

Glaros
Myrina, Greece
+ 30 22540 22220
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 25 restaurants in Lemnos
Restaurant details
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very nice taverna with beautiful view on castle and off course excellent see food. We dat many things for 5 persons and price in total was 39 eur for 1 l of water, 1/2 l white wine, goat cheese,Greek salad, vegetables, grilled calamara, shrimps and mussels in Lemnos way. Chicken souvlaki and potatoes with cheese...really excellent!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    12
    6
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good for fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had lunch here last week during an early afternoon. We had tomatoes keftedes (very good), barbounia - both fried and grilled as we wanted to see the difference and actually wanted to test a fisherman's honest belief that barbounias are best fried and totally wasted if grilled. They were both good, but I have to admit that the fried ones were better, juicier and with a more intense flavour. Greek salad was just average to poor, a fact which we sadly discovered everywhere else on the island with the exception of homemade horiatiki at Efthaleia Hotel (freshly prepared by Dina from her own garden) and Mantella. I am not sure whether it's the lack of good extra virgin olive oil or the fact that most tavernas would serve unripe tomatoes for the Greek Salad...
We also had grilled sardines, which were pretty good. I am still not sure whether they were really fresh or not as the same fishermen at an ouzeri in Myrina told us that there are no fresh sardines available anywhere when it's full moon as this is related to the way sardines are caught. No dessert on the house, but I guess this is when the place is a bit commercial.

In any case, the experience at Glaros was a good one and I have no problem recommending it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Only the view is good. Terribly overpriced food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The restaurant is situated just by the sea with a great view of the bay. The food way terrible. We had a calamari which was like rubber to chew. The rest of the food was equally disgusting. It most certainly didn't worth the money we spent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Go inside the restaurant to inspect the catch before you order !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The menu gives you few clues as to the fresh fish that is available and which is kept under ice inside the restaurant.
We had a good choice of both fish and shellfish including lobster.The proprietor ( who speaks very good English ) was very willing to run through what was on offer,how it might be cooked and pricing which was fair value.A bottle of the local Lemnos rose at only 10 Euro's completed a first class meal.
The location overlooking the harbour is also attractive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“TYPICAL GREEK TAVERNA EXCEPTIONALLY SITUATED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Taverna of no pretence. Food that was very well cooked (try the tomatokeftedes). Fresh fish very lightly fried, leaving the whole sea in your mouth. The taverna is situated at the best spot of the port. I would like the toilets being renovated. Also try the Lemnos feta, which by the way, does not contradict the fish!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glaros also viewed

Lemnos, Northeast Aegean Islands
Myrina, Lemnos
 
Lemnos, Northeast Aegean Islands
Lemnos, Northeast Aegean Islands
 

Been to Glaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glaros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.