We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Erofili Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Erofili Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Erofili Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Armenistis, 83301, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ikaria
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Been to Samos quite a few times and wanted to try Ikaria which is the nearby island. Absolutely loved it. Locals very relaxed -gives you a hint of how you should be on your holiday, unspoilt beautiful places, nice food overall a nice getaway trip.
Room was basic and A/C wasn't powerfull at all but in Ikaria you have these strong northern winds and you don't need it that much. Imagine that in September we had to wear jackets in Ikaria and in the next island the temp was 5-7 degrees hotter! Breakfast was quite filling and you could always enjoy it even if you were late. Pool looked a bit weird to try but, it shouldn't even exist with such a wonderful beach next to the hotel. Receptionists always helpful and kind. Nice taverna food in town and cheap reckless bars. Don't go to Sechelles beach wearing your flip flops and Na is a nudist beach. Try Rahes at nights (village up the mountain) as you will find nothing open during the day but be careful of the many turns! Romantic getaway, adventurous days, relaxed time-Erofili in Ikaria will keep you pleased.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    26
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vigonza, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Beautiful, quite, clean. Wonderful view from the rooms, kindly managed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

Rooms are comfortable and clean with great views of the bay. The water is hot with good pressure. We had a 3rd floor room with a balcony - quiet, no mosquitos. There is a big comfortable lobby with wi fi (free) and a balcony for cocktails or lounging. Breakfast is ok-- nothing special, but it gets you started for the day.

The small town has whatever you need - tavernas, little shops, walks on the beach. Definately rent a car and be prepared for thrilling drives to special places. it is well worth the effort to find the hot springs coming out of the rocks into the ocean, take one of the many hikes that are well marked to waterfalls, hike to the secluded and magical Sechelles beach. We spent a week on this tiny island - and left wanting more.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed here in late June on the spur of the moment, and were treated to lovely rooms, professional staff, and small but clean rooms with unbeatable views. Not sure about the air conditioning...it might have needed some work but we had good breezes, and we weren't there in August. Our experience at the Erofili was an enjoyable one!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for a week from June 9. Despite soaring temperatures the owner refused to switch on the air conditioning. Our nights were a test of endurance against the heat . We left the balcony door open to get some air, and were bitten by mosquitos over 50 times apiece, despite spraying ourselves and having a plug in mosquito repellerEven the Sunvil rep on the island said the owner should switch on the aircondtioning given the very high temperatures. So so hot stuffy aand mosquito ridden (bitten 50 times apiece) bedroom ruined what could have been a good holiday'

Room Tip: Insist on guaranteed air condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stayed here 5 days in may/june 2011. Quiet, clean and spacious rooms with good beds and functionable bathroom. Friendly staff. Reasonabelly priced for this time of the year incl. nice breakfast.
Hopefully the nightwatch will have stopped smoking next time we come. Don't like the smell of cigarettes - otherwise perfect!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 410 - best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This very good three star hotel is probably the best on the island and Armenistis is definitely the best location with the nicest beaches. We also got very good value for the quality of the service but it was low season so prices may rise later on.
Note: There are no luxury hotels on the island (although I saw some promising works in progress) so this very pretty hotel with a pool and amazing view of the sea is your best bet if you want a bit more comfort than the usual 2 star rooms to let.

Room - we had a 4th floor superior with sea view. Adequate size, spotlessly clean, large bed with pretty white and blue sheets and cover, writing desk, a couple of chairs and a nice balcony with really lovely view! There was a small TV but few channels and we didn't watch it much except for the news in the evenings or mornings. The bathroom wasn't very big but it was clean and had good water pressure which isn't a given on Greek islands. They provided a hairdryer, soap and shampoo. The nicest views are from the 3rd and 4th floors but because the hotel is on a slope they're also the closest to the street. We had no problems but a few guests complained about scooters driving by early in the morning so if you're a light sleeper you may want to ask for a second floor room which is further down the hill and more sheltered from street noise.

Lobby/breakfast area: Nice lobby which opens out to a terrace with, again, that fantastic view. You can see it on their website. The pictures on the website make the hotel look slightly larger than it actually is, but the view and color of the water are realistic. It really is that nice. We had breakfast there and would sit and have cocktails there waiting for the sunset. Quite lovely.

Breakfast: The only negative thing. Not very exciting compared to what we got on other islands. There's a bit of everything: eggs, cheese, ham, cake, cereal but not much choice and not very well presented. I'd suggest more variety in the cakes/croissants, more fruit and better yogurt.

Staff: Everyone was extremely nice and helpful and they gave us a pretty going away present. No complaints at all.

Pool: Not very big but pleasant with a sun deck and steps leading down to the sea and rocks. Note: to get to the sand beach you can see from the hotel you have to walk out of the hotel and down the street but it's very very close (2min walk). There's also an even better huge sand beach a further 15min walk (2min car ride) away.

Other: They have a conference room and a small spa with an indoor pool but they weren't open yet when we were there. They had a computer in the lobby to check internet but it was pretty slow.

A few words about the island: It hasn't been invaded by mass tourism yet. The inhabitants go by their own rythm and aside from a few hotels and restaurants, aren't particularly interested in tourists. Most of the shops and restaurants don't seem to care about money as much as about living their lives without stress. They serve you when they have time, they open when they feel like it. So you have to take a laid back view if you come here. Part of it may be due to the fact that we were there just as the tourist season was starting, so it was calm, but I suspect the whole island is a bit like this. There's even a town (Christos Raches) where shops open after 9pm. I saw groceries being delivered at 10pm, the whole rythm was crazy but fun too, just be willing to roll with it and enjoy the change. There's a good restaurant called Platanos in a square on the road up to Raches. I highly reccomend it. I'm not one to eat strange food but I had both hare and goat cooked in delicious sauces and can't get over how good it all was. Only hitch: no menu, you just walked in and the owners would tell you what they had decided to make for that day. Usually something very yummy with all genuine products from their garden. No wonder people live to over 100 on this island: zero stress, no pollution, food from their gardens, sea and mountain air...they eat free range animals from the mountain...it's amazing.

Also, Armenisits is by far the best location. The beaches are large, white sand, with lovely water. The only thing you should know, however, is that you need a car and it's at least an hour and a half drive from the airport to Armenistis along steep and winding mountain roads with scary sheer cliffs on one side. There's a high mountain in the middle of the island, it makes for incredible views and great mountain walks. There are even rivers and waterfalls which I highly reccomend seeing, but it means pretty steep and scary roads, so keep that in mind. Not having a car means being stuck in Armenisits which is very nice but you miss out on all the beauty of the island and chances to explore the valleys (Halari Gorge has natural waterfalls), the other beaches (Nas and Seychelles are good), the hot thermal baths in the south (try the ones that come out directly into the sea)...in short you miss out on a lot if you don't drive around, and taxis are very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for superior sea view/ upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Erofili Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erofili Beach Hotel

Address: Armenistis, 83301, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Ikaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ikaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Erofili Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Erofili Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erofili Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.