We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites the previous years, never will go again this year!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ayoli

Ayoli
15 Leoforos Nikis, Thessaloniki 54623, Greece
2310262888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 527 Restaurants in Thessaloniki
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Greek, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“One of my favourites the previous years, never will go again this year!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via Local Picks

We also had the opportunity to know the impolite lady at the reception! Ayoli restaurant was one of my favorite restaurants the previous years and we were regular customers the previous years (2 visits/month approx.)!
At first, when we learned that it transferred to the sea view building we were excited ! We had a reservation of 12 persons !! ! although there was no problem with that, three of our guests were a couple with a 6 month baby! After ordering for ourselves, they kindly asked from the lady in charge to heat up a jar of blended food for the baby, she impolitely refused to heat it up, because it would reserve a whole STOVE! Our friends asked her 2-3 times again and after approx of 30 minute constant baby crying and she told that the only way that she could help, is to bring at the table, a wine cooler filled with hot water !!! except from that incident, one of our 12 guest never got his dish (after waiting 60 minutes, and reminding it to the waiters 3-4 times)
Although when it was at Electra was one of my favorites, i will NEVER GO AGAIN- Never seen in my life such an unprofessional behaviour. (even at the worse taverna or at the best michelin gourmet cooking restaurant)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    45
    21
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food on the sea front of Thessaloniki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ayoli restaurant has moved from the Electra Palace Hotel to the seafront of Thessaloniki. It's one of the best suggestions for good food, wine and service, including special prices' menu for all

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New place, the same wonderful dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The new spot of Ayoli is right on the waterfront of the city. If you find a table on the veranda, you will have a wonderful view of the sea. Ayoli offers nice menus of 10, 15, 17 and 19 Euros (including salad, main dish, glass of wine and dessert). The portions are more than big so you want need anything else for your stomach to be full. You will enjoy it a lot!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and even better view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

During 6 nits stay in thessaloniki we went there 3 times and we enjoyed every time. The staff and friendly but some of them dont speak english very well, but you manage... Prices are good and you get big portions...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Under average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Ayoli used to operate at Aristotelous square on the left side of Electra palace hotel, while a few month ago was transfered on the promenade street, at the building were used to be the Goethe Institut. A nicely decorated restaurant, that unfortunately does not keep up the pace when it comes to cooking. Even the lightestest lunches I had there- grilled salmon with boiled vegetables- left me with a very strange sense of having eaten something very fatty. The cooking part definately needs improvement. It is not expensive though.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayoli also viewed

Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 

Been to Ayoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.