We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfact location, excellent service, very warm and personal service for a resonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paggeou 5 Ladadika, Thessaloniki 54625, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Thessaloniki
2 reviews
“Perfact location, excellent service, very warm and personal service for a resonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Very good location. Very warm and inviting service.Needs some improvements: no room to put things in the bathroom, and habgers fir the showers. The suites, are very nice abd good. Will defenately go back therr

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvina-Spasopoulou, Front Office Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Plaza Hotel and for sharing your positive experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor!

We are enthusiastic to know that you are definitely coming back to our hotel after your enjoyable stay!

We are also happy to read that you found our hotel’s location and its surrounding area great, and we do thank you for mentioning our “warm” and attentive staff.

Once again, thank you very much! We indeed look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you in one of our “very nice and good” suites that you so much enjoyed!

For any special requests and best rates, feel free to contact us directly at info@hotelplaza.gr.

Warmest regards,


Malvina Spasopoulou
Front Office Manager
Plaza Hotel
Philian Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    70
    34
    17
    15
See reviews for
25
104
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
not relevant
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very friendly staff! Really excellent! Hotel was good, nothing special but it got all the basics right: breakfast included, affordable, good wifi, perfect location and nice people. In addition the hotel had a great bar that is also open to public. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvina-Spasopoulou, Front Office Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying with us and for posting your wonderful review about our Plaza Hotel!

Words cannot express the pleasure reading your comments regarding our “really excellent” staff! Comments like yours give our entire group the perfect motivation to continue acting towards their desired goal to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations!

We all look forward to your return visit! Thank you!

Warmest regards,

Malvina Spasopoulou
Front Office Manager
Plaza Hotel
Philian Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel in september, me and my freind in deluxe room and my father in family room alone ( booked single room for him but he was given very big room for a family)
The hotel has perfect location in ladadika area, just out of the hotel you can find many great tavernas, restarants, bars and club, lots of people, very safe, even at night tavernas and bars are full. Cozy place, nice atmosphere, no noise from cars. If u have small kids maybe there can be noise from the bars if you open a window. We slept with closed window and had no probem. Rooms dont have balconies and face not very nice building but also u can see a bar in front of the hotel and a bit of the sea!! Deluxe room is good sieze, not new, but clean and bathoom is good equiped, they have shower gel and shampoo, also hair dryer. The room in which my father lived was for family, very big. One double bad and 2 sofa beds, A bit old and in red color, a bit dark, for me its more for a couple, romantic stay then for a family with kids:)) In the bathroom is bath tube not shower cabin, what is good. Wi Fi is avaliable.
Staff is very friendly, smiling and nice, specially the woman in the recepion and a young woman that work in the breakfast room.
Breakfast was fine!! yes yes fine, i can compare with other hotels of that level. They serve cheese, feta, sausage, tomatoes, olives, hot dishes made of eggs, fried small sausages, cereals, milk, yougurt, very tasty bread and amazing pies with cheese and spinate. Also sweet pie, tea, coffe. Enough to feel not hungry!
The port is near, the sea promenade is 1 minute and everything in walking distance, Would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvina-Spasopoulou, Front Office Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at our Plaza Hotel during your last stay in Thessaloniki and for taking the time to provide your positive feedback regarding your experience!

There is no greatest reward and pleasure for a hotel than hearing its guests’ positive comments.

We are delighted to know that our “perfect location”, our rooms and amenities, our “friendly, smiling and nice staff”, and of course our rich breakfast buffet made your stay truly enjoyable.

We are also extremely thankful for highly recommending our hotel!

Once again thank you very much and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards,


Malvina Spasopoulou
Front Office Manager
Plaza Hotel
Philian Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The room was very clean, the Breakfast was the best we've had in similar rated hotels and the staff service was excellent. The airline lost our bags and Ivana assisted us in locating the bags. The entire staff was very warm and made us feel at home. The Plaza Hotel is our only choice when we return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvina-Spasopoulou, Front Office Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Tony D,

Thank you so much for your great review and the Five Star rating on Trip Advisor!

There is no greater satisfaction than receiving such nice comments and reading that our hotel is the “only choice” for a valued guest!

We are honored to know that you found our breakfast the best you had in similar rated hotels, that you enjoyed your room and that our staff service was excellent!

Thank you once again and we all hope that it’s not too long before we can welcome you back, as a very warm welcome awaits you!

Warmest regards,


Malvina Spasopoulou
Front Office Manager
Plaza Hotel
Philian Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location and price.

When we arrived to check in, it was about 14:30h and the check in was from 14h. Our rooms weren’t ready and they asked us to wait for a half an hour. We have booked the deluxe rooms the day before and paid right away for them over the booking site. We waited more than one hour before they showed us our rooms (we were together with a couple of friends).

The first surprise was that they gave us two suites instead the deluxe rooms. Second surprise was the fact that our rooms weren’t in the main building, but in the building across the street. The second building had a locked door and looked abandoned. The maid showed us through a narrow hallway, with no doors or windows, and without any ventilation and took us two floors up to the hallway that lead to five rooms belonging to this hotel. The suite that our friend got had a living room area with big table and sofa, a big bathroom with a shower and a bed room. Our suite had small living room, narrow hallway that led to a smallest bed room ever and to a really small bathroom. Since I am claustrophobic, I couldn’t stay in such a small space so I asked at the reception if we can get the room next to this suite. Fortunately, we could and after some more waiting for the room to be cleaned, we got in. It was probably the deluxe room, although pretty small one, it consisted of one room with big double bed and a sofa. It had coffee making facilities, mosquito net, bath robes, towels and toiletries. Bathroom was awfully small, the bath tub was also the smallest possible and it had broken door and it was leaking. All the rooms in that building were decorated in a peculiar style; almost like they wanted them to look like a brothel. We were a little worried when we saw our accommodation, wandering what we got ourselves into.

Unfortunately, the night that I spent in that room was one of the worst. The size of the room I could handle, but the narrow hallway that lead to the rooms and lacking of another way out kept bothering me. Also, beside the noise from the street that was expected since we were in the Ladadika district and to which I have prepared, there were awful lot of noise coming from the hallway itself. I was on a verge to call reception to ask for someone to come and see what is going on.

The bad things were unexpected accommodation in the annex building, waiting for our rooms way over the check in time, small size of the better rooms (deluxe and suite) and small and not very functional bathroom.

There are good things too. We were very pleased with the staff on the reception. They were all very kind. Another great thing was the breakfast. It was really, really good. It was in a buffet style, with a wide range of salty and sweet foods. We were sorry that we couldn’t try everything. Location of the hotel is also very good, if you don’t mind the noise and the small space, it is a great place for a base.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 hundred and something are in the annex building. There is a narrow hallway, with no doors or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvina-Spasopoulou, Front Office Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Sovica,

Thank you for choosing our Plaza Hotel for your recent stay in Thessaloniki and for sharing your detailed review with other travellers, on Trip Advisor.

We pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service along with value for money. That is the reason we are really sorry to hear that your experience has not been as positive as our other guests’, during your recent stay with us.

We apologize that you feel that we did not meet in overall your expectations, although we receive many positive comments from our previous guests. Our second building offers five Boutique Suites, located in the heart of the city, and each one has its own unique character shaped by the artistic touch, of Nikos Aggelidis, one of the most famous Greek interior designers.

We are also very sorry to learn that due to your claustrophobia your overnight, wasn't as enjoyable as we would like it to be. The size of our Deluxe Rooms is 25 sq. m and we honestly regret that you did not give us the chance to find suitable solutions for you in advance! Please, be sure, that if only we’d have known, we would have done our best to allocate you to one of our most spacious Suites.

Thank you for not forgetting to mention our kind and helpful staff, our wide range of salty and sweet foods on breakfast buffet, our central location and, last but not least, our rates!

We are sure that we can find a way to make your stay comfortable and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to proof on a future stay.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@hotelplaza.gr for your special requests regarding your next visit, and we will be more than glad to assist you!

Warmest regards,


Malvina Spasopoulou
Front Office Manager
Plaza Hotel
Philian Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel is very central, a few minutes away from an awesome neighbourhood with many taverns, bars and an attractive nightlife.
The rooms are ok, but suffered a bit from age. They are moderately clean but our room and the one of our friends smelled very strong of cold and old cigarette smoke which was a pitty.
We traveled with our 11-months old son and they were quite attentive and put us a baby bed in the room which was nice.
Staff is really friendly, breakfast was ok but was missing fruits.
Cool hotel if you only plan to sleep in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvina-Spasopoulou, Front Office Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Plaza Hotel during your stay in Thessaloniki and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the overall concept of our hotel and its surrounding area, and we do thank you as well for mentioning our attentive and friendly staff!

Please be sure that your valuable comments have been well noted by our whole team, and that, we are continuously trying to improve our facilities and services in order to meet our guests’ expectations.

Once again, thank you very much! We, indeed, look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you and your family in the future!

Warmest regards,

Malvina Spasopoulou
Front Office Manager
Plaza Hotel
Philian Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staff very friendly & very helpful. Free wifi worked well. Some street noise but that's a small price to pay for this central location. Bus stop close by & only a short walk to the water's edge. Breakfast good range, their coffee was great. Really nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvina-Spasopoulou, Front Office Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Oreste,

Thank you for taking your time to post your five star review about our Plaza Hotel, on Trip Advisor!

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly delighted that you mentioned the high level of service and quality we proud ourselves on.

Thank you once again and we hope it’s not too long before we can welcome you back, as a very warm welcome awaits you!

Warmest regards,


Malvina Spasopoulou
Front Office Manager
Plaza Hotel
Philian Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: Paggeou 5 Ladadika, Thessaloniki 54625, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Art Hotel is situated at the most beautiful traditional area of Thessaloniki - Ladadika, at the center of the city, where the city`s heart beats. The elegant and classic line of Plaza Art Hotel distinguishes among other neo-classical buildings of the area, only 20 meters away from the harbor and right next to Aristotelous Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Art Thessaloniki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.