We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediterranean cousine with high service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Excelsior Bistro - CLOSED

The Excelsior Bistro
10 Komninon St. & 23 Mitropoleos Av, Thessaloniki 54624, Greece
+30 697 463 3642
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
St. Moritz, Switzerland
2 reviews
“mediterranean cousine with high service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

good menu, greek plates, home maked sauces, good wines for moderate prices like Pavlidis Wine, friendly staff

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I decided to sit down at this restaurant for a late lunch. It is situated close to Aristotelis square in a typical old Thessaloniki building and is part of the Excelsior hotel. I was seated by the waiter who presented me with the menu. He also explained to me what the specialty of the day was.

This dish, fish fried on its skin served together with a Greek type of pasta, aroused my interest and I decided to order it. The flavors of the pasta were excellent, the skin of the fish crispy and the tomato sauce served with it complemented it very well. All this for just EUR 12 and you get a free bottle of mineral water with that. Other drinks are expensive, e.g. fresh fruit juice for EUR 6.

All in all, I thought that my meal was great value for money served in a stylish setting with professional and courteous waiters and I can therefore highly recommend this restaurant. I will be back during my next visit to Thessaloniki!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panorama, Greece
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
585 helpful votes 585 helpful votes
“slightly above average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

starters are tasty and usually with a lot of imagination.
main courses are o.k. nothing special but good quality food mostly on the plain side of the taste but still very acceptable.
deserts just fine.
good wine list and atmosphere.
very good service.
a good place for buisiness dinners.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“explosion of taste.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

and this september i visited the town,during the expo.i try often to enjoy dinners ,and visit new restaurants. i had a semi formal dinner at excelsior bistro.my first time here.
the atmosphere as it must be,so cozy and minimal,so fine decorated.i really liked it. we had for starters a beef carpaccio,i think is the best i ever ate.everywhere i find carpaccio on a menu i can't resist.excellent meat,excellent taste,with its pepper,i loved it.
For salad we choose a ceasar's one,i wanted a chicken fillet as main dish so we combine the flavours.
Also we had a mushroom risotto with raisins and cheese,delicious.
The other main plate was a beef fillet and i heard no complains.
Generally the service was adequate, so professional. do not miss the dessert,we chose a chocolate brownie with ice cream and a scent of cinnamon.Never tasted before this combination with the cinnamon!
I think this bistro could be the meeting point for everyone wants to enjoy a classy dinner or a meal without noise and disturbances.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“combines everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

ok,maybe beacuse of the hotel i am favoured to this restaurant.the cuisine is delicious,the service is right,i like very much the inside space and the privacy of your dinner. i think is the best choice for a business dinner with quality and no noisy tables.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Excelsior Bistro also viewed

Kalamaria, Thessaloniki
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Excelsior Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.