We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oooohh that smell!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terkenlis 1948

Terkenlis 1948
Ermou 77, Thessaloniki, Greece
2310 477250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 529 Restaurants in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“oooohh that smell!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Typical scene out of the Terkenlis in Aristotelous Square: people inhaling deeply as they pass by because the tsoureki smell all around is overpowering and very tempting!
Their most famous tsoureki is the one filled with chestnut and covered with white chocolate! Brought it many times for myself and relatives and it did't last even a day as it was consumed in seconds!
de-li-ci-ous!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    17
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia District, Cyprus
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The ultimate tsoureki!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

There are no words to describe it! the best way to understand what we are talking about is to stand outside the pastry shop at Aristotelous square in Thessaloniki. There you will feel the sweet delightful smell of tsoureki. My favourite tsoureki is the stuffed with chestnut and covered with white chocolate. I have tasted most of their products everything was delicious, freshly baked and freshly prepared. For sure, you must taste it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A MUST VISIT IN THESSALONIKI!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I will only say this: if you go to Thessaloniki and do not visit Terkenlis for a sit down or take away of chestnut tsoureki or any of the hundreds of delicious sweets, then you are missing out!! There are 2 Terkenlis in the centre, one is also a cafe with great coffee and service!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“FAMOUS IN GREECE AND CYPRUS FOR <TRIGONA> AND <TSOUREKIA>”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

One of the best confectioneries in Thessalonica. Very famous in Cyprus as all students brings to their families tsourekia and trigona. I highly recomment it !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best cookies in Thessaloniki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have heard a lot about this shop !! we wend there with our friends and really we try to taste them local sweets ( trigona ) and ( tsoureki ) are one of the best sweet shop that we have taste in Greece for sure ! we recoment to visit it if you will be here !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terkenlis 1948 also viewed

Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 

Been to Terkenlis 1948? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terkenlis 1948, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.