We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mandrino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mandrino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mandrino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29, Egnatia Str & 2, Antigonidon Str, Thessaloniki 546 30 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 66 hotels in Thessaloniki
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Avoid this place!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The facilities are as if you are in a hospital. The rooms and the corridors smell like clinic and the decoration is not existent. Excpet of the reception area all the rest looks like a public pension or hospital. The view at the backside is terrible and the receptionist was quite rude. Seriously, there is nothing good about this place except of the good location. If you walk 50 meters up on the same street you will find Egnatia hotel which is a beautiful hotel with professional staff and costs the same like Mandrino..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    16
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
2
13
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel before and were very satisfied. Hotel is at a great location and staff is very helpful. We had no second thoughts when choosing it again for our short stay in Thessaloniki.
We saw good deal on Booking.com and booked it immediately. There was no information that not all the rooms are the same - that there are the good ones and the ones that have not been renovated (I suppose). So we ended up with lousy room. The bathroom was not nice and the carpet was old and dirty. All furniture was old, but the sheets were clean. The good part was surprisingly strong air condition. We would be ready to pay more and stay in better room of the same hotel, but there was no indication that there are any differences, and the one we got was definitely class or two below previous one. :-(
Hotel location is still great ;-) and there is very good parking close by (13 eur per day). But we will choose another hotel for our next visit...

Room Tip: Make sure that you get renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thessaloniki hotels

greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

last time i stayed(may 2009) it was a nice three-bed room recently renovated and it was just fine.But this time,i stayed in a two-bed room, old -this one was not renovated, with problems in the bathroom(licking water), and a rather depressing appearance.
Other than that, it was quite, despite the fact that it is located on a very busy street.
I would not exactly recommend it, because i think that with the same amount of money, you can find better rooms at the same region.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

it's one of the cheapest hotels in his category in the centre of the town. its location is great but i would not describe it as a 3 star hotel.
it is a clean hotel but it needs a great improvement and especially its bathrooms.
i would recommend it only to low budget travellers seeking just a clean and convienient hotel to spend their night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

if you cannot find anywhere else to stay.
The price is reasonable, the location is perfect since one can go anywhere on foot and the rooms are clean.
BUT... the bathrooms do not have a proper door, the rooms have a smell which is a combination of mustiness and chlorine, the breakfast is poor and both employees and clients smoke in the reception area where it is forbidden.
We did not mind so much though because we did not have to spend anytime in the room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

We booked our stay in Mandrino via a Bulgarian travel agent. The price was ok for last minute. We bought our voucher just 2 days before we went there. The stuff was very friendy and they spoke good English. We arrived very early in the morning - 5 AM and they gave us the keys for the room - was nice to have a sleep before we started to explore the city. Is located in a very good place and the breakfast also was great. There is a little bit noise in the night because the hotel is located on a main boulevard.In general is good place and good price.

  • Liked — the food and the location
  • Disliked — the noise
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mandrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mandrino

Address: 29, Egnatia Str & 2, Antigonidon Str, Thessaloniki 546 30 , Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 66 hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mandrino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mandrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandrino Hotel Thessaloniki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mandrino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.