We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family restaurant off the beaten track - not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pire kai Vradiazi

Pire kai Vradiazi
Omirou 7 | Ippokratio, Thessaloniki 54642, Greece
+30.2310832926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 568 Restaurants in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant off the beaten track - not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We just loved the place, tasty Greek food freshly cooked with the family's traditional recipes. Don't forget to ask for the house's special wine (retsina) made from pine tree resin and grapes as well as the excellent meat specialty. The family running the place were very friendly and made us feel at home. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best meze dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Thanks for giving me invitation for the upcoming lexrites days.
I have tasted the best food in Thessaloniki as i was not expecting to have something different but it was extremely far from local dishes. The bifteki, soutzoukakia and the loukaniko of the house made my stomach need more.

Thanks

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice find off the tourist trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great place to go IF and only IF you can relax and enjoy the unique travel experience. I say that because there was not an English menu and we were at the mercy of the english speaking waitress (which is a great place to be). We asked for a few dishes and got a few suggestions that were all absolutely fantastic. It made for a truly unique and authentic experience and we heard nothing but Greek the whole night. It is not very big and is located a few entrances off the main street, but the address is correct and the streets felt safe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our best Restaurant experience in 26 days of Eastern Europe travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The family, two brothers, their wives and one son, Leonides have created a comfortable and relaxing, beautifully furnished and decorated restaurant. It is in a district that is home to the working people of Thessaloniki, 2 km East of the glitzy downtown district.
The fish, meat, vegetables and bread were fresh that day and cooked to perfection. We loved the tsipouro, grappa and especially the retsina that are all home produced in casks by Leonides father.
We only had three days in Thessaloniki. We loved Pir Kai V. so much that we chose to have dinner here for two of those evenings even though we saw hundreds of tantalizing other restaurants in Thessaloniki.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Your Neighbourhood Cook”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Traditional Greek cooked food. Nice, friendly and warm environment; the place to be for an early dinner right after work.
Interesting decoration!
Not bad music rebetico music band, though much better without it!
Mostly preferred in winter.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pire kai Vradiazi also viewed

Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 

Been to Pire kai Vradiazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pire kai Vradiazi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.