We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SURPRISINGLY NEW YET CLASSIC AND RATHER OLD...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makedonia Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Makedonia Palace to your Saves list
Makedonia Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, M Alexandrou Ave, Thessaloniki 54640, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Volos, Greece
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“SURPRISINGLY NEW YET CLASSIC AND RATHER OLD...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Hotel is a landmark in Thessaloniki. In the past I was dissapointed from the fact that service was poor, the personnel was indifferent, the place needed urgent renovation and the ratio: price/quality was far from being ideal.
I visited the hotel 3 times the last two months after the management switch. I have to say that the difference is huge! The service is almost perfect, smiling employees, very good food, very good prices. The new fish restaurant THYMARE is simply unforgettable and very reasonable price wise. The place is definitely my choice when it comes for Thessaloniki travel whether for fun or business. Bravo Mr. Ivan Savidis!

Room Tip: Upper floors, sea view, ideally on 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at Makedonia Palace.

It was such a pleasure to read your comments and we were delighted to have been able to reach your expectations and make your stay an enjoyable one, without having anything common with the previous ones before the management switch.

I am personally delighted that you noticed that the difference is huge in comparison with the past, the service is almost perfect, you faced smiling staff, you were excited with the Thymare restaurant.

Look forward to welcoming you back here at the Makedonia Palace in the near future.

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    178
    51
    14
    8
See reviews for
75
138
32
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is an old hotel in need of complete renovation, which is unlikely to happen in the current economic climate. Fortunately, the really important things are all great: Hotel rooms are big and comfortable (though furniture and electronics belong in the nearby archaeology museum), the breakfast is rich and wonderful and location is pretty good - not in the noisy city center but a few minutes walk from there. It was well worth the money payed, just don't expect luxury.

Room Tip: I was given a corner room, that had a bug balcony with both city and sea views, pretty cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind input in relation to your stay here at our hotel, the Makedonia Palace!

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with the majority of our facilities and services offered such as the big and comfortable rooms , the rich breakfast offered and the wonderful location itself.

It is also good to read that Makedonia Palace is value for money even it is a fact that it is not a newly built property.

Do hope, we will have more opportunities in future to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My first impression of our hotel room was disappointment, because as usual I headed for the bathroom to check for cleanliness and comfort. There were some cracks in the walls, the grouting was graying, and worst of all, the shower curtain and the towels were worn and had many threads hanging from the bottom. The room itself was spacious and comfortable but in need of some sprucing up. However, over our three night stay, the hotel grew on me. The staff was truly professional, courteous and very anxious to be helpful. The breakfast was a marvel to behold, table upon table of eggs, meats, pastries, breads, honeys, fruits, and so much more that I would go over 200 words. The location is a little far down the seaside esplanade, but that makes it quieter, and it is very close to two superior museums where we spent hours, the Archaeological and the Byzantine. Word is that the hotel has recently changed hands, is scheduled for more remodeling (the lobbies and breakfast area were in fine condition), and will only improve. In the meantime, why not replace the shower curtains and the towels to give a better first impression?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent experience here.

We were concerned to note that you were not amazingly satisfied with your stay at the beginning , but over your three night stay , the Makedonia Palace grew on you with the professionalism of the hotel staff, the marvelous breakfast.

All your comments have been taken into consideration and reviewed with my colleagues in order to correct any shortcomings.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here during a conference. Great hotel that offers all the essentials at a fair price. Worth paying for a seaview room - I had 626. Room was plenty large with very night bathroom. Huge private balcony. Free wireless that worked excellent. I actually did room service twice because of late days. Actually had a club sandwich (sorry!) but it was as good as I've had! Another night I just needed something light and had their greek salad ... needless to say it was awesome. Service excellent. Some things things to know ahead of time: no in-room coffee maker, no in-room iron. Mini bar in room with basics. Others in my group didn't want to drink out of the tap but I did and had no issues. Also they mostly offer small hand soaps and for shower you have a body wash but no washcloth. So if that is an issue for you, either bring a big soap or a wash cloth. Breakfast is, as others posted, more a brunch than breakfast and for sure worth having included in your room rate. I'd say it's a 25 minute walk to the center of town ... only about ten to the White Tower which is a perfect place to start from and then walk the whole of the boardwalk.

They are re-constructing the seawall boardwalk in from the hotel ... meant to be done in another six months or so. That will be great as now you walk next to fencing for the first three blocks or so toward downtown.

Would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Get a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at Makedonia Palace.

It is a pleasure to see that your impression of the visit was positive and the hotel exceeded your expectations regarding the fair price for the sea view rooms , the excellent Wifi internet connection , the fabulous service and our breakfast which seems more as a brunch than breakfast.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Makedonia Palace in the not distant future!

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I spent two nights in the hotel.It was a very good hotel!The rooms are big,clean and light,especially ones with seaview.
Staff is very friendly and helpful!the breakfast is unbelievably rich and tasty,beyond comparison.We had a meeting in the hotel and the conference facilities are also excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent experience at Makedonia Palace.

We are mostly pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay, the big , clean, light room, the helpful staff and the excellent conference facilities as you mentioned.

Look forward to welcoming you back here at the Makedonia Palace in the near future.


Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anzio, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

FANTASTIC seaside view with excellent service. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with of course all comforts. Taxi and parking services with a friendly reception are highly appreciated. The continental breakfast is just fantastic and can be called a "brunch".

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comments regarding your visit.

We are mostly pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay, the hotel location and the seaside view, excellent service offered, our great staff's attitude at the front desk and the parking as well and the fantastic breakfast that can be called “brunch” as you mentioned at your current review.

Your positive input will be communicated to all head of departments, which will be highly appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you back here at the Makedonia Palace in the near future.

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It is a very good choice when you are looking for a hotel to stay in Thessaloniki to avoid the hustle and bustle of the city center yet only be a short taxi ride away. Unfortunately, the top floor bar, that used to be the place to be, is closed and there are very few restaurants and bars in the immediate vicinity of the hotel to walk to, especially at night. Staff is very helpful and courteous. The breakfast is very good with a good variety of hot and cold items. Wifi is free throughout the hotel (as it should be!) and is of a good strength!! Despite staying in a room facing the busy main road, due to the double windows we did not hear any traffic noise. The sea view from the higher floor rooms must be beautiful.

Although the rooms are spacious and comfortable, they could do with an update (smudged lamp shades, no flat screen). It seems that the entrance lobby was recently renovated but the rest of hotel was not or not enough attention is paid to it (i.e the carpet in the corridors is worn in certain areas, corridors smell of cigarettes etc). In addition, unless you manage to park in the limited number of parking spaces in front of the hotel, underground parking is charged at 15 euros per day. We had a light dinner at the hotel and although the food was ok we thought it was overpriced for Greece’s standards. Also note that at the moment there are redevelopment works under way on the promenade in front of the hotel, which might cause noise especially in the morning.
Overall, a very good hotel that a small (?) renovation can bring back to its former glory days!

Room Tip: Try upgrading to a sea view room on the higher floors. The view must be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GS_General_Manager, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Makedonia Palace, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Makedonia Palace.

It is a pleasure to see that your impression of the visit was positive and the hotel is generally aligned with your expectations.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

George Spyropoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Makedonia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makedonia Palace

Address: 2, M Alexandrou Ave, Thessaloniki 54640, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#10 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makedonia Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Makedonia Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makedonia Palace - Classical Hotel Thessaloniki
Hotel Makedonia Palace Classical
Macedonia Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makedonia Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.