We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention should be paid to the details” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makedonia Palace

Save Saved
You added Makedonia Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makedonia Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, M Alexandrou Ave, Thessaloniki 54640, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 66 hotels in Thessaloniki
Switzerland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Attention should be paid to the details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for the third time at the Makedonia Palace. The hotel, still one of the best in Thessaloniki, starts to show its age. On the positive side: Its unique location (although the view from the rooms on the seaside is currently perturbed by major reconstruction works on the quay that will last for about one year more); the rooms are spacious and well equipped (even with bathrobes and slippers); the breakfast buffet is very rich and tasty; the service is very friendly and efficient (two power supply sockets in the room that didn't work were repaired within 30 minutes after we mentioned it to the reception). On the negative side: The TV is an obsolete cathodic tube device with miserable quality of the image, the free WiFi connection is desperately slow (a much faster wired connection is available for a considerable fee), the room was not made at 4 pm although we left it at 10.30 am. All in all, the management will have to pay attention to the "details."

Room Tip: For the next 12 months, rooms on the seaside face works on the quay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    113
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
41
88
24
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lovely 5 * hotel, shame about the city. I was there on business so it was fine for me. Not sure why you would visit the hotel or city for any other reason though. Run down looking area and little to see and do.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was in M.P. for business in August. Serene atmosphere, spacious rooms, best view ever, courteous staff (they need to hire some more though!), excellent food, but... I had the strong feeling that this hotel is in a transitory phase, although it seems already renovated. The pool bar was closed, like a major part of some halls as well. I hope this changes the next time I will visit this hotel again, because I still think of it as the emblematic hotel of Thessaloniki.

Room Tip: Always ask for sea-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have seen different comments but finally I have preferred this hotel.Very clean,functional,rich breakfast,free parking,very easy to reach from all destination,the cost of the taxi from hotel to city center is apprx.3 € and just 5 minutes.Internally renovated.Also next time I prefer absolutaly Makedonia Palace.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stopped overnight here to break up our drive through to Nis, Serbia after staying on Zakynthos island. Very professional hotel with exceptional service. Non smoking indoors. Exceptional lobby and restaurant area and courteous staff. The pool and the exterior of the hotel were certainly tired in appearance but did not detract from the comfort of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have the opportunity to be a frequent visitor of Thessaloniki in the recent years. From my very first visit I had chosen MEKEDONIA PALACE and I was really not wrong in my choice. It is true that this hotel is called by the citizens of Thessaloniki, a "historic" one because it is linked with crucial and important events in Greece' s history. Perhaps this was the reason I had chosen it. Anyway, I was never disappointed. A friendly atmosphere from the very first moment is welcoming you and makes you feel ato home. A friendly and well trained reception staff, always ready to help. Rooms well furnished. Half of them having a marvelous view to Thermaikos bay and much further, until the Olympos mountain, the "house" of Zeus and the other 11 gods of ancient Greeks. The main restaurant, where you can have your breakfast, lunch and dinner, has also a view to the sea. Breakfast is an unforgettable experience. A very rich buffet is waiting you, with almost everything you can imagine and a low fat corner for diet food. As a very frequent traveller in many countries because of my job, I can say that is one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever seen in a hotel. And the menu for lunch or dinner are quite rich and the friendly and experinced restaurant's and kitchen's staff are ready to satisfy your special needs. And if you believe you gained many calories, there is the Gym and the big swimming pool with its open bar.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I spent a week in this hotel in July with my family. I chose this hotel thanks to Tripadvisor and was not disappointed at all. The service is of very high quality. I read some concerning reviews about the noise coming from the street for rooms with city view. I had such a room and did not hear anything because all the rooms have a system of double windows.
The hotel has a wonderful swimming pool.
The location of the hotel is OK. I knew that the hotel was not in the city center but very close to it (20 mn walk). Given the cost of the taxis in Greece (3 euros from the city center to the hotel), I did not hesitate to take the taxi very often.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makedonia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makedonia Palace

Address: 2, M Alexandrou Ave, Thessaloniki 54640, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makedonia Palace 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Makedonia Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makedonia Palace - Classical Hotel Thessaloniki
Hotel Makedonia Palace Classical
Macedonia Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makedonia Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.