We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel -- but watch out for the roadworks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makedonia Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Makedonia Palace to your Saves list
Makedonia Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, M Alexandrou Ave, Thessaloniki 54640, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Thessaloniki
UK and Lefkada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice hotel -- but watch out for the roadworks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

If you want to be on the waterfront in Thessaloniki, 15 mins walk from the White Tower and close to museums, and to have a swimming pool, then this is a good place to be. But if possible, wait till they finish the road works! The seafront area and local roads were completely dug up, so the view from the hotel was a bit of a mess and you couldn't walk along the waterfront into town but had to walk alongside busy roads and pick your way around heaps of rubble. Not the hotel's fault, and I'm sure it will be lovely when it's finished, but if this is important to you, then check before you book.

The hotel is clean & bright, a bit too "posh" for my taste but that's just me -- I generally prefer small hotels. We chose this one for the location and the pool. In the end the weather was too wet & windy to use the pool area, but it looked lovely, as others have said.
The room was good but not outstanding, rather "corporate," the bathroom was nice but nothing special for a five-star hotel -- a bit dated.
Breakfast was simply excellent, with a wide range of delicious local products as well as all the usual buffet selection.

Room Tip: Go for a sea-view room and a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    158
    46
    13
    7
See reviews for
68
120
31
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Everyone said this is the best hotel, and the Greek Prime Minister was staying there at the same time we did -- that's pretty good evidence that it's the best. Well, it wouldn't be best most places.

What was best: breakfast, the gym, and the pools. The breakfast spread was palatial and high end. The gym was really well stocked, big, and had plenty of windows. There are like three different pools -- I used the only one that looked like it was for swimming and it was perfect.

What was not best: the cost is very high. The decor of the rooms and hallways is tired (not onthe level of other "Classical Hotels" that I've seen. My shower broke, which I would say was bad luck, but my colleague's shower also broke (hmmm). The location is way isolated -- we had to walk over a mile to get to the nice restaurants. My opinion about Thessaloniki's nice restaurants is the subject of another post.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Makedonia palace is very nice 5* hotel. It has big and nice rooms, its clean and staff if very nice. breakfast is perfect.
Despite its maintained and well build is a bit old and need renovation.

Location is perfect ( take a room with sea view), walking distance to city center and very nice place for evening walk.
Close by ( left on sea side) are two very nice bars ( cant remember name, but you will find them. two are close by).
So if you want nice quiet hotel, close to city center, bars shops and restaurant go for it!
m

Room Tip: Sea view room is perfect. It costs more but is worthed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

- Beautiful hotel in excellent location!
- Breakfast, lunch, dinner very good, and with lots of choice.
- Excellent room service
- Staff in all parts of the hotel were very friendly, polite, helpful and attentive!
- Price / quality ratio in balance, great value!

It is the hotel I will always choose whenever I visit Thessaloniki. Definitely a 5* hotel! Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENICE
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We reserved this place for 5 nights after reading the reviews of all the 5 star hotels in Thessaloniki. We also wanted to stay in the city. We had a room facing the city on the 5th floor. It was quite despite what others have said in the reviews. They have double sliding doors on the balcony. The AC was GREAT, better than most any other hotel I have stayed in Europe. In fact it stayed on even if the card (room key) was not in the slot as you enter the room. The rooms have been renovated including the bathroom and the carpeting in the hallway seemed new. The reception area is huge and all marble. We had breakfast every morning on the outside veranda facing the water. The buffet breakfast had close to 100 different items and it was good as others have already mentioned. Now about the 5 stars and comments that others have made. No, it is not the Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton and yes the TV is not LCD flatscreen but, for less that 120 euros a night including the great breakfast, it has to be among the best values in Europe. The staff was also great. Many inexpensive restaurants are near by and a large park with kids playing until mid-night. We would definitely go back. The hotel is 100% non-smoking.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

It is the hotel i choose each time I visit Thessaloniki.

In the city but not noizy.
By the seaside.
Logical price for the quality.
AMAZING BREAKFAST !!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limassol
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

we stayed in makedonia palace for 3 days in july and really had a great time.
the hotel is in a fantastic position almost in the sea!! the area around is really charming , romantic . if the prices werent so good i would put 4 star and not 5 but since we found great prices for b&b room i must say it worth it.
the good things are: the position, all public areas - huge elegant lobby - nice bars, restaurants, and extremely polite staff. The best of all though is the breakfast. i cant think something that you couldnt find, all fresh and nice. the had so much quantity that in 3 days i couldnt taste most of the things i liked!!!! saloniki is famous about its food but the brreakfast there is extra ordinary.
the only thing i wasnt satisfied 100% is the room.
its nice but it has issues to solve to be a 5 star. not coffee or tea facilities, an old tv and other small staff that should be changed. tha bathroom for example has renovated but not completely! the room is very clean of course but needs this spots to keep the fame that this hotel had in the past. also the pool area needs work too. seems shubby and old. the whole area aroun is very nice though.
generally i would recommend it 100%

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makedonia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makedonia Palace

Address: 2, M Alexandrou Ave, Thessaloniki 54640, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#6 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
#7 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makedonia Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Makedonia Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makedonia Palace - Classical Hotel Thessaloniki
Hotel Makedonia Palace Classical
Macedonia Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makedonia Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.