We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olympia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Olympia to your Saves list
Hotel Olympia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Olympou St, Thessaloniki 54631, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Athens, Greece
1 review
“noisy area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

the hotel is renovated,nice and clean but i didn t like the area.full of greek cafe with outside tables and very noise.
the rooms not modern and cozy,but ok for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    91
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
51
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

A local friend chose this hotel for us for our first visit to Greece. The location is really good, in walking distance to the Aristoteles plaza. The hotel also has reserved street parking, which was great for us because we had a rental car and were travelling with our 3 kids.
We were amazed how modern and solid the hotel was compared to a lot of rather shabby and simple places we saw. The rooms were just perfect -- we had 2 adjacent rooms with a connecting door. Everything was really clean, modern, enough space even though the rooms were not huge, balcony, modern bath (showers, no tub). Breakfast was good, too, a lot of choices, fruit, yoghurt, bread, eggs, and local pastries -- the only drawback was the coffee, rather weak, made from concentrate in a machine. The staff was friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. There was a lot of attention to detail, e.g. bringing the guests yeast rolls and hard boiled painted eggs for Easter.
We also got a good deal on the rate: there was an Easter special (88 EUR per room for the first 2 nights, then 20 EUR for the 3rd night).
We would definitely come back to the Olympia Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great Find!, I have stayed in plenty of hotels in salonica for leisure and for business trips, but this was really good.
Modern shower, clean, comfortable bed, excellent location!....not very spacious room but i don't mind about that.
The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. from the moment i called them to make a reservation, until check out. Breakfast was more than good and breakfast staff was present at all times.
The only negative thimg was internet. Should have been free and wi-fi throughout the whole building.
Will definately stay there again and again!
Stavros

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Although not near the main transport hubs of the plane, train or bus into Thessaloniki, the hotel is situated right in the middle of some of Thessaloniki's tourist sites. We walked everywhere.

As others have said, the hotel is newish, very clean, breakfast is great for a hotel of the size and price, and the women in the reception area are amongst the most helpful and genuinely friendly we have come across in a hotel of any price range. They were particularly helpful when the trains were on strike (again) and were quite happy to call the station, help us organise buses etc.

If you arrive at the hotel mid afternoon, it looks like you've come to a ghost town. Like other places in Europe, Thessaloniki shuts down for “siesta” time. This can be for 2 or 3 hours noon-3pmish. Don't let this put you off. Most places in the more tourisity part like near the beach and port, are open and in the evening the area around the hotel comes alive with the Mbit Bazaar turning into a hive of tavernas all selling wonderful fresh local food just minutes from the hotel.

Any negatives? The electricity only works when the room’s key card is inserted. That meant that when we left the room the power was off, including to the airconditioner, and so when we returned after a day of sightseeing in the heat (high 30s), it took a while before the room cooled down.

Would we come back? Absolutely! Especially to try out the new restaurant area as this was being painted while we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Though not within walking distance to the bus station, it was situated to all the walkable sites in Thessaloniki. Taxi ride cost us as low as 5 Euros. The hotel has modern touch, very clean and chic design. Rooms and bathroom were big enough for the two of us. We had a room on the 7th floor, with a balcony facing into the port area. The surronding streets were quite quiet despit bars and restaurants steps away.
Internet cost started at 3 Euros for 45 minutes, you could even borrow the hotel laptop if needed. All in all, it was a very clean and modern place within walking distance to all the places we wanted to see in Thessaloniki.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

I stayed at the Olympia hotel for 1 night. The hotel is recently renovated and has become a value 4star hotel, in the city center of Thessaloniki. Everything is relatively new , clean and in good condition. Although rooms are a bit small, they are nicely furnished -given the price of the hotel- and have quality linens and towels. Service is efficient and breakfast has a good variety. This is a great hotel for its price, and easily surpasses all of its competitors in its class.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The centre of England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

It is with some fear and trepidation that I approach a stay in Thessaloniki a as I have had some interesting experiences in the past! The first time when I stayed at an hotel in Thessaloniki, I arrived with a mixed party where the reception advised, “NO VISITORS IN YOUR ROOM”, the second in a well-known ‘up market chain’ where dirty water came out the drain in the centre of the bathroom when I empted the bath & the where toilet never seemed to have any water in the cistern to flush, not to mention when a Greek lady shouted at me when I had to climb over a load of suitcases to get off a crowded bus! ...however the Hotel Olympia proved to be a pleasant surprise – modern, clean and a brightly illuminated room – no groping around under the power of 15W light bulbs! Located of necessity in one of the usual doubly or triply parked Greek streets, this proved to be a haven of solace with which I was more than content. Nice small lobby/bar area where you can enjoy a beer or coffee, good breakfast area with a varied choice of offerings of good quality & plenty. Flat screen TV/computer terminal in room – only criticism here is, as others have said, the rooms are relatively small AND you can hear everyone else’s plumbing (but not voices). The room was booked for me by a local resident so this ‘inside information’ probably helped. Hotel reception staff were pleasant & helpful.

  • Liked — Bright clean room, pleasant bar & eating area
  • Disliked — Hearing the plumbing!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Address: 65 Olympou St, Thessaloniki 54631, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia is a contemporary pleasing hotel with intellectual design, right in the heart of Thessaloniki, housed in a historic building that belongs to the same family since 1929. After the latest refurbishment and reconstruction, Hotel Olympia has become a boutique hotel with modern minimalist architecture offering quality services to guests who travel not only on business but also for leisure. Its ninety-seven friendly rooms (including superior and family rooms, one junior suite and one room for the physically challenged) which overlook at the Roman Ancient Forum all share the same design features and facilities like flat screens, parquet flooring, brand furniture and more. The relaxed-chic decoration throughout the lobby, Campari Bar, H2O Restaurant and the fully equipped Omikron Conference Hall combines two philosophies: Extreme functionality of high-tech furnishing and the warmth derived from the use of natural materials such as marble and wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Thessaloniki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.