We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for Sleep only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Olympia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Olympia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Olympia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Olympou str., Thessaloniki 54631, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 hotels in Thessaloniki
Cyprus
1 review
“Excellent hotel for Sleep only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Room & service was excellent and clean.

What needs improvement is the breakfast is too poor.

And the bathroom Shower is to small.

Car parking is free but only space for 6 cards and as the hotel is in the center is very difficult to find anywere else parking. I was lucky to find everynight at the hotel.



  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time you dedicated to write this review. Indeed our hotel is the typical city 3* hotel with three types of rooms (business, executive/ family & junior suite) and no further facilities apart from the bar and the restaurant. However, bathrooms in executive rooms are larger. Furthermore we are working on improving the the breakfast buffet and the parking lot issue by having an affiliate garage (which charges very little for 24h) to better serve our guests.
Thank you again for your feedback and kind words regarding the service and cleanness and we hope next time you visit you will get to enjoy our new fitness room and sauna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    67
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
35
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pordenone, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel came through a recommendation from a business partner and I must say that it does represent a very good accommodation for its location, as it is close to the city center of Thessaloniki. The rooms are clean and spacious and have the added advantage to be rather new. The only shortcoming in my bathroom was the poorly designed shower tray regularly pouring water on the bathroom floor. Service level is good, personnel is helpful and friendly and does its best to grant an issue free stay in the hotel. The only real shortcoming is the internal restaurant that acts also as breakfast area, in both functions choice is very limited and food not of the best quality. The area offers limited alternatives in terms of restaurants, with a few tavernas and fast food joints. Plenty of traditional bouzukia and quality restaurants are available not far away in other areas of the city. I would definitely recommend it for business clients and tourists alike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your long review and valuable feedback on the shortcomings you came across during your stay.
Indeed bathrooms either with a shower or a bathtub don't have a cabin but rather a curtain which makes it a bit difficult to handle with excess water. Although the hotel used to have cabins until 2005, while severely renovating, we chose to replace them and make the bathrooms more spacious.
As for H2O, our restaurant, it usually gets good critics but I'm sure we all have our bad moments. Our objective is to offer light dishes and easy to make Greek recipes somehow differentiated.
We hope that on your next visit our breakfast buffet and the new calorie intake menu will thrill you.
Take care and thank you again for taking the time to write this review!

Kind regards

Team Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent a night at this hotel at the end of August.It really was a very hot day-about 38-39 cesius.The hotel is almost in the centre-just about a 10 minute walk to the centre square.Rooms and bathrooms are ok-clean and maintained.The staff is helpful-as we had to leave at 5 in the morning-they prepared us packages with food and drinks.The only bad thing was during the night.The air condition could not be well regulated-it was either very hot or very cold.So we opened the windows-but that was a mistake,because the noise during the night was horrible-the Greeks do not seem to work very hard-even it was a working day-they were having fun and a lot of drink all the night long.And a warning-too many mosquitoes in Thessaloniki in summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

When we first reserved for this hotel our expectations was not high. However, our stay was almost perfect. The location is very near the city center. The staff is friendly and they give godd tips for sightseeing and eating. The room was some small for a 3 people family but in general the room is ok. There is really satisfying breakfast with a lot to choose. Overall, the price/quality is really high.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We found the Olympia exceeded our expectations for modern accommodation in the city. Rooms and public areas are all recently renovated, with cool design and comfort. Rooms and bathrooms are modest, but equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Contrary to other reviews, the aircon did work well, during high summer temperatures. Our party of students and faculty made good use of the wifi in the lobby. Staff were attentive and pleasant, and attended to any minor problems. The self-service breakfast offers good choice and quantity. We were a party of 29 adults of varying ages, touring as a choir, and everyone agreed that the hotel was just what we needed: comfortable, affordable and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

A great hotel in a very convenient location, with amazingly helpful staff. Came on a choir tour with a group of 20+, and they let us use the conference room to rehearse, for free! Good selection for breakfast, and clean rooms. Air con worked perfectly (I was almost too cold) once you remembered to turn it on (card in the door slot, press the air-con power button).

The shower curtain does indeed allow water out onto the bathroom floor, but there is a drain in the middle of the floor, and it works like a wet room. I had no problem fitting in, and I'm 6' 5".

If you have mobility problems, you might want to find a place slightly further downhill, towards the harbour, but then taxis are SO cheap here (under four euros to the white tower) that it really isn't a problem.

Room Tip: Taverna on the other side of the street south side, which can be loud if you have the window open, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hotel Olympia doesn't offers you much. Its an average hotel with all the typical features. Wi fi is available only at the lobby area. During breakfast there were no waiters. Its in a short distance from Aristotelous square. Very small bathroom. Old building poorly renovated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOThessaloniki, General Manager at Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback! We really appreciate critic since it motivates us to improve.
Indeed our hotel doesn't offer much. It is a 3* hotel originally built in 1964 (however holding as a family business since 1932) which was relatively recently renovated (2005-2007). Minimal design or excessive/ bad use sometimes makes a renovation seem poor... Nevertheless we are constantly keeping up with small refurbishments and thus we are planning to change the lobby again, swap cable Internet to WI FI in the rooms (although we are not charging it) and finally complete a small fitness room with sauna in the underground floor. We'll make sure to keep you posted of these changes. Unfortunately in a historic building like the one we own enlarging bathrooms is almost impossible and this is why we chose to remain a descent 3* hotel offering accommodation at low rates.
Take care and again thank for the time it took you to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympia

Address: 65 Olympou str., Thessaloniki 54631, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Olympia is a contemporary pleasing hotel with intellectual design, right in the heart of Thessaloniki, housed in a historic building that belongs to the same family since 1932. After the latest refurbishment and reconstruction in 2007, Hotel Olympia has become a boutique hotel with modern minimalist architecture offering quality services to guests who travel not only on business but also for leisure. Its ninety-seven friendly rooms (including nine executive rooms, one room for the disabled and one junior suite) which overlook at the Roman Ancient Market all share the same design features and facilities like flat TVs, parquet flooring etc. The relaxed-chic decoration throughout the lobby, Campari bar, H2O Restaurant and the fully equipped Conference hall combines two philosophies: Extreme functionality of high-tech brand furnishing and the warmth derived from the use of natural materials such as marble and wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Thessaloniki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.