We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Egnatia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Egnatia Hotel to your Saves list
Egnatia Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Egnatia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Antigonidon Street, Thessaloniki 54630, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 66 hotels in Thessaloniki
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very good hotel in center of Thessaloniki. There is a free parking lots on the street in front of the hotel. The rooms are small but very clean.
Receptionist are very polite and friendly.
One of the main street "Egnatia" is 2 min. from the hotel, "Tsimiski"-the shoping street is 5 min from the hotel.
I recomend this hotel to every one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
16
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mytilene
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It's a nice hotel for the price offered. Don't expect much, but is clean, the beds are all right, and even though the surrounding area hasn't got much to see, it is pretty close to Aristotelous squear, ladadika, port, market and the rest of Salonica's main attractions.
The rooms on the other hand are quite small.
The breakfast is good, and the staff is helpful and friendly.
To sum up, it is a good choice for a small budget.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the warm greeting two travel worn visitors got to the keeping of our baggage after we checked out for another day of sightseeing before our midnight flight we were treated warmly. As we walked out one evening for dinner in a light drizzle without an umbrella the manager saw our predicament and offered one. During the strike management went out of their way to help us decide how far and the right directions for our walks. Their attentiveness and service was way above what one would normally find at the price point of this hotel

So the room was small, this is Europe, and was big enough for 2 men with luggage and business accouterment. Housekeeping service was excellent, done as needed and meticulous. Breakfast was more than adequate with a range of pastry, breads, cheese, meat, dry cereal, some fruit, yogurt, etc. The juices and coffee were not what I am accustomed to were my only complaints.

Location across the street from a pastry/chocolate shop open from 7 to 11, near a taxi stand, up the street from Greek and Starbucks coffee shops, a block from an ATM, a block from many bus stops, near restaurants and across from a killer late night gyro joint made for ease of a visit. All in all an excellent location.

Randomly: WIFI was fast on the 5th floor. Lots of hot water. A balcony allowed for standing outside for a great view of the protest parade passing the hotel. The large opening window was wonderful for a breathe of fresh air.

Rarely does one get more than they have paid for or expect. I recommend this hotel without reservation, save the coffee and juice for breakfast. Stay, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Good location of the hotel,but the room was so small that it was impossible to reach the second side of the bed..Impossible to put a normal suitcase..The bathroom also so small that it was impossible to arrange our personnal items..Too much is too much,and it was really disturbing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thessaloniki hotels

Norfolk, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were here to see Greek friends in the city who worked during the week, so we stayed at Egnatia on 2 consecutive weekends. Good location for city attractions, plenty of street-eating places nearby. One particular desk manager very haughty, not very user-friendly. A good base for visiting Mt. Olympus in one direction and Halkidiki in the other, as it's located just off the highway that takes you out of the city centre (though I'd advise SatNav when returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Spent a week at this great place: not a hotel to choose if you expect all sorts of facilities like spa/entertainment/garden/pool etc. BUT an excellent base for a week exploring this fascinating city. As solo traveller I was paying for a single room which was small but had comfy double bed with good quality linen, regularly changed. As stated in hotel description(on Easyjet website) price included fridge, flatscreen TV, wardrobe and dressing table, telephone and free WI-FI. Bathroom had tiled shower with plastic stool to sit in shower: small but clean and good hot water. Toiletries and useful slippers, shoe cleaner etc provided.
There is room service (not used) and a bar downstairs which also serves as breakfast room. Breakfast selection good for hotel in this price range (my room price 80 euros according to info on official door notice) however I paid a lot less than that. Only problem at breakfast was the atrocious coffee from a machine.....whoever invented these needs a lesson in what coffee ACTUALLY IS! First day I arrived at 10am for breakfast due to the time difference: the available range was limited to toasting bread with no croissant or rolls left (other guests had these on their plates!) Savoury food included cheese, cold meat and hard-boiled eggs, as well as feta cheese tomato/cucumber with olive paste for a Greek salad. Fresh fruit as well as tinned peaches were available daily although the range of fruit changed, so bananas not always to be had. Sponge cake slices, pastries, cereals and yoghurt completed the menu.Tea bags are "Dilmah" from Sri Lanka (good quality).The staff were always friendly and helpful with a personal welcome and useful information re the sights, in English. I don't know if any other languages are spoken apart from Greek.The room maid was lovely and did a good job of making my little room look refreshed and welcoming every day. The room also had a balcony with view out to the main street: adjustable door can be fully opened for access or adjusted to open at angle for ventilation. Room also has Air Con/heating and (free) safe. Haven't rated "sleep quality" more than average due to the noise create by other guests at all times of the night in the corridor. Noise also travelled through the wall as drawers etc opened and clunked shut. Generally this didn't cause great disruption and seemed to lessen when the occupant was aware of my noise in return. Loud conversations at midnight and in early hours are a constant problem in so many hotels: they DO affect sleep quality! EXCELLENT choice for the money and location within easy-walking distance of all main sights and supermarket just uphill around corner. The friendly, welcoming atmosphere made it a safe and charming temporary home.

Room Tip: I requested high floor ( 4th floor) non-smoking and double bed. Don't know if any singles have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The only thing that I can find positive for Egnatia is its location. My travel plan was to stay there for a night only, so I tried and managed spending the minimum amount of time in the hotel.

- The single room was really really small, enough for a person to walk around, but problematic when the bathroom/toilet door was open.
- The toilet door had black moisture stains at the bottom part, showing the age of the hotel
- The toilet itself was really small with one HUGE problem. The toilet seat was so close to the wall, my knees were pressed against the wall, when I wanted to sit down. It's not a nice experience not to be able to appreciate this time of the day. :)
- The standing shower was also very small, and there was no way to have a shower without flooding the entire toilet's floor!
- The breakfast was really really poor, I saw what was available and tried a nearby bakery.

The hotel receptionist was kind and helpful, but I didn't really ask for anything.

I might have been to worse places, but I wish my company never books this hotel for me again, in future visits in Thessaloniki. I am sure that with a few (20-30) extra Euros you can get something much more civilized.

Room Tip: I didn't visit any other rooms, but DO NOT book a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Egnatia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egnatia Hotel

Address: 16 Antigonidon Street, Thessaloniki 54630, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 hotels in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Egnatia Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Egnatia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egnatia Hotel Thessaloniki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Egnatia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.