We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms to stay and enjoy Salonika” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Big House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Little Big House to your Saves list
Little Big House
Andokidou 24, Thessaloniki 54 634 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful rooms to stay and enjoy Salonika”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I stayed in a large, clean room, near a public bus stop and the old Byzantine walls in the hills. When I was walking around at night I found a world heritage site. The hill is great to take pictures.

The room is clean daily so it is nice. I didn't have any problem sleeping in winter with the adjustable heater inside the room and in the bathroom.

The reception is staffed and is very helpful with details on transportation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Small but well packaged, nice and new, clean and one of the most genuinely welcoming hostels I've ever stayed in. There is a brother-sister partnership running the show in a quaint and quiet location a not-too-distant 15-20min stroll to the action. The layout naturally lends itself to mixing with other guests in the front garden which links dorms to kitchen/dining area. The garden itself is a nice place to socialise on a warm evening before dinner, and if you're really lucky maybe some lovely (free!) olives and chips to wet your appetite for the decent taverna down the road. O'h yes and not forgetting the odd Frappucino thrown in for good measure courtesy of your friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Ground floor to avoid the steps and tip out into the garden for breccy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepenbeek, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This nice hostel lies in the old city of Thessaloniki, at around 15 min. on foot to get to the center. The small garden is charming and very welcoming, with fancy tables to have breakfast in summer. The room was big, with small kitchen to prepare your own food inside. The beds were clean and comfortable. The bathroom maybe too small, most of all the shower. It's possible to have breakfast for 2€. The owner, Vicky, was very nice with us and gave us lots of suggestions about bars, restaurants, and local food to try.
Close to the hostel there is a nice restaurant, with outstanding food and good prices. The best restaurant of our stay in Greece!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Really friendly, cozy and clean. Vicky and Harris were very helpful with lots of ideas on what to go and see etc. Fab hostel.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Location was good (not downtown but a nice 15-20 min walk to all the sights and shops)
The rooms were small (for 3 bunkbeds) but were really nicely decorated and clean. We especially LOVED the duvets covers on the beds, they were SOOO comfy!
The owners are amazing! They told us where to go see things, the best places to eat and shop, they called taxis for us and they even waited for us longer at the reception the night we arrived because we let them know we were running late and got there a little late.

The rooms also have a small kitchen with everything you need to get something done (even tho the only thing we did was some great coffee) And our room also had a balcony, where we enjoyed that coffee!
Great price, good location, great owners, nice, clean and overall great experience!
Would definetly recommend to anyone and would definetly stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Family run business : Vicky and Harris, sis and bro, young adult who's so welcoming and helpful to their guests. Fr. their place, takes about 10 to mins walk, a fun time to experience and explore the city while on your way to the main square/city area. The rooms are perfectly spotless, bed is clean and kept. I stayed in a two bed room, paid .€24.00/night, breakfast is €2.00, cornflakes, bread and butter, cookies, milk, coffee, serve yourself....feels like home. Free internet, free WiFi.LittleBig House is located just behind the famous fortification ( called Ring Road) on top of the hill. you will have a magnificent view of the sunset and the harbor. If you are looking for a Marriott style room or Intercon, this is not the place, but if you are ready to be just simple and easy then this is the place. What makes is more pleasant to stay is that both Harris and Vicky are such lovely hosts!! So helpful and warm. From Thessaloniki, you can go to Chalkidiki, take the bus, a ride for 1 and 1/2, cost €7.90 one way, enjoy the beautiful coastline and clear blue water, come back in the afternoon, trips 18:00 and last one 20:30. Ask Vicky and Harris and they will be very helpful to give you tons of info how to enjoy Greece. Bus ticket from airport to city area, €1.00, be ready with a €1.00 coin!! Bus is just outside the arrival area. Shops are close on Sundays, best time to hit the seaside. If you like shopping...girls...this is the place!!! I enjoyed my stay at this place, and will for sure come back again. Oh they have as well a small garden, nice to have your breakfast or just a glass of wine. This is a place I would say that they deserve to be visited not because of just the price, but everything is just perfect.....location, hosts/owner of the place, the place/room, service, safety, and every travel would like to have or wish for. I travel a lot and believe you me...I have never met such wonderful and nice people!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 3, they have a ceiling fan. Spacious kitchen, clean bathroom/shower. Sufficient for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Big House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Big House

Address: Andokidou 24, Thessaloniki 54 634 , Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Big House is a modern guesthouse, perfect for travelers looking for a quiet refuge to relax, meet people and experience all interesting aspects of Thessaloniki, its rich culture, its colorful history, its relaxed day life and its vibrant never-ending nightlife. It is located in the most picturesque, quite and safe neighborhood - the centre of the Old City (Ano Poli) of Thessaloniki- and is easily found in a short walking distance from the city centre and from the most popular tourist sites. Everything began in 2005 after a travelling experience in Europe. Guided by our desire to provide travelers with a cozy place where they can feel like home, along with all the privileges of being hosted in a modern, clean and friendly environment we created our guesthouse "Little Big House" in Thessaloniki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Little Big House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Big House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.